We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Ranked #342 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, United States
1 review
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Times Square location is perfect for a family vacation. The beds are comfortable and the desk and bell staff are exceptional. The fitness center is small (only two treadmills) but is open 24/7. The breakfast buffet was included with our room making it a good value with a reasonably good quality of food. This hotel is within walking distance of just about everything- Empire State, theater district, 5th Avenue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Laurie C,

Thanks so much for the review! We love where we are located, within walking distance to most of NYC 's attractions. We hope this means you will come back and see us!

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    641
    338
    153
    128
See reviews for
509
455
90
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent our First Anniversary at the DoubleTree Hilton in NYC, Todd was AMAZING! He was so helpful and full of information. He went out of his way to make sure our trip went smoothly and was rememberable going as far as making our anniversary dinner reservation for us! we also received chocolate covered strawberries and champagne along with a card from Todd, like I said AMAZING!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Robert E,

Thank you for your great comments on Todd! We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable. Please come visit us again in the future!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The staff was amazing especially the concierge. They help all they can. The location of the hotel is centrally located. It's a few blocks from so many attractions so walking is easy. The cookies, what can I say, they are delicious and I probably ate more than I should but that's what vacations are for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Targyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hello,

We are so excited to read about your wonderful experience with our hotel staff! Let us treat you one more time on your next visit here in the city with welcoming staff and warm cookies!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Located on 36th between 8th and 9th, this hotel is a bit south of Times Square but within a couple blocks of the subway. A good location for those that know and are comfortable enough with the subway. My wife and I stayed for six nights and got all over on the subway with our $30 seven day Metropass. The immediate area of the hotel seemed safe enough although certainly not glamorous. We found the hotel to be much less expensive than those located in the heart of Times Square. The hotel was clean but the rooms were small (as one should expect in NY). We had one minor issue with our bed (loosened middle support) which was promptly taken care of and we were comped a breakfast for our trouble. The hotel showed some wear but otherwise passable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Really liked Diego at the door...always friendly and smiling. I used the fitness facility which had quite new treadmills (2), elliptical (1) and recumbent bike (1). Bed was pretty comfortable, TV was good and operational. I would definitely recommend this hotel for people looking for a moderately priced place to stay and who would rather spend some extra cash on other worthwhile things in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Paul H,

We appreciate your detailed and honest comments on your stay with us. We do offer relatively lower rates than the hotels that are located in the middle of Times Square even though the walk is about 10 minutes or less. Please visit us again on your future trip to New York City and enjoy our convenient location, warm Doubletree cookies, and friendly staff!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel is literally within walking distance to Madison Square Garden. Less then a 10 minutes walk. The hotel rooms are just a little small which is to be expected in the city, but was really nice. And the beds were super comfortable. Best sleep in a hotel room I ever had. Staff was also amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Renae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Ranae J,

We are indeed nicely located nearby the Madison Square Garden and a lot of different attractions in the city. We are delighted to hear about your great experience with our rooms and staff members. Thank you very much again for staying with Doubletree by Hilton Times Square South.

Warmly,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel has very small rooms but they are clean. The bathroom was fairly spacious so that was nice. There was far more street noise all night long than I would have liked but we were on the 2nd floor--big mistake for this property. It is close to Madison Square Garden which is handy for the sports fans.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Janet Y,

Thank you very much for the great comments. Despite the relatively small room sizes, our hotel staff goes above and beyond to make our guests happy. Please visit us again on your next visit to NYC!

Warmest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel Staff was very helpful, especially front desk and Adam, Bell Staff. Rooms were clean and location was a quick walk from Amtrak station, Times Square, Restaurant row and other fun spots! Cookies at front desk were great, restaurant food...not so good. 2 waitresses for a full restaurant was not ok, neither was the fact they shut breakfast down during our time in dining room. Nice staff...would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Leann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Leann W,

We really appreciate your honest feedback, and it has been communicated to all departments at the hotel. We are glad to hear about your enjoyable overall experience here at Doubletree by Hilton Times Square South, especially due to our front desk staff and bellman Adam! Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree by Hilton New York Times Square West
Doubletree by Hilton New York Ti...
#378 of 466 in New York City
424 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,921 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#324 of 466 in New York City
4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#314 of 466 in New York City
1,980 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#168 of 466 in New York City
3,709 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#244 of 466 in New York City
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Property: Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing