We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toms River, NJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Price was great, room was spacious and clean. Loved the walk in shower, it was huge. There was not a lot of space to put your clothes away but manageable. We were in control of the temperature in the room and it worked well. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The restaurant had a nice breakfast for a reasonable price. For dinner the menu didn't have enough choices. Staff was excellent as are the chocolate chip cookies that you get when you arrive. Location was great for Time Square, Broadway and near Penn station.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slengyeljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Slengyeljr,

Thank you so much for the positive review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We change our dinner menu from time to time so I will forward your suggestion to the Food and Beverage Manager. Hopefully, we will see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    620
    318
    146
    113
See reviews for
481
443
87
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
222 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Hubby and I stayed for 5 nights recently. For anyone staying more than a night or two, and if you're more than one person in a room, you'll likely find the rooms cramped. Very tight space. Too little shelving, drawers and storage space, for putting away clothes and toiletries. There's no floor space to put anything either - the luggage rack they provide is silly, given there'd be no place to keep it once your suitcase was on it. We had to put the coffee maker and ice bucket etc underneath one of the bedside tables, in order for there to be enough room on the desk to work on the laptop. (when i moved these items there was tons of dust and crumbs underneath, making it obvious that housekeeping hasn't properly cleaned the desk in weeks at least)
Bathroom has equally limited space - very compact and tiny sink, with a high-arched faucet that splashes a lot on the counter.
Biggest issue with the room was the heater. The under-window unit is not in great shape - it definitely pumped out heat, but didn't do a great job of regulating the room temperature normally. If you had the fan on, and the heat going, it took about 3 seconds to heat the tiny room to the point you were boiling, but the thermostat would take about 10 minutes to register that it was warm enough to shut off. And as soon as the fan was off, it got cold in the room, due to the fact that the windows were drafty. It was really uncomfortable to be near the window (on the bed) or working at the desk with the cool air from the window area making you cold. The heater kept this draft at bay, but it got too hot way too fast, and turning the temp down on the thermostat meant the heat didn't come on enough. You just couldn't win! We knew 2 other couples staying at the hotel in the same week, and they had similar issues. In fact one of them was woken up in the middle of the night with the room temperature at 13 degrees! Freezing! Not very good units - definitely need to upgrade in this area.
The hotel's bar was very basic and not open late -definitely not a happening scene, by any means, and if they were open longer hours at least it would be convenient, but they never seemed open for even a glass of water most times we wanted something. The hotel's restaurant is small and was open for breakfast and dinner only.
The location was good - just a few minutes walk from Times Square and close to quite a few restaurants and bars. Just far enough removed to make this hotel a better bargain than others.
Overall we'd consider staying again just for the value and proximity to the action.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are noisy, given the traffic of the city - you can't escape sirens in NYC. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SockBeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello,

We appreciate that you took your time to fill out the review on your stay with us. The detailed feedback definitely helps us to grow. The issues you pointed out were addressed to each department at the hotel, and we will make sure to make improvements. We are also very delight that you still enjoyed your stay here at Doubletree by Hilton Times Square South. Please visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This Doubletree was clean, well decorated and the staff is exceptionally friendly. I really need to give a "shout out" to a few of the employees that really made our stay great. Mario could greet you as you enter, a very nice gentleman. Todd and Jennifer went above and beyond to make our check in smooth and ensure all of our questions were anwered. And a true ray of sunshine on our cold trip was Clarita in the breakfast area. She went well beyond her responsibilities to make our mornings, not only enjoyable but a true pleasure. Go out of your way to meet her!

My only 2 complaints, and the reason for only giving a "very good" rating, were the room size and the ice machine. At 6'5", a double bed in a room with 12" between the walls and bed makes for a "cozy" stay. The rooms were always made up nicely and the maids were very friendly and always smiling. Ice machine recommendation, FIX the machines! They are located on every other floor and their production was minimal. This should be addressed immediately.

In spite of these very minor complaints I would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: I stayed in 2303. Nice view of old buildings and skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Ed S,

Thank you very much for the honest feedback on your stay with us! Although the room size is definitely the biggest concern at our property, we are glad that you enjoyed your time out here at our hotel and in New York City. Please visit us again in the future!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at a Double Tree in Boston and had a great experience so we decided to stay at this one as it was so close to Penn Station. Front desk staff was very nice and even checked us into our room at 11AM. Rooms are small but efficient. However, our sheets had hairs, eyelashes and stains all over them. We called for new sheets, however when our housekeeper called back she gave us trouble as since we said she can come anytime after 4:45PM, she wanted to come at that minute while we were getting ready for dinner as her shift was over at 5PM. She gave my husband a severe attitude, sighing, huffing and puffing. It was resolved by the head director of housekeeping who gave us free breakfast coupons. We put our breakfast order on the door for room service in the morning, however it never showed. We called room service they said they never got it. Somebody took it as it was off of our door. She then argued with us stating that we couldn't use our breakfast coupons for room service and we had to go downstairs? We waited for breakfast another 45 mins, and they didn't have a table for us to eat on. We asked the housekeeper, she said they had tables, but another housekeeper came to our door 10 mins later with a suitcase rack?? So we improvised and ate on the old ironing board... Long story short, after many phone calls during our breakfast trying to talk to the manager, front desk resolved our issues. But only with a promise to take care of us with free breakfast, best rate, etc. the NEXT time we stay there... I'm not sure I want to go back? I expected maybe at least a discount on our stay as we ONLY stayed 1 night and all of this happened...but no. Just free breakfast. I will stress that the front desk staff was very nice, accommodating and understanding. If it weren't for them our entire 1 night trip would've been a complete disaster.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Christina O,

Thank you so much for filling out this review. thank you for the kind words about our front office staff. I am deeply sorry about your experience with housekeeping and the restaurant. Comments like these help us implement ways to correct the issues our guests experience, so that their stay is excellent. If you are willing to stay with us again, do not hesitate to contact us with the promise that we will take care of you upon return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I had an excellent stay. Everyone was extremely friendly. The service was excellent, even loaned me a cell phone charger when I needed it. Provided me with wifi and the breakfast servers had big smiles on their faces. Excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Erik M,

Thank you for your great comments, and we hope to have another opportunity to accommodate you here at Doubletree by Hilton Times Square South!!

Warmest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

location - close to everything..madisson square garden, subway, shopping, times square etc.
Rooms - quite small and cramped but everything else was ok.
Wifi - free in the rooms

love the free cookies made by double tree

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Luis M,

Our location is indeed a major reason for our guest to choose to stay with us. Thank you for your awesome feedback and hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great hotel, great price and location, comfortable beds. Rooms clean and quiet, but on the small side. Staff was friendly and helpful. Close enough to Times Square that you can walk although easy to get a cab outside of hotel. Complimentary coffee in the lobby. We would come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Linda M,

We really appreciate your great comments on our hotel! Please visit us again in your future visit to New York City. Thank you again for staying with us!

Warmly,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree by Hilton New York Times Square West
Doubletree by Hilton New York Ti...
#394 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,746 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#327 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Property: Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing