We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Good, The Bad, and The Very Ugly...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
356 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad, and The Very Ugly...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed when I realized my reservation was at this DoubleTree and not the other one in a Times Square. I can see this being a common mistake. This was one very tired hotel. The minute you walk in it has a bad vibe. I am very surprised this is a Double Tree and not a Red a roof inn. It should be named "Dumpy Tree". I have a Diamond status with Hilton and this had to be one of their worst properties. So here is my review...
"The Good"...
1. Nice bed linens and I liked the pillows.
2. Staff that was willing to please and well trained. (Probably use to dealing with issues...lots of them).
3. Close walk to Javitz and Times Square.
4. Pretty quite from street noise and other guests.
5. Nice large bath towels.
"The Bad"...
1. Smallest room I have ever had. (Try choosing a room with 2 beds just to get more space). All I could do was laugh at it.
2. The elevators are also very small. Only two for the building. I asked people to wait for the next elevator...six or seven people was the most I felt it should hold.
3. Breakfast buffet was just ok....far from the best. Staff was very nice. Wish they had flavored creamers.
4. Chairs in the breakfast area all had stains. On one booth the table came off the wall and not repaired, it was all a bit trashy.
4. Unimpressive and very dated lobby. Even the pictures were dated and trashy.
Now for..."The Ugly"...
1. No hot water for Two days! I was given 10 thousand Hilton points for the inconvenience. I heard several others getting them as well.
2. Black hairs in the corners of the bathroom. I took a wet wash cloth and cleaned it...ewwww. It was sooo gross. The shower also had black hairs. (I am blond).
2. Saggy depression in the bed cauz everyone sleeps in the same spot.
2. One elevator was not working...long wait for the other one plus room service food cart needed to get on. We climbed/walked up to the 10th floor and was lucky to get it faster there. I was on the 23rd floor.
3. Still a long wait for the elevator even when both were in service.
4. Someone else mentioned this too on their review...I have to agree...it was rather annoying that all of the service people use these two tiny elevators. I saw large trash bins, laundry bins, food trays and cleaning carts all share the elevators. Remember...these elevators are already too tiny.
5. I had to ask for tissues as they were not replenished. Toilet paper had two rolls and those were not replenished...I used sparingly to get thru the night.
6. Not a room you can spread out in. I was here for 4 nights and had to keep most of my clothes in my suitcase.
7. Over priced and not a good value.
I sure hope I don't stay here again. Save yourselves...

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shersei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, October 10, 2016
Dear Shersei,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I would love to invite you back to show you how we do things. Don't hesitate to reach out to me the next time you are visiting us here in the big apple.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    599
    296
    139
    102
See reviews for
464
427
83
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

overall good experience with hotel. The staff was very helpful and respectful. Charged too much to park. I do not know if this is something the hotel can somehow regulate with the parking company but. it was the one thing that made me unhappy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, October 10, 2016
Dear Robert R,

Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. We would love to invite you back to our property the next time you are visiting the big apple.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the hotel to where I had to travel to work was great! I only had to walk a few blocks to and from work. I was most disappointed with this hotel because of the fact that the person in the restaurant/ bar said that the restaurant was closed event though it was only 9:40pm...not to mention the fact that I stood at the door waiting to be served at least 5- 7 minutes before he finally showed up. When he told me the restaurant was closed, I went to the front desk and asked them why it was closed when it should not be closed until 10pm. The lady at the desk went to check to see why the restaurant was closed and the guy behind the bar had a horrible attitude about the entire situation. She came back to me and told me that I could still order because the restaurant was indeed open. Because he was so loud and rude, I decided to NOT order anything from the restaurant (I didnt want him anywhere NEAR my food) and I walked in the cold to a nearby restaurant and brought my food back to my room. I had a late fight in and just wanted to get something to eat without the hassle. If the restaurant is not supposed to close until 10:00pm, I would suggest that your hotel not close early as there may be some guests who would really like to have a meal. Also, initially my sink was leaking pretty bad but once I reported it, someone came up to fix it. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Latrina E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, October 10, 2016
Dear Latrina E H,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I would love to invite you back to show you how we do things. Don't hesitate to reach out to me the next time you are visiting us here in the big apple.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location was great. The staff was wonderful even though it was Thanksgiving and they were probably tired. The room was great as it was clean and had really great staff. It was particularly great because the parking was inexpensive and the area of town was so close to everything that we wanted. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 63DJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, October 10, 2016
Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. We would love to invite you back to our property the next time you are visiting the big apple.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
513 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

OK, the rooms are small and a little dated, but the location is very convenient, especially to the Macy's in Herald Square and to the High Line, the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast buffet was very nice. We were able to get a good rate, so the negatives didn't really bother us...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, October 10, 2016
Dear Jeremy C,

Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. We would love to invite you back to our property the next time you are visiting the big apple.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is an OK hotel but not in a great area. Hilton have far nicer hotels and better located hotels regardless of staying in NYC for business or pleasure. The main things that lets this hotel down are the area and the standard of the rooms. The rooms are a little on the tired side and in need of re-decoration. While the room was generally clean there was evidence of hairs in the bathroom. The area is not great. A garage for street food vendors is virtually next door so its often difficult to get by in the morning and evening. Also the road outside the hotel is busy being on the main route out of one of the tunnel crossings in to NYC. This doesn't impact on hotel noise when in the room but is busy. There are better Hilton hotels in NYC for around the same price. I chose this one for its location in relation to where I needed to be for my business trip however next time I will choose another Hilton and be prepared to travel slightly further.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, October 10, 2016
Dear Andrew I,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I would love to invite you back to show you how we do things. Don't hesitate to reach out to me the next time you are visiting us here in the big apple.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcadia, california, usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We liked the location as it is central to so many sites in NYC (e.g. High Line Park, Times Square, theatres, etc. The price was reasonable and the room was fine, the bathroom was very acceptable. They have a buffet style restaurant as well as the facility to order breakfast. Would suggest staying at a higher level so as not to feel confined with limited views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank gregory b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, October 10, 2016
Dear gregory b,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I would love to invite you back to show you how we do things. Don't hesitate to reach out to me the next time you are visiting us here in the big apple.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree by Hilton New York Times Square West
Doubletree by Hilton New York Ti...
#388 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,600 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Property: Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing