We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Ranked #365 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Although the room was not too big it was cozy, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and courteous and the welcome chocolate chip cookie was delicious and warm. The care line was excellent and helpful. Highly recommend it. We looked up the hotel during a search on expedia and then called the hotel directly and they honored the rates found online!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Amina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

AminaM, We are elated you enjoyed your time here in NYC and especially that everyone of our team members provided you great serv ice. We hope you will tell your friends about the great experience you had and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for the third time in May.
We were fully satisfied as we were on our previous visits and will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in midtown Manhattan with a clean room & very comfortable bed in a central location with Times Square, Broadway theaters, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, the Javits Centre, movie theaters plus other attractions and lots of shopping and eating options all within walking distance. The room although small was clean, the bed very comfortable, and there is a small fridge in the room. The usual amenities (safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer, etc.) are also included.
The only drawback to the room is the bathroom shower as we couldn't seem to prevent the water from leaking out under the glass onto the floor unless we pointed the showerhead towards the wall. Housekeeping did a good job of cleaning up the water whenever it leaked out however.
The service we received was good and special mention must be made of Diego who was always ready to assist and answer questions.
There are only 2 elevators so the wait may be longer than in other hotels however the wait was never excessively long.
The food at the restaurant is more expensive than other options outside but is quite tasty and is a very convenient option if the weather is bad and you don't feel like venturing outside.
The street that the hotel entrance is on is not always very busy but there is a fair amount of pedestrian traffic and it is safe, even late at night or in the early morning.
We intend to stay here again on our next visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up with a view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calalilycel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Calalilycel,

Thank you for your continued patronage as well as your great review of our property. We look forward to being of service on your next visit to the City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel photos did not match up because of the scaffolding on the front of the hotel making it difficult to find - thank goodness for a red light and Jimmie the valet! He saw the look of confusion on my face and waved me over. With humor he opened the car door, directed us into the lobby (third floor) and valeted the car. Our requested room was waiting, a suite for 4 adults - 2 beds, very comfortable, and a spacious living room for NY - but sharing the 1 bathroom was a challenge. Staff was accommodating and friendly, location was good, cabs were tough to find on Thursday and Friday! We would book again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckgreenthumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear ckgreenthumb,

Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. We would love to invite you back to our property the next time you are visiting the big apple.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked the hotel through the hotel website, 3 days before we arrived the price dropped by $30 per night. I called and they adjusted our price. Staff was fantastic, warm cookies at check in, room was small but clean and bathroom very modern. Free internet. We were able to print a tour confirmation down stairs in the lobby. Great stay!! Several blocks from Time Square - about a 7 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Lisa H.,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our famous cookies but more importantly that the staff provided you fantastic service while you were our guest. We hope to see you back on a future visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This location is excellent if you have the misfortune of having to attend a function at the Javits Center. Otherwise the neighborhood has little to recommend it BUT it is fairly central and easy to get anywhere else in the city. The hotel itself is perfectly fine, clean, comfortable and with a nice staff. Decent sized rooms and quite cozy beds. A bit on the expensive side for a hotel in this class -- but it's NYC, what can you do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank jenniferlA4332AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay stay with us! We are very happy to see you enjoyed our staff and our very comfortable beds. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I happened upon this hotel as part of a school tour and had no choice in its selection. I was pleasantly surprised. Small rooms as is true for most NYC hotels, but clean, quiet, convenient location, and a great staff more than made up for that shortcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

MichaelB, we are so glad you found our hotel to be clean, quiet, convienent and with a great staff. We hope that as an unexpected find you will visit us again on your next trip to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Please click yes where it asks "did u find this review to be helpful" if you do.
----------------------------------------------------------

Pros

Location - was directly across from the discount ticket booth so you can save hundreds by staying here as it is easy to get there early to get your place in line. It was in the heart of time square, everything is right there. The palace theatre is next door, the subways is outside your exit. It's about a good a spot as you could imagine for your nyc trip.

Rooms - this city stinks for a family trip over 4 people. No place will guarantee even 2 doubles for that matter. The doubletree has one big king, and one good size pullout. They will also rent you a roll in bed. Each room is a mini suite so the king is in its own room and jack and Jill bathroom. We found this room to be perfect! Had a little fridge and microwave as well.

Price - I got a room on a holiday weekend from Hotwire for 209. Almost anywhere decent was over 300. Would have paid 300!

Cons

Staff - most of the staff was great, however the street level security can drive you mad. I realize its necessary but they need to be friendlier. We showed up at 1:00 am to check in, of course we don't have hotel keys! I got irritated with the notion that I should have my reservations in my hand 1 step in the doorway. Anyhow be prepared and have your reservation in hand. Also be aware they card you every time you come back in.

Decor - the rooms were mostly up to date, there were some small bumps, such as the toilet being practically in the vanity. There is not much room. The tubs are a little old as well.

Store / bar - there was no store in the hotel for incidentals that I could see. The bar was empty every night. I like bars that are lively, especially in NYC. There is an excellent bar "the rum house" about 200 paces across the street which was a mix between a speakeasy throwback and Motown. They have very unusual drinks which I thought were fabulous. The staff seem there seem on or off but it was cool. Rates pretty high in NYC for nightlife.

Overall, great stay, would most definetly go back and will.

Couple helpful tips:

Download hail app: don't cancel once you commit or your have to pay

See a broadway show and use the discount ticket center across from the hotel. Annie was awesome!

Hotdog cart right outside the hotel is always the same guy, people walk 20 blocks for his hot dogs... They were excellent.

The metropolitan museum was the best.... Great for everyone all ages. All major museums in NYC are pay what you want. Meaning give them as little as 2$ and your in! The city cost us quite a bit so we were a little stingier in the museums :-). Be careful because you can easily get confused by the suggested charge and pay full admissions.

Eat pizza at johns of bleeker street in Greenwich village.... Best in NYC no kidding.

Look up street fairs, there's always one going and you can get all your soulvineers cheap.

Use nyc walking apps - they help a lot.

Subway for long distAnce travel, cab for shorter but non-walkable, unless your staying for a week then buy the unlimited metro and use the subway for everything.

Juniors is near the hotel, cheap family restaurant with self proclaimed best cheesecake in NYC. My wife agreed!

There is a store / deli about 150 paces directly across the street, beer and wine as well. Don't pay 4$ a bottle for water, hit there on your way back to the room.

Buy your ground zero memorial tickets online and print, you will save and hour and extra walking. Be prepared for the security, it's brutal. Whole thing will take 1.5 hrs minimum.



Good luck

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snmurphy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear snmurphy07,

Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. We would love to invite you back to our property the next time you are visiting the big apple.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree by Hilton New York Times Square West
Doubletree by Hilton New York Ti...
#360 of 469 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,138 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#179 of 469 in New York City
3,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#329 of 469 in New York City
4,899 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#157 of 469 in New York City
1,110 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#252 of 469 in New York City
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $145 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing