We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,301)
Filter reviews
2,301 results
Traveler rating
685
744
433
236
203
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
744
433
236
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviews times square warm cookies penn station new york javits center rooms are small front desk staff hell's kitchen few blocks king bed empire state building around the corner central park nyc msg district bellman
Filter
Updating list...
1,895 - 1,900 of 2,301 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for the third time in May.
We were fully satisfied as we were on our previous visits and will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in midtown Manhattan with a clean room & very comfortable bed in a central location with Times Square, Broadway theaters, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, the Javits Centre, movie theaters plus other attractions and lots of shopping and eating options all within walking distance. The room although small was clean, the bed very comfortable, and there is a small fridge in the room. The usual amenities (safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer, etc.) are also included.
The only drawback to the room is the bathroom shower as we couldn't seem to prevent the water from leaking out under the glass onto the floor unless we pointed the showerhead towards the wall. Housekeeping did a good job of cleaning up the water whenever it leaked out however.
The service we received was good and special mention must be made of Diego who was always ready to assist and answer questions.
There are only 2 elevators so the wait may be longer than in other hotels however the wait was never excessively long.
The food at the restaurant is more expensive than other options outside but is quite tasty and is a very convenient option if the weather is bad and you don't feel like venturing outside.
The street that the hotel entrance is on is not always very busy but there is a fair amount of pedestrian traffic and it is safe, even late at night or in the early morning.
We intend to stay here again on our next visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up with a view of the Empire State Building
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calalilycel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Calalilycel,

Thank you for your continued patronage as well as your great review of our property. We look forward to being of service on your next visit to the City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel photos did not match up because of the scaffolding on the front of the hotel making it difficult to find - thank goodness for a red light and Jimmie the valet! He saw the look of confusion on my face and waved me over. With humor he opened the car door, directed us into the lobby (third floor) and valeted the car. Our requested room was waiting, a suite for 4 adults - 2 beds, very comfortable, and a spacious living room for NY - but sharing the 1 bathroom was a challenge. Staff was accommodating and friendly, location was good, cabs were tough to find on Thursday and Friday! We would book again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckgreenthumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear ckgreenthumb,

Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. We would love to invite you back to our property the next time you are visiting the big apple.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked the hotel through the hotel website, 3 days before we arrived the price dropped by $30 per night. I called and they adjusted our price. Staff was fantastic, warm cookies at check in, room was small but clean and bathroom very modern. Free internet. We were able to print a tour confirmation down stairs in the lobby. Great stay!! Several blocks from Time Square - about a 7 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Lisa H.,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our famous cookies but more importantly that the staff provided you fantastic service while you were our guest. We hope to see you back on a future visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This location is excellent if you have the misfortune of having to attend a function at the Javits Center. Otherwise the neighborhood has little to recommend it BUT it is fairly central and easy to get anywhere else in the city. The hotel itself is perfectly fine, clean, comfortable and with a nice staff. Decent sized rooms and quite cozy beds. A bit on the expensive side for a hotel in this class -- but it's NYC, what can you do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank jenniferlA4332AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay stay with us! We are very happy to see you enjoyed our staff and our very comfortable beds. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I happened upon this hotel as part of a school tour and had no choice in its selection. I was pleasantly surprised. Small rooms as is true for most NYC hotels, but clean, quiet, convenient location, and a great staff more than made up for that shortcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Director of Sales at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

MichaelB, we are so glad you found our hotel to be clean, quiet, convienent and with a great staff. We hope that as an unexpected find you will visit us again on your next trip to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews