We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cloud 9” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #128 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cloud 9”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was celebrating my Birthday this weekend and wanted to stay in a hotel even though I have an apartment in NYC. I must say the Standard is a very nice hotel and was welcoming since I walked in. The front desk staff was very nice and seem to enjoy their jobs (Oh and I must Say They were well Dressed) I stayed in room 1602 which was a corner room with a great view of the city. Since it was my birthday i was greater with a card and a bottle of wine which was un expected ^_^. Now back to my title! THE BED WAS AMAZING AND SOFT! I felt as if i was sleeping on a cloud and didn't want to wake up. Thank you Standard my making my birthday weekend a great on.

Room Tip: A high floor corner room is always the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    183
    60
    29
    19
See reviews for
72
224
47
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 5 days on a business/pleasure trip. We expect hotel rooms in NYC to be really small, and this was no exception. However, the view was really breathtaking, with beautiful panorama that included both the Empire State and the Chrysler Buildings. The staff is very nice and will seemingly do anything for you. They seem to go out of their way to make your stay happy. Who could as for more?

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for the best room. We were on the 15th floor. And ask for a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimnany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was a bit concerned about the location going in, but quickly realized it was in a perfect spot within an easy walk to the Lower East Side, Soho and Union Square park. The staff was very attentive and helpful and the room was very clean and well designed. The only rub here is the room is very small. I would not hesitate to stay here again, but I would request a larger room the next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_L34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I arranged a room block for a conference my company was holding at NYU near Washington Square, and I have to say the service and level of hospitality was superb. We blocked nearly 30 rooms during the most beautiful time in New York and received an amazing rate. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our conference attendees were extremely happy with their rooms and service they received. We will be back.

Room Tip: West facing is what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikehines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room was nice, bright and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Room service and eating at the Standard Cafe was a bit overpriced, but that is to be expected in New York. I loved the steam shower in the bathroom. Overall a lovely experience. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teetime42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a lovely small hotel in the East Village - very hip decor, young vibe, staff was excellent. My room was so comfortable, I hated to leave in the mornings. I had the most amazing view of the Freedom Tower - I couldn't get over it! The restaurant was wonderful. Absolutely no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevcoe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Well, this was a surprise. Not sure what I expected but it wasn't such friendly people and a hotel that just seemed to work. No muss. No fuss. They just did it right. Check-in was easy, the rooms were comfortable, the bathroom fantastic (heated floors!), and it was clean, clean, clean. Did I mention the staff was friendly? They don't have a business center but I mentioned to the desk clerk I needed to print out a small document. She said, "No problem. Just email it to me and I can do it right here." Wow. Nice. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go out of the hotel, turn right and walk a block to 7th. Turn right again and find McSorley's, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michigantraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#149 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#96 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#159 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#115 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#98 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing