We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in East Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #192 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 5 days on a business/pleasure trip. We expect hotel rooms in NYC to be really small, and this was no exception. However, the view was really breathtaking, with beautiful panorama that included both the Empire State and the Chrysler Buildings. The staff is very nice and will seemingly do anything for you. They seem to go out of their way to make your stay happy. Who could as for more?

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for the best room. We were on the 15th floor. And ask for a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimnany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 717 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was a bit concerned about the location going in, but quickly realized it was in a perfect spot within an easy walk to the Lower East Side, Soho and Union Square park. The staff was very attentive and helpful and the room was very clean and well designed. The only rub here is the room is very small. I would not hesitate to stay here again, but I would request a larger room the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_L34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I arranged a room block for a conference my company was holding at NYU near Washington Square, and I have to say the service and level of hospitality was superb. We blocked nearly 30 rooms during the most beautiful time in New York and received an amazing rate. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our conference attendees were extremely happy with their rooms and service they received. We will be back.

Room Tip: West facing is what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikehines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room was nice, bright and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Room service and eating at the Standard Cafe was a bit overpriced, but that is to be expected in New York. I loved the steam shower in the bathroom. Overall a lovely experience. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teetime42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a lovely small hotel in the East Village - very hip decor, young vibe, staff was excellent. My room was so comfortable, I hated to leave in the mornings. I had the most amazing view of the Freedom Tower - I couldn't get over it! The restaurant was wonderful. Absolutely no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevcoe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Well, this was a surprise. Not sure what I expected but it wasn't such friendly people and a hotel that just seemed to work. No muss. No fuss. They just did it right. Check-in was easy, the rooms were comfortable, the bathroom fantastic (heated floors!), and it was clean, clean, clean. Did I mention the staff was friendly? They don't have a business center but I mentioned to the desk clerk I needed to print out a small document. She said, "No problem. Just email it to me and I can do it right here." Wow. Nice. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go out of the hotel, turn right and walk a block to 7th. Turn right again and find McSorley's, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michigantraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I moved from our beloved East Village apartment a few months ago and now live across the country. So it was nice to return and stay at the Standard East Village for a few nights. Even though it was an incredibly well detailed hotel, it also managed to feel like all the comfort of home. The rooms are really cool, spacious and well designed. The views are sweeping. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The food and bar was excellent, and the area is just awesome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#164 of 469 in New York City
2,905 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#131 of 469 in New York City
648 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#104 of 469 in New York City
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#116 of 469 in New York City
619 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#69 of 469 in New York City
683 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $279 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing