We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Standard Vibe is Amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #141 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Standard Vibe is Amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Hey Guys!!

I really enjoyed my 3 night stay at the standard. The people here are very friendly, give great tourist advice and also have a down to earth attitude. I got great food locations from a worker named Makke. Enjoyed every location her referred me to and also went out of his way to make sure I had everything I needed.

The location is great too!! During the day Manhattan has many food spots to check out near the hotel and all within a 5-10 min walk. The nightlife is amazing too on warm nights again within a few minutes you can find great food and drinks and chat with great people.

The Standard is a must stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    172
    56
    27
    18
See reviews for
62
211
45
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at The Standard last weekend, it was FANTASTIC!
The set up is hip and fresh, but still very comfortable
The staff is excited and energized, without being overbearing
The rooms and views are impeccable
The restaurants are quality, no typical hotel food
I highly recommend The Standard and is now my hotel of choice in NYC!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We put people up at the Standard in the fall of 2012 and the fall of 2013. Both times we were promised that ongoing construction would be completed before the guests arrived, both times we paid high rates, and both times we were disappointed. In the fall of 2013 guests could not even enter through a proper entrance. We were truly stunned to be fooled twice. The facilities were terribly disappointing but the dishonesty was worse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baseballmom60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Room and location of the hotel are great. We ordered room service and it arrived in 10 minutes! The staff was super nice and down to earth. Room was very clean and the bed was giant. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we ordered coffee and it was delish.

Room Tip: Loved our corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I recently spent a long weekend at The Standard in the East Village. My first experience with The Standard and it was great. Not only did they arrange perfect weather (no extra charge), the room and service were second to none. The views were amazing and the bar and restaurant were even better. But what put it over the top was the service. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and had great attitudes. A special shout-out to Jules Groth and Laytoya Isaac who handled the details perfectly. And don't miss the bone-in ribeye at their restaurant, Narcissa. Late service too.

Great amenities and fun bikes. A perfect location with great rooms, great food and great staff. I can't imagine staying anywhere else next time.

Room Tip: Corner suites on the higher floors have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

seriously. just amazing. the location, the views, the staff, the beds, the room. had the best time ever which was great as it was my partner's first time to NY. my son from LA & my bff from Maine came to stay with us a couple days each and were properly impressed. we were meant to stay only 6 nights, then moving to another hotel mid-town (just to experience the difference) but ended up staying here four more nights. so glad we did. mid town at the Yotel was fine, but not a patch on The Standard. I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I lived in NYC for almost 10 years and moved back to the DC area (my hometown) in 2010, but still travel up to NYC often for business. In mid-March that was exactly the case and since I was only staying one night, I decided to book the Sunset Studio at The Standard, East Village. From the second I stepped out of the cab and headed into the hotel, the staff was warm, friendly, and attentive opening the door, offering to assist with my luggage, etc. The only frustrating thing was having to wait until 3pm to be able to check into my room. The business event I was in NYC for began at 4:30pm so I was hoping to be able to check into my room, catch up on emails, and relax/get ready for the event. I ended having to wait in Cafe Standard, a lovely dining option located within the hotel, until my room was ready but it was nice being able to grab a drink and access the wifi from the restaurant while I waited for my room.

At 3pm, I was alerted by staff that my room was ready, and the Sunset Studio was absolutely STUNNING and worth the wait! It featured sweeping views of the NYC skyline - the Empire State Building and Chrysler Building to my right, and the Freedom Tower to the left. The design was super crisp, clean, modern/contemporary, sophisticated, and bright. Loved it! The bed was insanely comfortable, plush/soft mattress, and lovely linens - silky soft and cozy. Within 10 minutes of getting settled into my room, I heard a knock at the door. It was a staff member with a thoughtful welcome amenity featuring a small bottle of wine, bottle of water. A nice touch after a long train ride up from DC. Didn't love the option for the bubble bath - pine - but I know everyone is different with scents. I'm not particularly a fan of minty/pine-scented candles, body wash, bubble bath, but that's just me! Other than that, I had a fantastic experience and certainly plan on going back next time I visit NYC, which I'm sure will be soon. Oh and room service was fantastic, quick, nice presentation, delicious, and they brought up everything I requested. Thank you for such an enjoyable first experience Standard, East Village staff!!! :)

Room Tip: The higher, the better the view of the beautiful city! The Sunset Studio was FABULOUS!!! Killer view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#89 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#106 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#149 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#108 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#117 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing