We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Compact but complete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #152 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Compact but complete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hotel was located a few blocks from the show we were in town to see (STOMP) and many good restaurants. Our room was small but had everything we needed - including a fully-stocked mini-fridge (stocked with many overpriced items - didn't touch it). Bar on the 1st floor just off the lobby was small and always crowded - great for after-dinner drinks and dessert. Staff was extremely helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cope2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    173
    58
    27
    18
See reviews for
63
212
46
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Spent 3 days here on a business trip in the cold, cold weather. Everything worked fine, the resturant is really solid, for breakfast nothing is too much trouble and at lunch-time the specials were excellent.
A great location with the High-Line walk just outside and easy access to some great culture. Will come again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harryesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I love that this hotel is not in a busy area. Great restaurants right around. Nice view (I was on 16th floor). Great shower products. Nice shower. Hotel restaurant had really good dinner and breakfast. Staff is very friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is the first review I have ever written on ANY site. Julia Grothe( Dir Sales- can I steal her for my business???=secret weapon!) layed out the red carpet for my 12 year old daughter and I, in on our first visit. We were welcomed with open arms and lots of stylish classy touches, like aqua panna with clementines and awesome PB cookies in the room. The design is smart, in that the lobby has a tiny warm parisian boutique hotel feel, even though the property not tiny. Smiles abound, a welcome respite in my potentially jaded sometimes cold cranky hometown of nyc.
The cafe rocks, and everything well prepared and well served-from coffee, to an incredible frisee salad, and save room for the choc cake with the best butterscotch sauce my daughter I have ever had- in an of itself worth the trip. Crystal took great care of us, as did all the bartenders. The dining room is thought out as well, with an expanse of verticality, brought to human scale with huge hanging planters.

My second stay was even better- a romantic couples retreat where they again fired on all cylinders. Great room with 2 sides of glass, and stand alone tub with bubble bath, champagne and cushy robes
Lastly, the location is superior- close enough to walk everywhere downtown(below 14th), like prosperity dumpling, where for $6 you can buy 2 kinds of dumplings and a peking duck with sesame pancake prepared in the style of bhan mi. Take it out, sit on a park bench. Some of the best things in ny are free. The standard cooper square, while not free, is an amazing value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Love this place! I can't believe, as a long time, frequent NYC visitor (work here a lot) that this was my first experience with The Standard East Village. I can promise it will not be my last. The location is perfect, the staff accommodating and SUPER friendly, and the room and view I had, on the corner of the 20th floor, was spacious, comfy, and had incredible views! Steam shower, killer mini bar selection (i'm a repeat offender of mini bar raids), and many other small details that only a hotel snob can appreciate...this place nails it.

I look forward to my next stay, and will promise to stop at the bar, and try the breakfast...i hear both are great.

Thank you for making this a wonderful quick in and out NYC biz trip. Means so much when you are stressed and on the go...having a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellofrontdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed in different Standard-Hotel the Standard, I was very much surprised. This is different to other Standard Hotels, I liked it much better.
Very personel, very good service and friendly people.The staff is with the guest and the guests interest. Great location, nice rooms.
I was impressed by bell-man Makkie. Best Service. The small things make the big difference.
Thanks for the nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The only hotel I rang to actually take the time to help my family of five get the right room at a fair price. Ramzi, one of the managers; an angel. He went beyond the call of duty to make us feel so well cared for and comfy. We love this hotel. Fab staff, great eats, charming and clean. Stay here.
Dan, Sydney

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#93 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#98 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#147 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#110 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#112 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing