We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, design, cool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #168 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Standard east is a cool, relaxed hotel - typical of the trend set out by starck/ schrager a decade ago. Very Small but comfortable rooms, nice views, hip location. Not luxury, just good design - while some time a bit "cheap materials" - take a high floor to enjoy the view and be away from street noise. Ear plugs are provided and useful. Breakfast is basic but good. Staff is friendly and cool. Not sure i'll come again but clearly an overall good experience at less than $300/night.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Nick of Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for The Standard, East Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 697 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here last week and thought I should put a review.

The rooms are amazing. The internet is rapid, the beds so comfortable and I love the touch of the warm bathroom floor…and even the design of the carpet flowing through. Its also in the right part of town for where people should be.

I could not fault the hotel or staff. Unlike the sister hotel in Meatpacking, the feel was so much more relaxing and casual.

A small story to explain why I'll not stay across own again. One of the guys who works on the doors went out of his way and got a tin of baked beans for my colleague who was having a hangover breakdown one morning when he wanted an English breakfast but it didn’t come with beans (no idea when you travel abroad why you want the same as home but anyway…!). Unbelievable service, and my colleague was so impressed. I think he left them for Crystal as we left at 5.45am on Sunday so had no time for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I had to take a minute to share my experience here. A cool, stylish and happening spot. Conveniently located. Extraordinary friendly staff. Excellent amenities. And a new restaurant which was absolutely fantastic. I'll be a regular here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricDingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our stay at The Standard was pretty much perfect. The beds are so comfortable - like, sleeping on a cloud comfortable - and all the room details are beautiful and well thought out -from the shower, to the bath products and robes and, of course, the view. The service is friendly, poised and thorough. Expensive but delicious breakfast in the morning topped it off. Recommended for a romantic weekend or to stay if you have business downtown. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernGully2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were blown away by the style and service. The attention to detail was impressive. The rooms, while on the smallish side, we're well done. The new lobby, garden and cafe have a very cool vibe. The new restaurant was amazing! We loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

There were mixed reviews before I booked, but I was set on staying in a boutique style hotel close to E. Village and Soho areas. Very short walks to Astor and Broadway/Lafayette subway stations. Every staff member was helpful, upbeat, and overall created a great vibe. The staff helped arrange a private car when we were late to a dinner/show uptown. The café breakfasts were great and the bar at night was perfect to come back to after visiting other nearby nightlife spots. No noise issues from outside (room on the 6th floor) and beds were AMAZING. I'm not sure how anyone could find something wrong with this place. We had an awesome shower (king room) and our friends in a double room had a bathtub/shower combo. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risseskissez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Service is on point. Immediately from the cab, to the front desk, and to our room we were well taken care off. Worried that our room might be noisy we were offered two other great options. Shout out to Makke for making the transitions easy and entertaining. All much appreciated.

Room Tip: anywhere but facing north would probably be best as there is construction going on there currently
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddziong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
638 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 468 in New York City
605 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#115 of 468 in New York City
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#111 of 468 in New York City
992 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 468 in New York City
2,858 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $338 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing