We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #177 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stunning views but poor service”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've stayed at The Standard East Village twice during their renovation. While the location is excellent (we enjoyed walking to Washington Square Park, St. Mark's Place, and favorite restaurants on the Lower East Side), we found the service to be disappointing and inconsistent. Notably, after both stays, we noticed erroneous credit card charges although we had not used the minibar. Way too many back-and-forths were needed to resolve this. We've never heard of such discrepancies at the High Line or Los Angeles locations, so the fact that we had to dispute our bill on consecutive stays at the new East Village hotel was troubling. In contrast to the friendly doormen, the front desk employees we interacted with were cold and unresponsive. When we reported a loud party next door including a dozen non-hotel-guests, it took several calls before the situation was resolved. To make up for the lack of lobby and common spaces during the renovation, the hotel offered breakfast (complimentary) and happy hour (cash bar) in the penthouse. The 360-degree views from the wrap-around deck are stunning. While we hope to be able return to enjoy the views and prime location, the mediocre service prevents us from recommending The Standard East Village to colleagues traveling to New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    200
    65
    29
    20
See reviews for
78
238
49
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I got in late and left early. The room, of course, was small - ie. boutique. Some parts were still under construction, but it gives guests an opportunity to have a continental breakfast in the penthouse. I was impressed by the bathroom, and the room in general. Hall was quiet, but as always the city hummed below, and sometimes crashed sometime between 2 and 4 in the am.
This is NYC and you will pay to play.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Seeking a fun spot away from the touristy midtown, we found the Standard. It seemed to have been recently purchased and was still undergoing the lobby/restaurant renovations. Had we not seen the construction, we wouldn't have known! Noise was never an issue and the staff compensated for the "inconvenience". They accommodated us for an early check-in with ease, allowing us to explore the fantastic neighborhood. Room was tiny, but comfortable. Enjoyed the city view shower, great toiletries, and comfy bed and linens. Certainly not flashy, but very sleek! LOVED the bar - great vibe, bartenders and drinks. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our 9th floor, north facing, corner room. Not as many windows as others it seemed, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOYAYTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

New York isnt a cheap place to stay - and we ended up spending a bit more to stay 2 nights at The Standard. Its a very trendy hotel, with stylish staff and fittings , if a little on the 'safe' side.
Our room was only on the 4th floor so I was a little dissapointed for the money we were spending we didn't get a great view over the tops of the buildings. The windows let plenty of light in , and i was slightly worried at first people could see into our room from street level.
The room was larger then originally expected, with a very comfy soft bed.
Highlight was the bathtub , amazing to enjoy after a long day :) The huge monk robes were pretty funny !
Because of construction work currently happening the hotel is offering complimentary breakfast in the penthouse - this is a massive bonus as gives you fantastic views over the whole city. Gorgeous room, nice bagels! make use of this, if it wasnt included i would think the hotel was a little over priced for what you get.
Location of the hotel is pretty good :)

Room Tip: Be brash and ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in a Corner King. The room was a bit small for the price and there was little room for luggage. We only stayed one night so it was fine. I wish the AC stayed on consistently instead of kicking on and off all night. View was nice from the 11th floor. The breakfast on the 21st floor was very nice and the view was spectacular! The staff was very nice. We were visiting our son who lives in the East Village so the location was perfect. That is what mattered most to us - finding a clean nice hotel close to his apt., so this hotel was very good for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minneapolismom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel as it is very expensive for what it is. Rooms are totally soulless and the furniture is quite ugly, couldn't actually believe anyone would find it pleasant, even the colors were not enticing, kind of dark and dull. Plus the worst thing is we had a room on the floor just below the top one (where the bar is), and when we went to bed around midnight, the noise was very strong, so we called the reception to ask if they could do anything about it or if it was always like that, and they said they would call the bar to ask them to close some windows or doors, but of course there was no effect...so really, we couldn't fall asleep until 2am or so. The only positive was the incredible view from that floor high up when we woke up in the morning, but really, not worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Manager at The Standard, East Village, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear CharlieS80

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Standard, East Village. Naturally, I was most concerned to learn that you did not enjoy our room product and that you were kept awake until 2am. Whilst we continue to remodel the hotel we are working on solutions to minimize any disruption. I apologize that you were disturbed from the activity taking place in our Penthouse and I would very much value the opportunity to speak to you in person to restore your faith back in the hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Matthew Thomas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This probably one of the worst hotels I've stayed at.... and I've been around. I'm not going to list everything, but give you a few highlights.
1. a promise made at reservation, not honored
2. an odd smell that still makes me shudder when I think of it
3. a broken phone in the room, never fixed
4. no answer when I asked to change rooms (said they'd get back to me, but never did)
5. no turn down service .... not even once in the whole week

Oh, and one morning at breakfast a woman at the table next to me was talking about "people" booking the hotel expecting "service"... and this wasn't what the hotel was about, it's about "the space". I didn't realize she worked there until I saw her later.

Pros -
1. my room had a lot of light during the day
2. I liked the 2nd floor bar
3. The bed was comfortable (but the smell up around the headboard... ewe)



OK ... that's enough! You get it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrissCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Manager at The Standard, East Village, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear CrissCross

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Naturally, I was most concerned to learn of the shortcomings that you experienced, for which I am very sorry. I have addressed the points that you bring to our attention with the entire team and I am have personally taken the necessary steps to ensure the is no reoccurrence. I would value the opportunity to speak in person in the hope that I may be able to restore your faith in our product. Please let me know if this would be possible.

Kind regards,

Matthew Thomas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#174 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 467 in New York City
562 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#162 of 467 in New York City
1,358 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#141 of 467 in New York City
2,727 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#102 of 467 in New York City
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#92 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing