We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very hot but very mediocre....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (East Village)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Studio Room
Ranked #176 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Very hot but very mediocre....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It is a good welcoming, but the room was quite small. But there was nothing to have your bag on, the bathroom and toilet were in different rooms. It was strange that there was somewhere to the towel in when showering / bathing? Then it was the batteries out of the safe, so that it did not work? I was 4 times and said to it, and they said it would be arranged, but not? Then there was the TV too low ... you could see it? So it was trendy but their interior designer was super bad!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerker O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    167
    54
    26
    18
See reviews for
57
204
41
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed there with 3 other friends. Ask for the rooms on the upper floors since they have nice views either on the Empire state building / Brooklyn bridge or on the financial district with views over the One world trade Center tower.
As they were still working on the official launch the breakfast was complimentary. Having said that there are man breakfast and brunch options in the East Village if you avoid St Marks Place - i.e the start of the St Marks is so tourist cheap! - and I would highly recommend CAFE ORLIN for their savoury brunch!
The staff were fab and very accommodating since we asked to change room for one my friend who was on the 5th floor with no view to the 19th floor and they did not charge extra. It is also VERY QUIET on the high floors compared with other areas of Manhattan.
Price wise well it is NYC and you cannot get a decent room for less than $ 300.
One downside : rooms are small BUT Clean and with nice furniture. Try it as we stayed 4 days and were all happy.
they have an agreement with a gym across the road and guests use it for nothing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcdegueurce2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I like the hotel overall but I was assured that the penhouse would be open to all due to construction but it didn't happen. Dining area very small and limited accommodation. Staff was nice and very apologetic about the construction situation. I would wait until hotel is finish building the addition. I loved the room. Even though it was small. Very clean.I will be back in about a year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drlunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. The rooms are compact but everything you need is there. The views are incredible, from the rooms and the penthouse for breakfast. The Courtyard is delightful and the food served there delicious. The staff offered wonderful customer service, always willing to help, offer advice and information, and it was a comfortable place to be. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: higher the level better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

August 19th we moved our 24 year old daughter to a new apartment in the East Village. Before we drove down from Toronto I went online with TripAdvisor to find something nearby. From the reviews, price and location I settled on the Standard, East Village. After a long tiring day of driving and moving, the Standard was a wonderful oasis to recover in. My wife loved the soft beds and luxurious linens. We both admire contemporary décor, and our high floor corner unit was very nicely decorated. The toiletries were wonderful. The room was very quiet. Check in and check out were a breeze. It might be me, but it seemed that everyone who worked here was 22 - 35 years old. There is a complimentary breakfast on the 21st floor with panoramic views of the area. The coffee was wonderful and self-serve! Added bonus, the hotel has an arrangement with a fantastic fitness club right across the street so I got an unexpectedly great work-out. For the price, I can't think that I have ever stayed in a better hotel, and this is to compare to Fairmont's and Four Seasons. We will be back!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in the end of July. Prior to my arrival I wrote 3 emails with some requests to three different email addresses which were mentioned on the website of the hotel, and I never got any reply. This was already a sign that the hotel should have been canceled from the very beginning.

As it is mentioned everywhere on Tripadvisor and other sources, one should stay at Standard East Village because of the great views, and this is exactly what I had requested: a room on the high floor with the best views (eligible for deluxe corner king), and I booked quite well in advance. Instead of the high floor I was given an upgrade (to what they called suit) on the third floor. I checked the room, and it had absolutely no views, and the noise from the street was unbearable. So I had to go back to reception and ask for the room that I have booked. Besides on the website of Standard it does not say that suits are located on the third floor, so I do not know what kind of room they showed to me. Then I had to check another room, which smelled really bad because someone has probably smoked in there, and with the worst possible views again. Not all the views are great at Standard, You are lucky to get a view on the Empire State Building, but some views show the city as if after the nuclear war. To cut the story short this check-in took three hours, was the worst check-in in my life, and I ended on the 14th floor, which according to the receptionist was very high ( all deluxe corner king rooms are located between 10th and 20th, so if 14th is very high for this category, then someone didn't study math at school..).

So for all the mess with the check-in, noone has offered even a glass of water at the bar, where I had to wait for a couple of hours for the more-or-less right room to be ready. The service at the bar is pretty loosy, and the bar is frequented by very loud companies of guests from outside, who do not respect any privacy of the other people.

The next morning i was having a breakfast at the famous Penthouse (bar on the top floor), the view was good, but it is not THE VIEW to die for and stay at this hotel. The bar was busy for private events all the nights, so maybe the evening view is better, but I had no chance to experience it during all the four nights of the stay.

People are friendly at the entrance, but they would not remember you, and still ask if you here to check in, when it is already a fourth day of stay of yours.

I have been previously recommended not to stay at this hotel because it does not match to the other properties of Andre Balazs. I have unfortunately not listened to it, however my advice would also be to skip this hotel.

PS. I have asked to talk to the general manager of the hotel, and the answer of Jennifer-the receptionist, was - GM is busy, when I was checking-out after four nights, still no GM has approached me. Aren' t the guests the most valuable what the hotel has? With such an attitude I can understand why this hotel is managed like it is.

Room Tip: A room with a view to Empire State Building higher than 18th floor, but be ready that they would mes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdventurerHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pleasant stay. "Double Double" room on the 12th floor was very small, but lovely views. Very clean, with comfortable beds, good air conditioning, extremely quiet - I did not hear any hotel noise and the only street noise was an occasional siren. The bathroom was tiny and the bath/shower combination was a bit difficult to use. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast on 21st floor was adequate, and the view spectacular (this is a special during construction). Location very convenient to Metro and the fun village neighborhoods. Nice gym (free passes).

Room Tip: The higher the better for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLPExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#105 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#97 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#179 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#164 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,341 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing