We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast, but room small with odd layout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #186 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location and breakfast, but room small with odd layout”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights here. On the plus side...the bed, breakfast ( top floor, with stunning views and fresh lovely food), views from the bathroom,and the friendly 2nd floor bar. The negatives....a pokey room with furniture that seemed ill suited to the awkward shape, a tiny bathroom space, and flakey wireless reception. Location suited us perfectly,as we love that area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wetwoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    204
    67
    30
    20
See reviews for
84
243
54
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Last March my husband and I spent 7 days in NYC. When I got to the hotel I was shocked how small the room was and that there was only one side table, so we thought 3 days in this was fine but 7?? The bed though was super delicious -- I just melted in it. The linens were thick and cozy - it made you not want to get out of bed. Even the bath towels were large and thick - a trait of a luxury hotel. However since the room was too small we were still considering moving out. The next day we woke up to a delicious and healthy complimentary breakfast on the top floor of the hotel with spectacular floor to ceiling window views of the city and jazz music playing in the background. It was absolutely surreal just sitting there enjoying breakfast with this view - I have never experienced anything like this in NYC (even when I lived there years ago). The breakfast guys were also very helpful with making sure we got everything we needed for breakfast. If only the room was bigger. We went to the front desk, spoke with Kat (She MADE our trip GREAT!) if there was any way we could get a bigger room because we felt really uncomfortable with the room. She brought us to 2 other rooms and in the end showed us a room that was a double upgrade that we couldnt afford but gave it to us anyway without extra charge. I was SO HAPPY I actually cried tears (totally embarrassing) of joy. We had a good room, a breakfast with a view and on the 2nd floor they had a sofa area where you could order drinks, sit and watch the world go by. Every return to the hotel after a long day, we were greeted by the front desk people and they really had a personalized touch. They knew our names, they anticipated when we needed cabs, they made awesome restaurant recommendations and reservations for us. When I reserved seats in the bar and my friends arrived ahead of me, they took good care of our friends. It felt like a home away from home -- not common in all the other hotels we have stayed in NYC. The location --IDEAL - you are in the center of almost everything. The 6 train which goes to soho and uptown is 2 blocks away. The hotel is walking distance to Noho, the East Village and Union Square. We were sad to leave. We miss the breakfast. We cant wait to definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DharmaHMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Sure, the rooms are a little small. There's room for a bed, a tiny desk (but not really room to sit at it) and an armoire. But floor to ceiling windows made the room seem more spacious. The room darkening shades were a welcome addition. The bathroom was fantastic. One of my favorite hotel bathtubs, lovely towels (and great linens on the bed, too). Construction at the hotel wasn't an inconvenience and the free breakfast served in the penthouse more than made up for it.
Use of the gym across the street was great and the location was fantastic. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margieco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The reception staff were enthusiastic, friendly and very helpful. Our room was large by NY standards; the bed and the linens supreme, and the bar delightful. Breakfast was included and served on the penthouse floor. The view was spectacular. The Hotel is very well located for the East Village and for easy access uptown. The hotel was quiet which made sleeping easy. I can think of NO reservations about staying at the Standard and recommend it to anyone coming to NYC. Finally it is well priced.

Room Tip: All the views are great. Of course the higher floors may be more quiet and the elevators are quite e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is still undergoing a long-running remodel. Public spaces are mostly eliminated with tiny bar and no restaurant. Rooms are great. On the small side, but very modern with great wi-fi. Bathroom very spacious relative to room size and beds are most comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDuke_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, OH
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

If this location suits your travel needs, the Standard is a great place to experience NYC. The place exudes the edginess of the Village, yet the staff is friendly and accommodating. We had a king room which had a fabulous view of the Brooklyn Bridge and the new trade center tower. The bed was very comfortable. Of course the rooms are small, it is Manhattan after all, but they did a lot to make the space appealing.
Our bathroom had a strange deep tub with a curtain to use for the shower, but I found it hard to get in and out and I made a huge watery mess all over the bathroom. The other room we had contained a more normal stall shower, which was much more practical.
During our stay the lobby was under construction, so they provided us access to the penthouse event space for complimentary continental breakfast. There was a spectacular 360 view and the food was great. I would love it if they would continue to provide that benefit when the construction is completed, but I understand there will be a full service restaurant on the ground floor instead.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MommaSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We lived in NYC for 4 years, and were back for a weekend away visiting. After living in the east village, we had seen the standard and decided on it. We were thoroughly impressed and can see the Standard being our regular hotel when back. Great service, location, clean (and importantly quiet) rooms and well priced. Only reason for 4 stars is room could be bigger.

Service:
After booking we received an email asking our arrival time and preferences. I responded thinking it would be a waste (as so many emails are) but was pleasantly surprised that our room was ready (accommodating a higher floor) and keys awaiting for our arrival, technically ahead of formal check in time.

The seamless service continued our whole stay. Efficient, friendly and no hassle. Perfect.

Rooms:
We asked for a higher floor (for noise purposes) and recommend it. We stayed in the Village Queen. The room had minimal street noise and a great view looking north over cooper square. We also could not hear any neighbors which was a surprise given modern hotels and paper thin walls.

The rooms are small, but finished really well, clean and comfortable. I could see it getting a little cramped for an extended stay, but for a weekend away it was fine. For anyone not familiar with NYC living you may want to opt for a larger room.

Location:
This is primarily why we chose the Standard, If you are a first timer to NYC you may be better placed in the Times Square / Midtown area, but for us NYC is downtown. It's location is perfect as walking distance to EV, LES, SOHO etc and minutes walk from the 6, N and R.

Note about renovations: The restaurant is out of commission, but the breakfast in the Penthouse more than made up for it. Delicious bagels, muffins, fruit and cereal with 360 degree floor to ceiling views of Manhattan. While room service was also unavailable (as kitchen closed) I over heard the front desk say they would plate any delivery food. A nice touch (but really, you should be eating out).

There was no other inconvenience we encountered.

Room Tip: Higher floors minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
620 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#115 of 466 in New York City
588 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#120 of 466 in New York City
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 466 in New York City
959 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#147 of 466 in New York City
1,416 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#95 of 466 in New York City
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#92 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing