We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, spotless, kind, good food, nice personnel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #165 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, spotless, kind, good food, nice personnel.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay of 10 days at The Standard East Village. We are a demanding family of five with a baby and no tolerance for dust and dirt.. The room was always spotless, they accommodated all our needs and breakfast was a pleasure, delicious pastries, great bagels and good quality, fresh fruit juice. Starting the day with the view at the top,in any weather, is wonderful. They could improve on coffee, providing espresso and cappuccinos, at the moment it is only filter. For just about everything else The Standard was perfect for us, down to taking our bag to the airport in no time after they had mistakenly forgotten to put it in our taxi.
We will certainly be back! Great hotel, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciag525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    205
    67
    31
    20
See reviews for
87
244
54
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location in the East Village. Great floor-to-ceiling windows in the bedrooms and an amazing view across the city. My room was small, but nice and light and had everything I could need. The penthouse (where they are serving breakfast while they renovate) has spectacular views and the second floor bar is also really lovely. Found the doormen friendly, but front desk were a bit brusque and not as welcoming as at the other Standard Hotel. Also, it's not clear if the rooms will be redone as part of the refurbishment, but it looks to me like they could do with a bit of attention. Mine had a wobbly chair, a fridge that I had to ask they to turn off because it buzzed so loudly, and the shower door made a horrible noise when it banged shut. None of which is a big deal, but it didn't feel 'luxury' the way the other Standard does. And when I tried to contact lost property after I had checked out, it was nearly impossible to get hold of them. Hopefully they will have polished off the rough edges when the hotel is fully renovated!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeffer_Relli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I would like to express my appreciation for the service I received from Keith during the reservation process at The Standard. He was helpful, friendly and efficient while providing clear information on room options available. Thank you, Keith!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

fairly priced for New York. Great location. 5 minutes from Soho shopping! Close to some new trendy restaurants (Circolo, Acme). Next door to the magnificent 41 Cooper Square. The staff is super nice and the free breakfast is a nice gesture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric_gignac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

When Renovation is complete this hotel will be TOP NOTCH.
Should thinking about adding a pool and/ or spa.

My boyfriend and I stayed at "The Standard Hotel" for out four Year Anniversary.
We Booked The Deluxe King Corner Room.
One word AMAZING!
Was giving a comp bottle of wine. Greatly appreciated
The View BREATHTAKING.
Staff was very helpful and truly aim too please.
The King size bed was a dream cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask For the higher floored rooms.They have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanee1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed in this modern establishment for 1n, had a nice view, was upgraded to a king room. the front desk staff were not exactly friendly or welcoming and the guys at the door were more interested in chatting with the front desk staff than opening the doors. breakfast was served in a glasshouse on the roof, which was uncomfortably hot on a sunny morning, and lacked proper tables (there was maybe three tables altogether), so people had to make do with whatever level surfaces there were to place their plates on. alltogether the breakfast experience was quite uncomfortable, with too many people crammed into what felt like a rooftop greenhouse. the room was OK, wifi worked well, hot water was hot, and there was a steam-generating apparatus in the shower cubicle, which was a nice touch. location was very nice, in the middle of east village diversions. all in all, ok, but as it was not exactly inexpensive, i would've liked the staff to be at least normal-nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urmsu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, once when it was the 'Cooper Square' and then recently when it was 'The Standard'. They were remodeling the restaurant and bar so I can't comment on those (I'm sure they'll be very nice when complete) but the hotel itself is very good. The location couldn't be any better. The rooms are very nice, bed was very comfortable, and because it's about the tallest building around the views are pretty amazing. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and travel plans. They serve a continental breakfast on the top floor and the views from up there are even better. I have to agree with some other reviews that that coffee was pretty weak. Aside from that I would definitely recommend 'The Standard - East Village'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#186 of 466 in New York City
627 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 466 in New York City
598 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#115 of 466 in New York City
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 466 in New York City
975 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#143 of 466 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#80 of 466 in New York City
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing