We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overall Great Experiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #136 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall Great Experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

When Renovation is complete this hotel will be TOP NOTCH.
Should thinking about adding a pool and/ or spa.

My boyfriend and I stayed at "The Standard Hotel" for out four Year Anniversary.
We Booked The Deluxe King Corner Room.
One word AMAZING!
Was giving a comp bottle of wine. Greatly appreciated
The View BREATHTAKING.
Staff was very helpful and truly aim too please.
The King size bed was a dream cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask For the higher floored rooms.They have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanee1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    180
    60
    29
    19
See reviews for
71
223
46
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed in this modern establishment for 1n, had a nice view, was upgraded to a king room. the front desk staff were not exactly friendly or welcoming and the guys at the door were more interested in chatting with the front desk staff than opening the doors. breakfast was served in a glasshouse on the roof, which was uncomfortably hot on a sunny morning, and lacked proper tables (there was maybe three tables altogether), so people had to make do with whatever level surfaces there were to place their plates on. alltogether the breakfast experience was quite uncomfortable, with too many people crammed into what felt like a rooftop greenhouse. the room was OK, wifi worked well, hot water was hot, and there was a steam-generating apparatus in the shower cubicle, which was a nice touch. location was very nice, in the middle of east village diversions. all in all, ok, but as it was not exactly inexpensive, i would've liked the staff to be at least normal-nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urmsu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, once when it was the 'Cooper Square' and then recently when it was 'The Standard'. They were remodeling the restaurant and bar so I can't comment on those (I'm sure they'll be very nice when complete) but the hotel itself is very good. The location couldn't be any better. The rooms are very nice, bed was very comfortable, and because it's about the tallest building around the views are pretty amazing. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and travel plans. They serve a continental breakfast on the top floor and the views from up there are even better. I have to agree with some other reviews that that coffee was pretty weak. Aside from that I would definitely recommend 'The Standard - East Village'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We didn't actually realise that there are two Standard hotels within a couple of miles of each other - East Village and West Village. This one (East Village) is currently under refurbishment and the West Village one has the boom boom room and the good restaurant but from the reviews seems to be a bit more pretentious. We actually thought we had booked the West Village Standard and were a little disappointed by the temporary restaurant which is okay but not worth visiting when you have so much choice around. They laid on a temporary breakfast in the Penthouse (spectacular views) which although a bit shambolic was a nice touch. We thought the hotel was good but we paid extra to have a room on the 6th-20th floor to guarantee good views of 'unobstructed manhattan sky line' and on the 9th foor (room 901) we had a view of a tower block. Rooms were a good size, bathrooms nice, both very clean and an enormous bed which was without doubt the most comfy i've ever stayed in. Only slight problem was very noisy air con unit right next to the bed and opening the window is even louder so we were very hot. On the whole the staff were nice and helpful. We felt at over $400 dollars a night (+ all the tipping!) we just couldn't justify the price as there was nothing extra that made it special. The hotel is a good location and we'd recommend shopping on Spring Street/Broadway, bruch at Balthazar, dinner at Craft & The Fat Radish and a fun place to eat at is The Meatball shop

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great well designed hotel in (what I think) the best area in NYC!

Pros - Room and bathroom = super clean. The bed was really really comfy! Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Great but simple breakfast (we would have preferred stronger coffee though) is served at the top floor that has stunning views of manhattan.

Cons - the air conditioner is a bit noisy and placed to close to the bed = you'll get cold blowing air
in your face.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay again when back in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fffelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The design of the hotel is soulless and chilly. The rooms are bit simple (little space for clothes and stuff), but very clean, and excellent beds and bathrooms. Breakfast at the penthouse is beautiful! Some people at the reception are very friendly and helpful, but others are not. I told them my mother would join me at my third night and when she arrived (66 years old, exhausted from a long trip from Europe and first time in the USA), they treated her rather bad, reluctantly helped her to phone me (they didn't even know how to call a European number!) and didn't even bring her to our room to let her wait for me there!!! I was shocked to find her standing in front of the reception desk waiting for me, exhausted and worried, with the people at the reception just ignoring her. Strange way to treat your guests!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DelftBlue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I suppose you wouldn't choose to stay in the East Village unless you had a good reason, and although this hotel has small rooms, the beds are very comfortable and the views from the higher floors are spectacular. Staff are friendly and helpful, the bar is expensive and housekeeping is erratic, but, all in all a good hotel. As far as I was concerned, the building work was not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uplifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#133 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#93 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#100 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#152 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#99 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing