We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
Ranked #157 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, once when it was the 'Cooper Square' and then recently when it was 'The Standard'. They were remodeling the restaurant and bar so I can't comment on those (I'm sure they'll be very nice when complete) but the hotel itself is very good. The location couldn't be any better. The rooms are very nice, bed was very comfortable, and because it's about the tallest building around the views are pretty amazing. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and travel plans. They serve a continental breakfast on the top floor and the views from up there are even better. I have to agree with some other reviews that that coffee was pretty weak. Aside from that I would definitely recommend 'The Standard - East Village'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    168
    54
    27
    18
See reviews for
59
209
43
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We didn't actually realise that there are two Standard hotels within a couple of miles of each other - East Village and West Village. This one (East Village) is currently under refurbishment and the West Village one has the boom boom room and the good restaurant but from the reviews seems to be a bit more pretentious. We actually thought we had booked the West Village Standard and were a little disappointed by the temporary restaurant which is okay but not worth visiting when you have so much choice around. They laid on a temporary breakfast in the Penthouse (spectacular views) which although a bit shambolic was a nice touch. We thought the hotel was good but we paid extra to have a room on the 6th-20th floor to guarantee good views of 'unobstructed manhattan sky line' and on the 9th foor (room 901) we had a view of a tower block. Rooms were a good size, bathrooms nice, both very clean and an enormous bed which was without doubt the most comfy i've ever stayed in. Only slight problem was very noisy air con unit right next to the bed and opening the window is even louder so we were very hot. On the whole the staff were nice and helpful. We felt at over $400 dollars a night (+ all the tipping!) we just couldn't justify the price as there was nothing extra that made it special. The hotel is a good location and we'd recommend shopping on Spring Street/Broadway, bruch at Balthazar, dinner at Craft & The Fat Radish and a fun place to eat at is The Meatball shop

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great well designed hotel in (what I think) the best area in NYC!

Pros - Room and bathroom = super clean. The bed was really really comfy! Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Great but simple breakfast (we would have preferred stronger coffee though) is served at the top floor that has stunning views of manhattan.

Cons - the air conditioner is a bit noisy and placed to close to the bed = you'll get cold blowing air
in your face.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay again when back in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fffelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The design of the hotel is soulless and chilly. The rooms are bit simple (little space for clothes and stuff), but very clean, and excellent beds and bathrooms. Breakfast at the penthouse is beautiful! Some people at the reception are very friendly and helpful, but others are not. I told them my mother would join me at my third night and when she arrived (66 years old, exhausted from a long trip from Europe and first time in the USA), they treated her rather bad, reluctantly helped her to phone me (they didn't even know how to call a European number!) and didn't even bring her to our room to let her wait for me there!!! I was shocked to find her standing in front of the reception desk waiting for me, exhausted and worried, with the people at the reception just ignoring her. Strange way to treat your guests!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DelftBlue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I suppose you wouldn't choose to stay in the East Village unless you had a good reason, and although this hotel has small rooms, the beds are very comfortable and the views from the higher floors are spectacular. Staff are friendly and helpful, the bar is expensive and housekeeping is erratic, but, all in all a good hotel. As far as I was concerned, the building work was not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uplifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I was in NYC for a 5 day seminar and chose the Standard because it was near the venue we were attending. This totel was 350 per night, the most I have ever spent and although it was expensive it was well worth it. The guest check in process is very welcoming and professional. My room had a great view loking north and the Hudson River. The rooms all have glass for the outside wall so be aware if you are getting out of the shower that people in other buildings may be able to see you. In fact the hotel has a note in the room cautioning guests about this. I never did go to the terrace bar but I heard it was awesome. People from the city come there to hang out. Also, the restaurant is superb for all three meals but their breakfest is really well done. Service is superb. If I ever go back to NYC that is where I will stay!

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Topdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
431 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This active construction site will soon be excellent. The lobby is being reinvented and should be as special as the upper floors. Although the rooms are small, like all NYC hotels, they have flair and a contemporary feel. The bathrooms are super cool and very roomy. It was a perfect location for us and we'll go back.

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#108 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#97 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#147 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#117 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#178 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Property: The Standard, East Village
Address: 25 Cooper Sq, New York City, NY 10003-7107 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Cooper Square in one of New York's most vibrant, artistic neighborhoods, The Standard, East Village is cozy, charming, and eccentric in equal measure-very much in the spirit of its surroundings. You enter the 21-story tower through an original tenement-style building before ascending to unparalleled views of Manhattan. There's a quiet, calm garden tucked away at street level, Michelin-starred chef John Fraser's widely acclaimed Narcissa, and the bustling, street-side Café Standard, which hums from morning until late night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing