We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all to ourselves”
Review of Jake's Saloon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jake's Saloon
Ranked #8,729 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Midtown
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“all to ourselves”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

this pub was near our hotel, well a few blocks away so we stopped in late one drizzly night..lo and behold, no one was in the joint...it seemed the kitchen was closing soon so we hurried to order and our food arrived quickly...the bartender was our server..wings were old, the bones were dark, but they were cooked well...my sis had the short rib which looked dark and delicious..lots of bone and a bit of fat...my other sister's veggies were excellently steamed...spinach and broccoli..i know they were good because i ate them!...at a certain point quite a few folk came in for drinks and the atmosphere got a little lively, but the "chef" nodded to us on his way out the door shortly thereafter....go if you are close by...go if you are hungry...just go anyway

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillyborn114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dersingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent find for fantastic food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

As we were staying at the holiday inn, we found this excellent pub, the food was out of this world, I would highly recommend the New York strip, perfection ..... The calamari for starters was out of this world. The waitress was great, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, I am gutted that we found this place on the last night as I would have happily worked my through the menu. Thank you for great food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go for the bar, not for the food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Since we were staying nearby (Holiday Inn on West 57th Street), my wife and I thought we would stop in for dinner at what looked like a very inviting place. Our welcome was indifferent, as was the service, and the food. The bacon in the turkey wrap was as hard as a rock and inedible, and the fish and chips were really soaked in grease, and the fish was not entirely cooked. We did notice that the bar scene appeared very warm and attractive, and if we came back again, that's where we would head instead of the tables. Overall, we were disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kathryn the bar tender is Great!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

1st time at Jakes Saloon. I had a drink while waiting for a friend. Kathryn was a great bar tender. As I sat with my drink at the bar...It got busy and I just watched as she took care of everyone at the bar and plus the drink tickets that the waiter was sending in. It should be called Kathryn's Irish Saloon, lol!! The waiter guy that was there doing the tables was also doing a great job.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great little bar away from the noise!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This bar on the junction of West 57th Street and 10th Avenue was just a 5 minute walk from our hotel. It has a warm buzzing atmosphere, and has a good mix of locals and tourists.

As a Brit, I liked it because it was like a great local pub. Wood panelling, a long, low bar with stools and lots of tables if you wanted to eat. They do typical 'pub grub', and had Heineken and Stella on tap as well as Guinness.They have an excellent barman P.J., who was very friendly and welcoming and really made our evening there very enjoyable.

If you want to get away from the mad crowds in Times Square and just have a beer or glass of wine in an unpretentious bar then we would recommend Jakes Saloon very highly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinwood5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Saloon also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Jake's Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing