We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service, great atmosphere”
Review of Jake's Saloon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jake's Saloon
Ranked #8,587 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Bar, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We dined and drank in the Jakes Saloon next door to the Chelsea Savoy Hotel where we were staying.. the bar tender Brendan was great - attentive, friendly and helpful. The menu is extensive and the happy hours have great cosmo offers for $8... the cheapest we found them in NYC and a must for drinking in NYC!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizJohnLloyd-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Went to the Jake's Saloon on 23rd between 7th and 8th Avenues. Live in the neighborhood and for whatever reason, never made it here.

The bar never appears to be too crowded. Has that old Irish pub type look to it, but the place is really only around 5 years old (give or take as I have been in the beighborhood about 12 years).

Place was clean when I went in ... though it wasn't at night or during a game (large screen TV behind the bar for prime sport viewing).

I order a soup and burger and can't believe I never walked in before. The soup was terrific and the burger was excellent.

I actually ordered the burger for home delivery the next week and it was equally good. Cooked to perfection and a filling meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikedespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is for the other location on 23rd street @ 7th. Had perhaps the best fish and chips I've ever eaten. Perfect, thin batter that really brought out the fresh cod. Great fresh, real fries and the tarter sauce was just right.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artyhues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid, neighborhood pub”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a good place for beers while watching baseball in the afternoon - relaxed and comfortable. The food is quite good for a bar, and the service is friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeNYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cold beer, good music and tasty wings”
Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Good after work place to have a cold one and watch a game. Very lively bar, varied menu and decent service. We had some wings, a fresh chopped salad and a hangar steak sandwich. All good pub food.

Helpful?
Thank mikethegoodlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Saloon also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Jake's Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing