We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best mexican in NYC!”
Review of Los Mariscos

Los Mariscos
Ranked #891 of 15,915 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Being from California I am always on the search for the best mexican food in New York. All the mediocre expensive places make me so upset and while I love Cosme, you just can't eat there all the time. Los Mariscos has great fresh seafood, amazing authenticity in tortillas and some options, and a flavor of Mexico that's missing from so many NYC Mexican establishments.

The Agua Frescas are all so good, but no matter the time of day, I'd definitely suggest a mezcal margarita! Great option.

The special spicy shrimp taco is my favorite, and I know it's not authentic, but it's soooooo goood. The aguachiles are very solid, but I think the ceviche gives you better bang for your buck.

Make sure to try the homemade salsas! They are definitely soome of the best homemade salsas in all of Manhattan.

This really is a great place to go...it's not fancy, it's not tooo cheap...but it's a good middle ground with great seafood and excellent execution and flavors.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelBear990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 63 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

Super simple interiors but amazing fresh food! The cevice mixto and the guacamole pot are amazing.
Mezcalita to go with any food choice. Low prices too, great spot to try something authentic and unpretentious

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Alessia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

On a hot day this was like stepping into a bar in Baja California - great music, colourful atmosphere, friendly staff and amazing tacos! The food is such great value, and the margaritas are deadly - in a great way! I didn't want to leave and would definitely visit Los Mariscos again - great place.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roos1ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

The best eat in Chelsea Market but difficult to find if you are accessing it from inside Chelsea market. This was recommended by tour guide Corey from Food on Foot Tours. You can find the entrance across from the Los Tacos No. 1 stall - you go through a winding corridor and end up in this quaint eatery. Loved the Especial ceviche! Cool atmosphere, too - casual, unpretentious, but magical in its own way.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Chiara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

Just left a review for your taqueria, but can not leave without leaving one for your Mariscos. Amazing ! went twice in a week..well done, ambience, product, drinks.. fantastico !!! come to visit me if you go to London. ! (Condesa)

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Mariscos also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Los Mariscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing