We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and excellent location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelsmore Apartments
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I stayed in Chelsmore apts for ten days. I travelled to New York with my boyfriend, we are both in our twenties-thirties and it was the best place ever. A non renovated studio apartment is 130 dollars a night, a reasonable price for Chelsea. The location was great, only a few blocks from Union Square and all the big stores (The Gap, Barnes and Nobles, Paragon, Adorama). The furniture was a little old but in good condition, and the apartment was clean when we arrived. We were provided with all we needed: towels, clean blankets, sponge, detergent, paper, etc. The staff was very helpful to us, even when we had a problem with our credit card on the first day (as we were travelling from overseas). Although it's not a hotel, there's someone at the reception 24 hours a day and the area is really safe and trendy. The apartments have plenty of space; we arrived tired at night and were able to relax and enjoy having a kitchen, a microwave and a TV. There's a laundry in the basement (which we didn't use but may be of great help for those staying longer. I'd say that if you fancy to stay more than a week in New York and you are looking for a quiet, familiar, cozy place to stay in, then you should go for Chelsmore.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nana_O70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

I rent a renovate apartment was very clean and comfortable. The furniture was eleganltly and feeling like new. Nearby were subway and supermarket, restaurant, and laundry in the building. I stay 2 month for business. My client visit and very impress this apartment.
The staff is helpful and always answer question.
This price very good and service also very good. I recommend. Sorry for english.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kenji_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

If you wish to stay in a dirty apartment, with broken furniture, where the stuff is less then pleasant and mice are a part of your company - then choose Chelsmore.
Otherwise - stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank drfreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The flats are large and in the Chelsea area, great for the village and a metro ride for the center (or a very long walk). Although the refurbishments are basic they work fine and for a longish stay (6 days is he minimum here) you get an apartment you can feel comfortable in. The staff are OK and it is clean enough. Unless you are fussy you will enjoy your trip and save a bit of money from your lodging cost for the excellent restaurants in the nearby village.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GoldstarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I stayed in the Chelsmore Apartments for 7 nights during May 2008 with my mother and my sister, and we utterly enjoyed our stay.
At first look the place could be a bit alarming - it definitely isn't a 5 star hotel - but once we settled in we started appreciating the place's advantages.
Our apartment looked like my old grandma's apartment - only huge and in a great location in Manhattan. We liked just spending an evening on the couch watching TV and reheating some food we bought in the nearby supermarket.
Overall, it's a great alternative if you're looking for a good place to stay in Manhattan without going bankrupt.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Chelsmore is the perfect solution if you are on budget in Manhattan.
The Building apartment is located on 15th street between the 7 and 8 av, which is nice area. There is supermarket around the corner and subway station few minutes walk.
Some of the apartments are renovated and some are not. You can't assure to get the renovated ones so unlucky us, we got an old apartment.
The old apartment wasn't bad. It did have the feeling of little bit un-clean and old but it was wide enough and fit all our needs. It had fully equipped kitchen, living room, bathroom and few closets. The doorman in the building's lobby was very kind to help whenever we asked.

To summarize all: When coming to Manhattan all you need is decent place to put your head at night after being all day out, I think Chelsmore is great solution if you don't want (or don't have) put lots of money on lodging.

The only "problem" is that you have to book for 6 nights minimum but I must admit that sometimes it worth it cause you still pay less.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ido8all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casillademarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Chelsea
Hotel 309
Hotel 309
#100 of 162 in New York City
460 reviews
Midtown
AKA United Nations
AKA United Nations
#13 of 162 in New York City
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
East Village Apartments
East Village Apartments
#3 of 162 in New York City
349 reviews
Midtown
Radio City Apartments
Radio City Apartments
#5 of 162 in New York City
2,341 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 473 in New York City
12,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsmore Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsmore Apartments

Address: 205 W 15th St, New York City, NY 10011-6412
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 162 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsmore Apartments, a New York based property management company, offers furnished & unfurnished apartment rentals in New York City.Superbly located in downtown Manhattan close to public transportation and all conveniences, our apartments offer the ideal solution for corporate housing, visiting academics, and traveling professionals on extended stays in New York City. Family owned and operated since 1953, we pride ourselves in offering quality accommodations and service at an affordable price. With a minimum stay of one month, Chelsmore Apartments is an ideal home base for your stay in New York City. Chelsmore also owns and operate additional properties in New York City and has options for every budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelsmore Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing