We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant without pretension” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bemelmans Bar

Bemelmans Bar
Ranked #81 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
464 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Elegant without pretension”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was on the UES to visit my friends and their new baby and had time to kill. I love The Carlyle as it feels like NYC of yesteryear in its elegance sans pretension. Bemelman's is a real place. There are neighborhhood people as well as hotel guests and while fancy no one puts on airs. I sat at the bar which was pretty crowded. I have ordered many things from the bar menu (shrimp cocktail, club sandwich) in prior visits but this time I settled for a glass of Chablis ($20) and the copious bar snacks - a trio of mixed buts, house made potato chips, and cheese sticks. I chatted with a nice older man who said he always has a drink at Bemelman's when he is in town for a show. I myself usually go there after a show at The Whitney.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MBM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    72
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful and classy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Loved how cozy and comfortable it was. We only sat at the bar for a couple drinks. Though there were several businessmen at the bar, there were other friendly patrons. The staff was helpful and attentive and made excellent drinks. The music was wonderful. We were early before the later entertainment started, but the piano player was wonderful for us as we were off to a dinner reservation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KQMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming great band but just to expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A unique and quirky interior, a great band after 9 and brilliant atmosphere. But the prices astronomic, 1 large Remy vsop, 1 glass of white wine and 1 cocktail $175 including cover charge for 2, however it was packed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank karl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
“Elegant place to relax and enjoy good music and good company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

There are many really great places to hang out in Manhattan, but only a few that are institutions like Bemelmans. Our visit here was a real pleasure. The piano musician was amazing. The service was first class. The lighting was low which made the beautiful images in the wallpaper seem to come to life. The seating was really comfortable. I really love Bemelmans. I think you will too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“As Special As Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Bemelmen's never changes in its quiet dignified feeling that removes you from the Madison Avenue bustle on the other side of thew wall.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bemelmans Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bemelmans Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing