We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bemelmans Bar

Bemelmans Bar
Ranked #90 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Bemelmans is such a wonderful place. The only snag is it is so popular; it is difficult to get a table so either get there early or plan to have a small wait. Can't wait to go back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank yvo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    73
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cocktail heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Atmosphere and the quality of the music. The waiters were attentive and fast. Wine recomnendations were always great

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Yeah, it's a tad overpriced, and Bobby Short is long gone, but Bemelman's is always delightful, and I never miss having cocktails there whenever I'm in New York. The whimsical murals always make me smile. The service is on the formal side, harkening back to a New York sophistication that is nowharder to find than it once was. However, I can't think of a better place to meet a friend for drink. When I die, if I go to heaven, I hope it looks like Bemelman's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Put it on your list of must do!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

You can read all about this iconic place all over the web. I have lived in NYC and left years ago and now visit 5-6 times a year and we had never beento Bemelmens before. It was all that I have read about it. To see the art on the walls, listen to the piano player and to have a great drink with snacks was a great start to an evening. We had a Martini and a Manhattan with a small try of nuts and chips for about $40. Remember you are not just getting a drink. If that's what you are looking for go someplace else. Here you get the drink the snacks and the experience. You people watch and enjoy the ambience while sipping a great cocktail. You spend more on "who cares stuff." Check this off your list and go have some fun...we did

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
153 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go for the Murals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an expensive spot but it's worth the $26 kir, to see the murals by Ludwig Bemelmans. We had seats right in front of Miss Clavel and the "12 little girls in two straight lines". The artwork is phenomenal and fun. The people watching is great. The Upper East Side has the most meticulously dressed and coiffed old people I have ever seen. We got there before 5:00 and it was cozy and warm and within an hour it was packed! Ellis, the bartender was a dear.

One of my favorite NYC places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mmoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bemelmans Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bemelmans Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing