We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Easy Access to the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #292 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location - Easy Access to the City”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Selected this Hotel because it was near Javits Convention Center where a trade show was happening. A good start to the day with a substantial free breakfast, loved the cookies in the evening! Room was very neat and clean. Front desk was a great help when we had to extend our stay an extra day because of the weather. We did have to change rooms but the staff moved our bags while we were at the Trade Show. Front desk found a car for us to take us to the airport. Driver was great and the price was not anymore than a cab would be. Several comments about the elevators being slow - we didn't find that to be the case and were on the 25th floor. The Hotel does seem to host many student groups but they were fine - though it did make the breakfast area a bit busy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGirlInVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear AGirlInVermont,

Thank you for this very nice review! I am so pleased that you liked our location. It is very convenient to the Javitts Center as well as Times Square. I am very pleased that you found our elevators to be fine, even during a very busy convention time. We have hired a new elevator company to evaluate, clean, and speed up our elevators and it seems to be paying off!

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our new expanded Breakfast Bar, and I LOVE the nighttime cookies too!!

I hope that when your travels bring you back to New York, that you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    924
    355
    88
    63
See reviews for
713
591
100
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Sauvetat-du-Dropt, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights and all were exceptional. The staff was wonderful and friendly and the morning breakfast was wonderful. The food was plentiful and hot and the kids loved the sausages. Loactionis perfect for shopping and close to 2 brothers pizza for a cheap dinner. can't go wrong- Great stay highly reccommend- A+++++

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loki5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear Loki5,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay at our hotel! I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff! Customer service is our number one concern, and it makes me very happy to hear that you were pleased!

I love 2 Brothers pizza on 9th Ave too, and I am thrilled that your really liked our newly improved Breakfast Bar!!

Thank you again for this review and I hope that when you are back in New York, that you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Very decent hotel, located in a quiet street in Manhattan. It's not exactly in Times Square (about 3-4 blocks from the actual Times Square) but not far to walk or difficult to find. The street itself was quiet - which meant a good sleep at night, but just don't be walking around late at night on your own! (Then again, this is Manhattan!)

Rooms were a very good size with a very comfortable bed, good lighting and very nice bathroom. Housekeeping kept the rooms nice and clean every night and the temperature could be adjusted easily. Free Wi-Fi in the hotel is definitely a plus plus!

The front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and always tried to help, even if they were very busy. Safety deposit boxes are available for free, and the front desk staff were always helpful and pleasant when we needed to go into them more than once a day!

Only downside was breakfast. The variety of food wasn't fantastic, and the hot food was not the best. The selection was the same everyday - frittata, omelette, scones, muffins, sausages, burger patties and cinnamon rolls. The continental selection was acceptable though, and I enjoyed hot chocolate and oatmeal everyday, with a couple of types of cereal, 2-3 types of oatmeal, fruit, yoghurt and bread.

Overall, decent for a 3 star hotel in Manhattan. If the price is right, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkygal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! I am very pleased that you liked our Front Desk staff. We feel that Customer Service is one of the most important aspects of the hotel and we strive every day to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible. I am sorry that you did not think that our two kinds of omlettes (western and cheese), scrambled eggs, two kinds of sausage (turkey and pork) biscuits and gravy, as well as an assortment of breads, bagels, english muffins, and assorted fresh fruits wasn't enough choices for our complimentary breakfast buffet, but I am very pleased that you liked our rooms and location.

Thank you again for this very nice review, and I hope that you choose to stay at our hotel when you return to new York City.

Sincerely,

Hunter Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Before our trip I did read the other reviews and found them quite helpful, however as with everything in life you must make up your own mind and voice your opinion, This hotel was ideal for our first trip to New York, it is centrally located and is a very good base, It is a busy hotel so don't be late down for breakfast. The breakfast is of a reasonable standard and the staff are attentive, but don't expext it to be the Ritz. The staff at the front desk were courteous and very helpful, they resolved any issues we had very quickly and efficiently don't forget to tell them if you have a problem. I did read a few reviews stating that the rooms are a bit on the small side, they are not enormous but the king size bed does take up several acres of space. But who goes to New York to stay in your hotel room! We had a very enjoyable first trip to New York and will be going back again (when its warmer). Thanks to the Manager and his staff who helped to make our first visit a memorable one Well Done Folks

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this very nice review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I feel that these reviews are very helpful to guests when trying to decide where to stay in New York, so thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I especially like the bit about "well managed" haha! Thanks!

I hope that you will make us your home based again when you return to new York City!

Sincerely,
Hunter Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Forget high prices in NYC. Stay at this hotel and you will have a great stay, breakfast and you will be centrally located. Staff is very helpful too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janita60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

I AGREE! Haha! Why spend tons of money on a hotel in New York when you can stay at our lovely hotel at a decent price in and excellent location and get free breakfast!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I originally wanted to stay in the Marriott Marquis in Times Square, but due to a last minute jump in airfare, decided for the less expensive Holiday Inn Express.

The rooms were decent sized for a New York City hotel room. Everything was VERY clean and modern. The rooms featured the Holiday Inn Express bedding collection, triple sheeted, with a duvet and NOT a comforter. HDTVs are used in the rooms. We had a view of the city street below and some buildings. Very cool!

The rate was incredible! I would even say DIRT CHEAP. I'd say a great value for the price.

The hotel was in a great location...sort of "off the beaten path" of Times Square (less noise!) but well walkable to great dining and the theatre district. Also, it was conveniently located near the PABT transit location! I felt very safe in the area.

If you're looking for a clean, convenient place to stay, you've found a great pick! Don't be expecting a mansion for a room, but expect free WiFi and breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weatherman1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. It is true that we are not as fancy as the Marriott Marquis in Times Square, so it is quite a compliment to us that you choose to stay with us and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am very glad that you enjoyed the view, and the location and find us to be a value.

I hope that the the next time your travels bring you to New York, that you will chosse to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Hotel is well located by a short walk from Times Square. There is plenty of entertainment and eating places around.

We got a room on the top floor (36th), which was easy to access thanks to 2 fast elevators. The 2 double bed rooms are quite small - two suitcases already take most of the floor space, and the wardrobe is pretty small too, but it is Manhattan after all. The bathroom was compact, but covered the needs, also the water pressure was good.

Internet, complimentary, worked more or less without problems.

Breakfast - well, as most of it is served in the almost-open-air appendix, then during the snowy period it was quite chilly there. But the servings were sufficient, of usual HIX standard. In addition, during non-breakfast hours, you can always take free tea and coffee at the drinks corner.

Priority Club status was recognised and a welcome gift (a bag with bottle of water, caramel candies and a pen) was provided.

For the price I paid, I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tango-Xpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear Priority Club Guest,

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Times Square. I agree, this location is so central that it makes getting around New York very easy.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, elevators and internet. I hope that the next time you are in New York that you will choose to stay with us.

Enjoy!

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 466 in New York City
590 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#181 of 466 in New York City
1,147 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#224 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#243 of 466 in New York City
2,384 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#265 of 466 in New York City
2,003 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 466 in New York City
5,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing