We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #292 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Excellent hotel, great location. Only 2 blocks from subway station and bus terminal. Breakfast was good, well stocked. Temperature wasn't working in room first night but was fixed immediately. I have no complaints whatsoever!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but to be expected. You are in NYC, how much time are you going to spend in the roo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808carolynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear 808carolynb,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re excited to see that you really enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. I am happy to hear that our team was prompt about addressing your concerns. If this was your first time staying with us, we hope that our services and value encouraged you to stay with us again. Until next time, safe travels!

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

In a crazy city like NYC it is easy to get caught up in your own world, and lose concern for others needs. The staff at this hotel have NEVER done that! Angelica is always helpful at the front desk, as well as Jamie (for the late night popcorn heating).
I overheard one of the breakfast staff relaying her outlook to a newer employee. "Interact with the guests, ask them if they need something." The advice came from Theresa, who is welcoming and happy you are joining her while she is working the breakfast time. I look forward to seeing them each day.
I will be returning, and glad to stay here.

Room Tip: I like staying as high up in a hotel as possible.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Mark O,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to see you found our location convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York. I will make sure I pass your comments to Theresa, as well as the rest of our team, I know they'll be pleased to hear it as well!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good location. Close to all major area includıng Port Authorıty bus terminal and Times Square. Sufficient breakfast, free of charge. Will be our number one adress whenever we visit NYC.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elif Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hello Elif Y,

Such a pleasure to connect with you and thank you again for the wonderful feedback about the property. The entire team is always focused on the details of the guest experience. Every touch point does not go unnoticed, so we are truly flattered by your feedback and hope that other travelers will yield your advice! Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your return!

Yours in Hospitality,

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Recently spent 3 nights at the hotel. Location is good in mid-town as you can get to just about anywhere in the city with no problem. Walking around was no problem. Very close to Times Square. Its short walk from Penn Station if coming by train. Had a double bed room on the 5th floor. Rooms are small (typical for New York). Room and bathroom were clean, no issues. It was cold for two of the days and there was always hot chocolate available in the lobby when we returned from sightseeing. Always had a bowl of peppermint candies also. There is a concierge to help answer questions, get tickets, etc. in the lobby.

Breakfast was the typical self serve (cereal, pastries, yogurt, breads, some fruit, juice, etc), however the only drawback was how small the serving and seating area is, which made it very crowded. We got our food and returned to our rooms to eat.

There's only two small elevators for the whole hotel. So the higher up you are, the longer the wait for them. When one elevator breaks (as it did on our visit) the wait is VERY long. Get a room on a lower floor. Street noise was not bad.

One day our room did not receive any maid service upon our return in the evening. I called the front desk to ask for new towels and to take out the trash, they apologized and came up quickly to service the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear mkjbs,

Thank You for posting your candid review of your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Times Square. I am so glad you had the chance to experience the Hot Chocolate in our lobby as it is very popular, especially when it’s cold out! In regards to the elevator, I want to express my apology as this mechanical error was an unforeseen circumstance but surely enough we did prioritized the matter and were able to promptly resolve the issue and have the elevator running again. Since the Holiday Inn Express Time Square offers complimentary breakfast at times it does get busy and therefore we recommend to show up a little earlier to avoid the long lines and/or crowds, however this matter will be discussed with our Executive team to review solutions and enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you in the near future and once again thank you for staying with us.

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

For those who knows other Holiday inn express hotels, this one is pretty much the same. Rooms are of good size for a NYC hotel with plenty of room for luggage. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are very clean with several toiletries, except for shower cap (although I think you could get one at the front desk). Free WiFi. Location is very good at 39th St between 8th and 9th Avenue (almost at the corner of 9th Ave), pretty close to Times Square, several restaurants and theaters. In addition it's located pretty close to the Bus/subway terminal (Port Authority) at 8th Ave with 42nd-40th St. So this is quite handy and arriving and going to JFK (take the train between terminals at JFK until Jamaica Station (5.00 USD); then take subway A and get out in Port Authority (2.50 USD). Very easy even with luggage.
Breakfast was the only point I really dislike in this hotel. Not because of the menu, which is very good: pancakes, yogurts, eggs, bacon, hamburger, cereals, breads, pastries, cream cheeses, juices, coffee, milk and tea. Not many fruits though... bananas. The problem actually is the size of the breakfast room. Extremely small for everybody. Therefore, every morning we had to stay on guard waiting for a table to be vacant. Too stressful each morning because you had to be on your own sometimes arguing with rude guests that simply took the table you were waiting for in line. If the hotel is not going to increase the size of the room, at least it should take care and organize the line just like restaurants were you add your name to a list and waits to be seated. So this is not a very good way to start your day, unless you're an early bird... But besides this, it's a good deal. I recommend an Italian restaurant - Mercatto - just across the street that has good price on pasta, and a pizza place on the corner of 38th St and 8th Ave. Very cheap and very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank going-around-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear going-around-10,

Thank You for posting your candid review of your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Times Square. I want to express my apology for the crowded breakfast area, Since the Holiday Inn Express Time Square offers complimentary breakfast at times it does get busy and therefore we recommend to show up a little earlier to avoid the long lines and/or crowds, however this matter will be discussed with our Executive team to review solutions and enhance our guest experience. However, I am glad that your overall experience with us was nothing short of great. Mercato restaurant is a great choice and a hidden gem which we often recommend to our guest, especially that it is located directly in front of the hotel. We hope to welcome you in the near future and once again thank you for staying with us.


Yours in Hospitality,

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Wow! I have been to NYC numerous times, but never have I received such hospitality as this time. The Holiday Inn Express Times Square was great! Friendly, courteous, helpful and very clean and comfortable. EVERY staff member went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was nice with a fantastic view from the 36th floor of the Empire State bld., the Freedom Tower, and even Lady Liberty off in the distance. I slept with the curtains open just to look out on the skyline all night. Breakfast was very good and Teresa treated us like we were at a 5 star restaurant. The concierge desk was extremely helpful and the bell hops went out of their way to take care of us. I will definitely stay there again. Everyone in NYC was very friendly and helpful giving up seats on the subway, taking our picture, and giving directions or helpful suggestions. Thanks New York, you made my Mom's birthday the best!!!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Sandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Sandy E,

We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our entire staff works around the clock to ensure all of our guests receive the best service and value for their money and we are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations. I will share your review with Teresa and the rest of our team as I am sure they will be happy to know your positive feedback. We really appreciate you recommending our hotel to other travelers and we hope to have you stay with us again soon. We wish your mom all the best wishes for her Birthday! Until next time!

Yours in Hospitality,

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We booked this hotel via British Airways.com for a six night surprise birthday break in New York for my wife, we stayed here from 24th February 14 to Sunday 2nd March 14.
Although we had very cold weather during the stay the hotel was nice and warm and very comfy, Having contacted the hotel before arrival with a special request we were given a room on the 35th floor (3504) which had a great view over the city and to the river.
As with all hotels in NYC the rooms are not large but we found we had plenty of room and the bed was very good after a long day sightseeing we had no problems sleeping.
We had the breakfast every morning and found the choice very good and the staff the best we have ever come across in the many hotels we have stayed in, from check in desk to departure the staff all seem happy and have a smile on their faces.
would we stay here again --- YES too right we would.
Well done to the Manager and his /her team can't wait for our next visit, but when its warmer outside.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor with a city view the views are amazing and that from someone who does...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear SwindonNigel,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a great review of our hotel and Staff! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and your time here in NYC! It’s great to see that our location was convenient for all of your activities too. We love it when our team get recognized on Trip Advisor! Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we sincerely hope to have you stay with us again soon. We hope that all your birthday wishes come true!

Yours in Hospitality,

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 468 in New York City
644 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#230 of 468 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 468 in New York City
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,430 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 468 in New York City
2,025 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#295 of 468 in New York City
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $203 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing