We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Service and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #252 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Service and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express between June 29 - July 3 and chose this location due to its proximity to the convention center. We were pleasantly suprised by the kindness and great service we received from Juicy. She was a great help and we recommend this hotel for her service alone. This hotel is great if you're in town for a convention or even to visit the city. Great location and because of Juicy ... great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Vickie K,

Thanks so much for the great 5-star review of our hotel! We hope you had a great time here in New York and were encouraged to return again. We appreciate you mentioning our staff as we all work around the clock to ensure our guests’ complete satisfaction. Please come and stay with us again next time you visit NYC. Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    830
    299
    71
    50
See reviews for
620
527
87
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I were here for four nights in July and would definitely use this hotel again. After flying from the UK, it was very convenient to use the Newark Express Coach to Port Authority and to walk from here with our luggage to the hotel in a matter of minutes. On first impression, the hotel staff were efficient, the hotel was busy, we were rather anxious about there being only two elevators for around 35 floors of six rooms and the floor we arrived on looked a bit shabby with a worn carpet and some litter around the ice machine. However, the room was great. Small as one would expect in the city, but with everything working well and we particularly appreciated the attention to always having the extra toilet roll, box of tissues, soap, etc, on hand as housekeeping were particularly good at replenishing these.
We arrived during the heatwave and the air conditioning in the hotel and in the room worked perfectly. Although there were only two elevators, there was only one occasion (around 9.15am) when we experienced a delay. This was probably the combination of some people checking out, people taking their breakfast to their rooms, and housekeeping moving between floors. During the time of our stay, the elevators did not affect our enjoyment of the hotel.

On the first morning, breakfast felt a bit overwhelming due to the number of people and the relatively small number of tables, however, like the elevator situation, and much to our pleasant surprise, it all seemed to work very well. The rate at whch people entered the breakfast area seemed to match the number of people eaving tables and this was a tribute to both the good work of the hotel staff and the consideration of the hotel guests. The breakfast options were very good with everything from omelettes, bacon and sausage, to pancakes.

The location of the hotel provided us with quick access to the subway A,C and E lines and walking distance to Times Square, the Circle Line (highly recommended), the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Plaza but we particularly enjoyed betting the bus south down Seventh Avenue to Chinatown and Greenwich Village and being able to come back up on Eighth Avenue.
One useful piece of information is that if you are returning to Newark Liberty Airport with Newark Express Coach, it picks up in the undercover area between Eighth and NInth Avenues of the Port Authority Building. On arrival, we were dropped off on Eight Avenue and had had assumed, on seeing signs in Port Authority pointing towards the Newark Express, that we need to go to one of the coach departure gates. After finding that the signs point you out of the building, there were no more clues and just before crossing Eighth Avenue to the drop-off point, my wife asked a pilice officer who pointed us to the correct location which is even closer to the hotel!

Overall, we had a great stay and this would have been a five star rating had the area outside of the room been in better condition, but knowing how the hotel works, I'm sure they have this in hand and have a programme of refurbishment planned. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chungsongyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Chungsongyau,

Thank you so much for your kind and thorough review of our hotel! We truly appreciate you choosing our location and hope you had a memorable experience here in New York. It would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for the great feedback and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Pretty hotel. Clean. Big. Nice rooms. Good food. Excellent location. Very nice customer service.
My only complaint is that i was traveling from another country and requested for a confirmation email from them with my reservation info and i never get it even when i called several times to ask for it. I thought they couldnt get my email clear on the phone, but back in my country i received an email from them with their satisfaction survey -____-

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Sandra g,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to New York! We’re happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and that we were able to meet your expectations. We apologize for failing to confirm your booking upon request, but appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week with family. The staff were very friendly, and the hotel was clean. It's in a great location: very accessible to subway, restaurants, and a lot of sites by foot. We walked to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and even down to the Flatiron Building easily. The free breakfast has a ton of great options. We were greeted with welcome bags upon check-in also. Only complaint would be that there was often a wait (2-3 minutes at times) for elevators. If you can get a lower floor and use stairs, that might save you trouble.

Room Tip: Lower floor might help with the elevator wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Cneiss,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to see you found our location convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Everyone working there is very helpful. Not a bad location. Easy walking distance to many locations. Good breakfast is a big plus. Saves on food costs in NYC! Asked not to have our room serviced while we were out but had no trouble getting fresh towels daily and trash emptied. We did not experience the extremely long wait for the elevators like I read in previous reviews. Overall we enjoyed the stay. Rooms are tiny but I think that is common in NYC!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Michelle F,

Thanks for the great review of our hotel! We’re delighted that you chose our location and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a memorable experience here in New York and that you were encouraged to return soon. It would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again and we wish you the best in your travels! Thanks!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at hotel at 4:30 pm. Short wait to check in. Room was ready. Appreciated the complimentary lemonade. Room is small for family of four but that is what I was expecting in New York. Appreciated that there was four towels but we did have to ask the next two days for one more towel since only 3 were replenished. Breakfast had many options. Cinnamon rolls, bagels, toast, muffins, bacon, sausage, cereal, pre made mini omelets, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pancakes and muffins. Juice, coffee, tea, and milk. Light next to bed was broken but fixed immediately when brought to front desks attention. Front desk was always very helpful with answering our questions about the area. Last night at 9:30 no hot water, boiler needed to be fixed. It was fixed by midnight. Front desk helped us by setting up car (ended up being a suburban) to take us to JFK $72 included tip, toll and fee. I would definitely stay here again. Location was close to metro and Times Square. We ended up walking to harbor, central station, Empire State Building...all were with in a mile time square a couple of blocks. We were able to check out late and they held our luggage in a secure location and gave us luggage tags for each piece. Really appreciated the great service. They can't control when things brake but they responded quickly to fix the situation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2snorkel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear love2snorkel17,

Thanks so much for the great review! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC and hope you had a great time! We apologize for the challenges you faced during your stay, but appreciate your understanding and patience. We would love to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York and look forward to your return. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

i managed to get a terrific last minute rate on a website called hotwire. you don't know what you get until you book, so we were happy to see the holiday inn name pop up on our confirmation. the staff were great. rooms very clean and just what we needed. view was obstructed but perhaps they leave the worst rooms for the guests paying less, which is fair enough.

We felt the lifts too way to long and also the breafast buffet was crowded to the brim on each morning. the americans sure do like their buffets. we only wanted a simple 1 serving and get on our way, but had to battle just to get that.

otherwise it was excellent value for money. if i had paid full rate i might have given it 4 stars not 5.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sea_shell_susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear sea_shell_susan,

Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel! We really appreciate you staying with us and are happy you felt you received a good value. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced with our elevators and breakfast service, but appreciate your understanding. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to NYC and look forward to your return. Thanks again and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#202 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#166 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#179 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#306 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison ...
#257 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#233 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing