We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #290 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel before, and was more impressed. This visit, I found the staff to be focused on socializing with each other instead of finding interest with assisting customers.
Upon check in, there were 4 young employees at the front desk talking. I stood there politely, until one young man told the young lady to wait on me ... she was irritable and annoyed to be checking someone in.
I found the same young lady to be equally irritable the next day during check out.
I stored my luggage, and went back for it ... at which time the young man brought me 2 pieces of luggage, but only one of them was mine.
The complimentary coffee was only warm.
Something is slipping at this hotel. It is sad. The quality used to be much more precise and driven to perfection. Now, mediocre is the norm.

Room Tip: The higher up you stay, the less street noise you will hear while trying to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Tom M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs. After reading your review we feel the need to apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your stay. We are committed to offering the best service and value for our guests and failure to do so is simply unacceptable on our part. We hope to have the opportunity to make up for the negative experience and look forward to your return. We appreciate your understanding and wish you only the best.

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here on holiday from England for one week in June 2013.

The hotel is in a great location, on a slightly quieter side street just off the busy 8th Avenue, and a short walk from Times Square and Broadway. The Port Authority bus terminal and subway station are just around the corner, and there are dozens of bars and restaurants nearby.

The hotel is small and fairly basic, but its comfortable and has everything you need for a short stay here. Although not huge, the rooms are perfectly adequate, and clean.

Our room was at the front of the hotel on the 22nd floor and was surprisingly quiet, with very little noise from other rooms or the street below. The bed was wonderfully comfortable - we slept like logs all the time we were there.

There were some nice touches you wouldn't normally see in a UK hotel, including free Wi-Fi, free coffee in the lobby all day long, and even lemonade and cookies when we returned to the hotel on some afternoons.

If you are looking for a mid-range hotel as somewhere to stay whilst you explore the city, I would recommend this place. We would certainly come here again if ever we return to New York.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northerner_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to see you found our location convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here between 24 April and 29 April 2013 with my best friend, we were a bit apprehensive with it being a Holiday Inn but were both completely and totally pleasantly surprised. The room was small but all you need for a 5 night stay in New York, we had a king room as it worked out the cheapest and found the bed to be to absolutely huge and also very comfortable. We had a bottle of champagne in our room on arrival arranged by parents as this trip was for both our birthdays and for an extra treat the hotel left us a small box of chocolates and a card to wish us both a very happy 21st birthday – which was a very nice thing to walk in to after a day spent travelling to New York from the UK! The breakfast was absolutely lovely, such a selection and all very tasty, only tiny complaint was we only managed to get a seat once out of the 4 mornings we ate breakfast, but no biggy we just took it to our room and had breakfast in bed. The bathroom was brilliant, nice powerful shower and always nice and clean. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and the cleaners did a brilliant job every day. Honestly can’t fault a single thing about our stay in this hotel and we have both said on our return the big city we will 100% be booking the Holiday Inn Express again.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room on a floor with an ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Lucy H,

Thank you so much for the great review! We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and hope that you had a memorable experience here in New York! We are humbled by your recommendation and would love to have you stay with us again. Happy Belated Birthday and we wish you the absolute best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We traveled to New York from Belfast on 17th June, and as I'd used Trip Advisor as a guide when choosing this hotel, I was confident it'd be a good experience. Initially, when our shuttle pulled up outside it I was a bit skeptical as it didn't look to be near anything, especially not Times Square which it claims to be - we'd never been to New York before and weren't aware how the streets and avenues worked, however, although 39th street itself might not be much, a very short walk round the corner onto 8th Avenue and you're right in the middle of everything!

The two guys that we dealt with most often at the front desk were great, so friendly and approachable. I think that one could possibly be called Andre, and the other has glasses and dark spiky hair. I was meant to catch their names but never got round to it. One thing I would mention about the check-in is that you need to be aware of the 'deposit' of $50 they charge you, just in case you watch pay-per-view TV or use room service, either that or they will want to keep hold of your credit card for the duration of your stay.

The room was clean, much more spacious than I had expected, and comfortable, with a huge TV with a lot of great channels. We stayed in room 1704 and at night the view was beautiful. The bathroom was clean and the shower had great power and was easily used. Maid service was also great and unlike a lot of hotels, they clean your room when you're ready, not at a specific time, so if you decide to have a lie-in one morning you'll still get fresh sheets and new towels!

We came to New York really to try all the food, so we didn't eat the breakfast supplied so can't really comment, however we didn't hear any other guests complain about it.

We did, however, order food in from a couple of different places, and each time it was delivered straight to our door and the front desk actually called you before they came up, informing you it had arrived.

The wi-fi in the rooms worked well but there are a few different ones that come up when you go to sign in to it, we picked the one that was called something along the lines of wireless-4-2-0 (or thereabouts) rather than the two that said Holiday Inn Express of HP Express as it was quicker.

When it came to going home, our flight wasn't until later in the evening and although check-out is usually at 11am, if you sign up for FREE to their priority members club when you get there, you get complimentary 2pm check-out, no fuss!

All in all, I'd definitely stay here again if I returned to New York, which I definitely will!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room on a high floor for a lovely view over Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Tasha M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay! We really enjoyed reading your feedback and are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed our location and amenities. We hope your overall experience was memorable and that you were encouraged to stay with us again during your next visit to NYC. Thanks again for being our guest and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my daughter and we had a great experience. First, it is perfectly located near Penn Station and a short walk to Times Square. Second, the room was recently renovated, extremely clean and comfortable. Third, the complimentary breakfast is definitely a plus in this expensive city. The last reason to stay here is the staff. They are super helpful and accommodating. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again when we are in New York. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALBRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear ALBRJB,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time you share your feedback with us and the Trip Advisor community! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location convenient for your activities. We would be honored to have you as our guest again and look forward to your return. Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square and we wish you the absolute best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From this hotel on midtown Manhattan, you can easily walk to Time square, The Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Hells Kitchen, the sightseeing boats on West River and probably more. There were also just a short walk to two Subwaystations that connects you to the rest of the city. The staff were excellent, hard working and very helpful. The hotel wasn`t new but it was clean. But we didn`t like the carpets that covered the floors. They weren`t clean and we thought that they should have been changed. The wireless internet in the room worked ok. Breakfast were included but they should have added some more fruits and vegetables to the breakfast!! The aircondition was a little noisy, but it did work.

Room Tip: Try to get a rom on the top floors to get a view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithFredrikstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear KeithFredrikstad,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs and hope you had a great time here in New York. We are constantly working to improve our services and hope to have you stay with us again to witness for yourself. Thanks again for your comments and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights 6-10 June and the hotel proved an excellent base to explore the city. Our room was on 31st floor and was more spacious than i had thought it would be, the room was clean and modern with a patial view of the Empire state building. Yes breakfast does get very busy with limited seating there are trays to take food to room whch is what most people were doing. There is free coffee and lemonade and excellent free wi-fi. Most of all location is fantastic a 5 minute walk to Times square, the area is safe and quiet. If you are travelling as a couple/solo and returning to jfk instead of paying $70 for a cab get a bus for $16 per person its just a 5 minute walk to Port Authority Bus Terminal just remember the traffic to the airport can get very busy and can take one and a half hours to get to the airport(same price on bus,yet meter running in cab)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear sil,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to see you found our location convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#264 of 471 in New York City
2,094 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#251 of 471 in New York City
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#181 of 471 in New York City
733 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#315 of 471 in New York City
4,280 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#238 of 471 in New York City
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $117 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing