We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #292 of 466 Hotels in New York City
nottingham
2 reviews
“Excellent service and location”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 , don't be put of by the negative comments, this hotel is in a brilliant location and all the staff go out of there way to help make your stay as comfortable as possible, regarding the size of the rooms it is true they are on the small size but there were four of us and we easily had room , anyway this is New York you only need the room to sleep in . Breakfast can be busy at times but was well cooked and kept us going throughout the day. we emailed and asked for a room with a view , what a view we had Empire state ,Freedom tower . Just round the corner there is a pizza shop that due large slices for a $ they are really good and definitely worth trying . would i stay again ? YES WITHOUT A DOUBT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinga68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear dinga68,

Thanks so much for the great review! We enjoyed reading your feedback and are thrilled to see you had a great time here in New York. It's nice to hear that you found our location convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York and look forward to your return. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    920
    353
    86
    63
See reviews for
711
588
100
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is very small and needs some renovation however it is perfectly located for tourists. Breakfast can be a little hectic and is typically American. Can get a little annoying waiting for the one lift when it's busy.
Very fast wifi !

Room Tip: High up for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo_Johno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Paulo_Johno,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your stay! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for you accommodation needs. We hope you had a great time here in New York and are happy to see you enjoyed our location. We'd love to have you stay with us again and await your return. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good hotel for New York City break. Rooms high standard, though compact compared to most US hotel rooms, I've had smaller ones though, so I thought it was good for NY. coffee maker, flat screen tv, good hair dryer in bathroom. Good blackout blinds and fairly quiet high up (we were on 27th floor) so we got a good nights sleep every night - we didn't leave ac on though as bit noisey, but the room didnt get hot despite 25c overnight heat. Great view from rooms and exactly what was promised on booking - view of Empire State and freedom tower in distance plus Hudson River.

Lobby spacious with free lemonade when you got back from day out, much needed as it was super hot. Staff friendly and helpful. Good free breakfasts, more on offer then I've had at other NY hotels, though it got busy. we only gave it a miss on one of the days as couldn't find seat so decided to eat out instead (we could have taken it up to our room as they provided trays).

Great location, 5mins to subway at PA bus terminal and 7mins to Times Square. Always felt safe returning to hotel late at night. Walked to/from penn station for trains to airport in about 15mins with big cases so no need for taxis.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaffeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear kaffeee,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experienced with us! We hope you had a great time here in NYC and thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs. If this was your first time staying with us, we hope you were encouraged to return. It would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again and hope to see you soon. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you the absolute best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean and the service is fantastic. Most tourists come to New York to see Times Square, and other main attractions. This hotel is in a good location for the subway and for Times Square. Unfortunately, this is not the cleanest area of Manhattan, but it works well for attractions.

As a little side tip: If you don't want to eat the bleak continental breakfast, walk along 39th or 8th in the morning and you can find vendors selling bagels and coffee for a $1.25, which might be the best deal in Manhattan. You can also find people selling breakfast gorditas that are quite delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H9695QYjenniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Tinyj1411,

Thanks so much for the great review of our hotel! We really appreciate you choosing our location for your accommodation needs and hope you had a fantastic time here in New York. We would love to be your hotel of choice for future visits to NYC and look forward to your return. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a good hotel with great value for money. The location of this hotel is unbeatable. It's just off Times Square, a block away from the New York Times Building. The rooms sizes are very small but okay for Times Square. The breakfast is limited but lots of shops outside to grab a bite. Bit of a shady street to go at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, if there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishab231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Rishab231,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We’re happy to see you felt you received a good value and that you enjoyed our location. We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return. Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I like the location, it's very near the tourist spots in NY like the broadway district,restaurant row, times square etc...room is too small but clean, elevators were too slow maybe because of the 30+ floor bldg accommodating lots of guests... breakfast is okay, staff were very helpful and friendly... overall i enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Jillacious,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It’s great to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location convenient for your activities. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York and look forward to your return. Thanks again for being our guest and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on a 1 night stay over Memorial Day weekend. We got the room free due to IHG's best price guarantee, although we did have to pay for it upfront and are going to be reimbursed by IHG Corporate, since they hotel was not complying with IHG's best rate guarantee. While that did put a sour taste in our mouth's to start, the hotel did seem accommodating. I emailed them in advance to let them know we were celebrating my birthday, and they did leave a small package of 2 free waters, some chocolate, and a birthday balloon on the bed, which was really nice. The room had great views of the Hudson, Freedom Tower, and the Empire State Building. The location was decent, on 39th between 8th and 9th, so pretty close to Times Square. They have free breakfast in the morning, which while crowded, was nice to have. The beds in the room were comfortable, and the air conditioning in the room goes down to 65, which was great for us since we like it cold. The staff was really nice, asking how our day was, and always seemed cheerful. Now, for the couple issues we had with the hotel/room:

1) They assigned us to a room on the 31st floor. However, when we unlocked the door and went in, there was luggage and people's items in the room. I can only imagine what would have happened if the people had actually been there. We went downstairs and were given a new room on the 36th floor, but I can't believe a mistake like this could actually happen at a hotel.
2) The room was tiny, probably the tiniest I have ever stayed in. I know it's New York City and this may be standard, but it still seemed so small.
3) The chair in the room was heavily beat up, and ripped in a bunch of places.
4) There are only 2 elevators for 36 floors and over 200 rooms, which is way too little. The first time we went up, it took at least 10 minutes till we got the elevator and got to the room.

All in all the stay was ok, and free is free, but there is definitely room for improvement in the building.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoshapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear yoshapman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We appreciate you choosing our location for your accommodation needs. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and appreciate your patience and understanding. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future and wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 466 in New York City
587 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#179 of 466 in New York City
1,146 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#224 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#241 of 466 in New York City
2,381 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 466 in New York City
2,002 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#132 of 466 in New York City
5,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing