We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
packmybagsreadytogo
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great location, the price was right, the front desk was extremely helpful. Only there one night but everyone there helped to make it a great stay. We were in town for the 5 Boro Ride and had bike to bring into room, very accommodating and even upgraded us so we would have more room. Thanks!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packmybagsreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear packmybagsready,

Thanks so much for the kind review! We really appreciate being your hotel of choice when visiting New York. Congratulations on completing the 5 borough bike tour and we hope you were able to relax and be yourself upon completion. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you’re in New York and look forward to your return! Happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    927
    358
    88
    64
See reviews for
717
595
101
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in New York for 9 days and this hotel was fantastic. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Fantastic location, rooms, breakfast and staff. We covered a number of cities during our stay in the states and this place was definitely high on the list for accom. Lifts did get busy during breakfast however, if you're not in a hurry then its no issue. We also loved the complimentary tea and coffee near the dining room.
Thank you for a lovely stay. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We got a higher floor to get away from traffic noise but this is probably not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalcitizen5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear globalcitezen5555,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here in New York and couldn’t be happier to see that you “loved it!” If this was your first time staying with us, we certainly hope it wasn’t your last. We truly hope to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in May 2013 and had a wonderful experience. We asked for a low room and got the 6th floor and were very happy with it.(Quiet and if the elevator got busy it was easy to hit the stairs) The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We rented bikes for a 24 hour period. There wasn't a place to store the bikes overnight but the staff were fine with us taking them up to our room.

Room Tip: 6th floor facing the alley is quiet. (no view)...No ice machine so no noise....easy access to stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for the great review of our hotel! We appreciate being your hotel of choice and hope to have you stay with us again. Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days with a group on 8 people. We booked 2 double rooms. We arrived very early, around 8 in the morning, so of course our rooms weren't ready. I had emailed the manager a few weeks before the trip to request high rooms and to make sure we could leave our luggage there. He replied very quickly and offered to get us early check-in, at no cost, if if was available that morning. The hotel was booked solid, so they didn't have a room, but they were so, so, so nice! They took our bags right away and told us to go and have breakfast! How great is that?! The breakfast was good too - pancakes, biscuits, gravy, sausage, bacon, toast, eggs, bagels, yogurt...you didn't leave hungry. It definitely made our long day of exploring start well. Our rooms were ready for us after 2, but we didn't get back until around 5. The rooms themselves were great - not big, but it is New York! They were clean and not as small as I was thinking. There were 2 double beds, a small computer desk, tv, etc. The bathroom was a decent size too. Everything was very clean and fresh and the beds were comfortable. We were on the the 33rd floor, high as requested, and it was great. We barely heard any road noise, none if the windows stayed closed, and we had no problems with the elevators. The staff were all incredibly friendly and the location was fantastic. It was less than a 5 min walk to Times Square and about 2 minutes to the subway. The only thing close to negative that I have to say, is if you need the concierge desk, you may as well just use google...she was not helpful in the least.
You can definitely eat on the cheap in New York, if you know where to go. We had some of the best pizza, hot dogs and deli in our lives and didn't spend over $20 for 2 on a meal. It is also possible to see a lot in a short time if you utilize the subways. We did the Empire State building (went at midnight to avoid lines and got great views), Staten Island Ferry/Statue, Brooklyn, walked back via BBridge, Katz Deli, Little Italy, Central Park, Madison Sq Garden, Grand Central, 9/11 Memorial, Times Square....it was busy, but totally worth it!! The people of NY were some of the nicest I've ever met, anywhere!!! I will be back!

Room Tip: High floor to avoid noise and get nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustangMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear MustangMandy,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We really enjoyed reading your review and are excited to see we were able to exceed your expectations. We realize there are numerous options for lodging in New York and we are honored that you chose our hotel. We sincerely hope to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for the great feedback and we wish you the absolute best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel on 39th Street between 8th & 9th. This was a perfect location as it was close to most all the 'hot spots'. Times Square, Hells Kitchen and Broadway were all just a quick walk away The neighborhood was save to return to even late at night. While the rooms are small as I have found all rooms in this price range in NYC to be, the beds were comfortable and the room was clean as were all the public areas. I was disappointed it did not have a mini fridge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We received a welcome bag that contained two bottles of water. Every afternoon when we returned to the hotel warm Otis Spunkmeyer cookies and lemonade welcomed us. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise. There was an ample selection of items including: cheese and vegie omlettes, bacon, sausage, bread, english muffins, bagels, cream cheese, peanut butter, yogurt, cereal, milk, hard boiled eggs, pancakes, hot cinnamon rolls, juice, coffee and tea. The hot food was hot and the cold food was cold and everything was fresh and tasty. The breakfast room doubled as a luggage storage so that when you checked out you had a secure place for your 'gear' until you needed to leave. I would stay here again and recomend it to friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size, small. Rooms with a king bed would have more available floor space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdenston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear jdenston,

Thank you so much for your generous review of our hotel! We’re thrilled to see you enjoyed our location and that we were able to exceed your expectations with our breakfast service! We are humbled by your recommendation and hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to NYC. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not that there's anything wrong with that. Located between 8th and 9th Avenue on 39th, it's a pretty convenient location but don't look for anything luxurious. Your basic hotel room without any additional amenities except a coffee maker. They do serve breakfast but watch out during the warmer months...it gets so crowded in that small space I often skip it. There's no bar or restaurant in the hotel but plenty in the neighborhood. A trusted brand, free wi-fi...good location. All in all, not a bad deal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for stopping by to review your recent stay with us! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs. We’re happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay but we would love to have you stay with us again so we can really “wow” you and earn that excellent review! What we lack in size, glitz and glamor, we more than make up for in service. We look forward to having you as our guest again and wish you all the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed four night in May 2013 in a city view room with two beds. Great location, just a few blocks from Times Square and the subway. The room looked tired but was clean. Very comfy beds, although poor quality pillows - but I was brought some more when I asked. Breakfast was really chaotic - not enough space so we had to share a table with other guests (which was actually quite nice!) but the range was pretty good and definitely set us up for the day. Coffee and tea was available all day long in the foyer. The staff were extremely polite and helpful - I contacted them prior to arrival and they were very responsive and tried their best to help me out. I imagine you could find a more luxurious hotel in the same area but I doubt you'd get it for similar money. Would recommend to anyone looking for a simple base for a short stay.

Room Tip: I paid more for two double beds and also a city view room - great views from 34th floor downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are honored that you chose our property over the numerous others here in New York. We’re delighted to see you enjoyed our location and amenities and thank you for your kind recommendation. We hope to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#193 of 467 in New York City
618 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#188 of 467 in New York City
1,162 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#243 of 467 in New York City
2,407 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#141 of 467 in New York City
5,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing