We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Waldorf Astoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Better than the Waldorf Astoria”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed my first night in New York at the Waldorf Astoria. I had a much better time at the Holiday Inn. The staff was absolutely incredible!! The hotel is clean, rooms are large enough, the bed is comfortable, breakfast was so much more than a continental breakfast. I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
DearThom S,

Wow! We really enjoyed reading your review and are humbled by your feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with other travelers and we hope they will benefit from your review. We cannot express how honored we are to be compared to the Waldorf. It goes to show that what we may lack in amenities and size, we more than make up for with guest service. We would love to have you as our guest again and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for staying with us and we wish you the absolute best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    927
    358
    88
    64
See reviews for
717
595
101
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, US
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were stranded in this hotel during Hurricane Sandy. (We had to move to another hotel after a few days because the Holiday Inn was full.) The staff did a great job of handling all the stranded travelers as best they could, even when they were barely staffed because people couldn't get in to work! We were very appreciative of those who did make it in, and they went above their normal duties to help us out. As far at the hotel itself, the rooms are smaller than your typical HI, but that is to be expected in the city! They were clean and had all the usual amenities. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of plenty of attractions. (This is especially useful when the subway is closed!) The only negative I saw was that there were long waits for the elevators. We booked this hotel on points, and would do the same if we were back in NYC again! (Hopefully not during hurricane season next time...)

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view, but lower rooms mean you can take the stairs and not wait for the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueYonderGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
DearBlueYonderGal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We truly appreciate your loyalty to IHG and thank you for being a dedicated Priority Club member with us! We're sorry to hear your stay was affected by the hurricane but we appreciate you sticking it out with us and for being so understanding during that difficult time. We are humbled by your positive feedback and would love to have you stay with us again. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square and as always, we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the rooms are larger than what you would usually get in New York. The hotel is close to Times Square, and the Port. The staff are friendly and there is a free laundry for guests to use.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and you will get a great city scape view. Breakfast is very busy and the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuterbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear cutebear,

Thanks for stopping by to review our hotel! We truly appreciate you choosing our property over the countless others in NYC. We couldn't be more pleased with your feedback and are excited to see we were able to exceed your expectations. Please come back and see us next time you're in New York as we'd love to have you as our guest again. Thanks for staying with us and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel was clean ,old but clean!! Great breakfast ,and the best staff ever !! They could not do enough for you!!!
Anything we wanted was given right away!! They helped setting up tours and gave us maps for every place we wanted!!
We stayed on the 24th floor facing the front of hotel so view was good!!
Location was perfect for everything ,Times Squares ,shopping ,hooking up with buses for tours!!

Room Tip: Higher up better view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Cindy C,

Thanks so much for the great review of our hotel! It was our sincere pleasure to serve you and we are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay. We would be honored to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York and look forward to you return. We appreciate your kind feedback and wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked this hotel off Priceline and was pleasantly surprised.

The location is quite convenient. The hotel is on West 39th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues. So, it is just a short walk from Times Square and the Port Authority bus terminal.

The lobby is small and can get crowded during peak check-in and check-out time. As others have noted, there are only 2 elevators for 30-some floors. Sometimes it can take some time to get up or down from your room.

The rooms are on the small size but about average for Manhattan. The bed was decent, but some of the other furniture were showing a bit of age (for example, the office chair seat was worn through). The bathroom seems to have been recently renovated, though, and was quite clean. The free wi-fi also worked without any problems.

On the service side, the staff were all very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank govt_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear govt_traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us! We are delighted to see we were able to exceed your expectations. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced as a result of our elevators or lobby, but we appreciate your patience and understanding. We truly hope to have you stay with us again and look forward to serving you. Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here the East weekend for 3 nights - found the location perfect! Room wasn't as small as I was expecting - from previous reviews, and we had 3 large cases & a wedding dress! Staff were very nice, really close to Times Sq, loved the Irish pub 8 buildings up or so - Tir Na Nóg - really nice staff - gave us champers when they heard we were getting married in a few days!
Didn't find the lifts a problem, other than at prime check-out time - really try to bring down your bags early, and then take the stairs down when you're checking out.
Went out for a cigarette a few times at odd hours, and there were a few characters around the place, but I wasn't overly concerned as the smoking area was right outside the entrance.
Good spot though, will come back here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Elepa,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC! We really appreciate your kind feedback and hope you all had a great time during your visit. We would love to be your hotel of choice for future trips to New York and look forward to your return. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Apr 22 - 27, 2013. The hotel rooms are quite small but whatever the hotel lacks, the staff more than make up for. I've traveled quite a bit over the past 20 yrs and have stayed in many hotels, but i have never before encountered staff that were so friendly, professional, and helpful. The dining room staff went above and beyond and when my friend tried to tip them, they refused the tip! The front desk, cleaning and maintenance, dining room, bell hops...everyone! All the staff in this hotel are top notch. The Concierge, Rick, was very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. This was my second trip to NYC and the last time we stayed at an upscale hotel near central park. I preferred Holiday Inn Express and will definitely stay there when I return to NYC. Great location as well!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmtmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear tmtmac,

Thanks so much for the generous review of our hotel! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and time here in New York. We would be honored to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return. We truly appreciate you being our guest and wish you the absolute best in your travels. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#192 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#188 of 467 in New York City
1,159 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#231 of 467 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#244 of 467 in New York City
2,403 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#138 of 467 in New York City
5,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing