We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #293 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel mid april and had a wonderful time. Rooms were spotless, location was great for Times Square and subway station, staff were polite and helpful and the breakfast buffet was amazing with all options covered from cooked breakfasts to cereals. I will definitely be using this hotel again when I return to NYC.

Room Tip: I have heard that some of the rooms have a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review! We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs. We’re happy to see you enjoyed our location and amenities and hope your time here in New York was memorable. We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for the kind feedback and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

On our first visit to New York we spent 6 nights on the 19th floor of this hotel. Our room was very clean, we had a nice view and the bed was comfortable. We were happy that breakfast was included. The staff was very kind and helpfull. Times Square was only a few minutes' walk away.
It was rather cold outside, so the free chocolate milk, offered in the lobby of the hotel, was very welcome.
I will surely advise this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: You have a better view on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear omi55,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and time here in New York. It’s great to see you found our location convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We are honored by your recommendation and hope to have you stay with us again. Thanks again for being our guest and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel and room were very clean. The room was tiny but we weren't there to spend time inside the room. Free breakfast, early check- in, late check -out and a friendly staff all made the stay that much better.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andersbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to "impress" you with our service. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future and look forward to your return. Thanks again for the great feedback and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed with them for attending a conference at the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre. Was very close to the convention centre. The breakfast is good, but the room is small. Additional chairs outside are helpful. In cold winter, hot chocolate was made available. Survived on Subway for lunch and dinner, which is located just round the corner. Very close to Penn Station. Internet on WiFi is available all the time. They do have a dingy small place, tucked into the basement of the next hotel, which they call a fitness centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahadevan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We really appreciate you choosing our hotel over the countless others here in NYC. It’s great to see our location was convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York and look forward to your return. Thanks again for the kind feedback and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while over for a Wedding. The front staff were fantastic and ever so helpful, little addition is the fresh warm cookies at 4pm every day. There is also fresh free coffee available all day 24/7. The rooms are immaculate and kept very clean. The facilities are excellent and the location is no more than a five minute walk from Times Square. You really are in the heart of it all and pay reasonable prices for the room. The buffet breakfast is good with an above average choice, bagels, muffins, omelettes, boiled eggs, porridge, pancakes, bacon, sausage, toast, yoghurt, fruit juice and delicious warm cinnamon Danish pastries. This really set us up for a lot of walking round New York. There are excellent eateries around the hotel and you have everything form Thai, Mexican, Turkish and of course pizza right on the doorstep. The subway to World Trade etc is no more than 2 minutes away and the big Macys approximately 7-10 minutes.

We cannot fault this hotel and if we return to NYC we would not hesitate to stay here again. All the staff right down to Mark the chap who keeps the coffee topped up and lobby clean on the nightshift were so friendly and helpful. 5 star review form my Husband and I.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoomer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Zoomer18,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and the Trip Advisor community. It’s great to see you enjoyed our location and amenities and we hope you were encouraged to choose our hotel again for future visits to New York. We would love to have you as our guest again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for the kind review and we wish you the absolute best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Easter weekend and had a room with a superb view. Hotel itself is small and basic but it has everything you need. It is a five minute walk to Times Square. The breakfast is super which makes it brilliant value. It was also good to be able to leave your bag there on the day of checkout and then come back for it later. Literally nothing was too much for these guys. Some Five Star hotels could learn a thing or two!! The thing that makes this hotel standout is the excellent, personal and friendly service. One chap in particular called Jamie couldn't have done more for us and was so lovely. Would highly recommend it if you want a good central place to base yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Alison K,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed yourselves and that you found our location convenient for your activities. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to NYC and look forward to your return. Thanks again for being our guest and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We lead a group of 80 school students and chaperones on a trip to Manhattan. The Times Square hotel was ideally located with many restaurants and subways nearby. It provided an excellent breakfast with enough options that it was still decent even after eating it the fifth day in a row. Property management did a very good job accommodating all of our requests. Even though this property is a bit tight for gathering a large group, staff was very helpful in suggesting ways in which we could best be accommodated. I heard nothing but complements on our choice of lodging from our group and many people stated that they would be using this hotel in the future when they visit NYC. The layout of the hotel (tall and narrow) had the benefit of keeping our group dispersed yet near chaperones. This way large groups of children never formed. As a result it was easy to keep our group from creating a nuisance to other guests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manhattan as a tourist.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC! We are delighted to see you all enjoyed your stay and time here in New York. We are humbled by your recommendation and hope your comments benefit other travelers. We would love to have you all stay with us again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 470 in New York City
2,077 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 470 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#187 of 470 in New York City
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#251 of 470 in New York City
2,495 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#237 of 470 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $128 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing