We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #289 of 468 Hotels in New York City
harrow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a surprise at breakfast”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had no idea that we would be given paper plates, cups and plastic cutlery. It was a shambles all round. On the plus side, room larger than I expected ,staff very helpful and the wait for the lift not too long. Central location. Still very disappointed with the breakfast for the price paid for the hotel (breakfast included). Also didnot realise, apart from breakfast there wasn't a bar or a restaurant.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We apologize that our complimentary breakfast did not meet your expectations. Despite us not having an official restaurant, we strive to host our breakfast as if our guests were dining at a restaurant. Although our breakfast is standard amongst the Holiday Inn Express brand, not all of our guests are aware of the presentation. In spite of this, we sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our staff and amenities. We hope the breakfast didn’t pale your impression of our hotel as we hope to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    914
    350
    82
    61
See reviews for
697
585
98
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I can't think of anything bad to say about this hotel. We stayed for four nights. One of our party was celebrating a birthday, so I emailed the hotel manager to ask for rooms with a good view and a birthday treat for my friend. We arrived to find rooms on the 36th (top) floor with amazing views, and a box of cupcakes and a birthday card. Rooms were small but comfy and very clean. We were concerned by reading reviews that we would wait an eternity for an elevator but this was never a problem. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice. We never had a problem getting a table. The location was excellent and the staff were friendly without exception. I would definitely stay here again. One tip - take earplugs if staying at a weekend, as NYC is noisy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high, with a downtown view and you might get a view of the Empire state building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaDusterhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Ms. Dusterhoff,

Thank you very much for writing such a kind review of our hotel! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and that you and your party had a good time here in NYC. We truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with other travelers and we hope your comments will be beneficial for all who read. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we would love to have you as our guest again. Thanks again and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I am extremly loyal to HIE, so when I found one that was just a few blocks away from Times Square, I was elated. Sadly, this HIE did not live up to my expectations. It breaks my heart to give this poor review, but I must be honest so that other travelers know what they are getting when they book this hotel.
First, let me say that Oksana and Mike may have been the most professional, caring, knowledgeable, and hard working HIE employees that I have ever encountered at a HIE property. They were remarkable and I just cannot say enough positive things about them. In addition, I also want to give kudos to the young lady who was in charge of the breakfast buffet. We arrived late Saturday morning. Our room was not ready, but Mike invited us to go and have a quick breakfast before the buffet shut down for the morning. The lady over the buffet (sorry I did not get her name) was so gracious. She fed us as if we were guests in her home. She made sure that we had plenty of everything - even though she is in the middle of shutting down the buffet. She was wonderful. Thanks to all for the service.

Now to move on to the review of the property. The hotel has a great location, just 4-5 blocks from the middle of Times Square. It was competitively priced for the location, but still very expensive. The rooms are small. The dining areal is small and the lobby is small. But it is New York, so this is to be expected. Unfortunately, the property is dirty. Very dirty. I am pleased to say that we DID NOT encounter any critters (bed bugs, roaches, etc.) but if they don't improve their cleaning standards, it will just be a matter of time before they have to deal with this type of thing. This is a high churn, high turn-over location in the middle of TImes Square so their cleaning standards need to be a tick above the average. Instead thier cleaning standards are well below average. The cleaning staff is the downfall of this property because they are slow, inefficient, and indifferent. The rugs are dirty - so dirty that you don't want to dare take off your shoes. Our room was not vacuumed. The television had a thick layer of dust that had collected on the stand. The desk was dusty and sticky at the same time. There was a container of food that had fallen behind the nightstand. We were able to find it by following the smell. We have no idea how long it had been there. It was awful. The leather chair at the desk was cracked and squeeky. The television channels did not match the channel guide, so it was impossible to find something on television without remote surfing. The bathroom was small and the tubs were dirty. The towels were questionable, so we chose to buy our own. The cleaning staff really needs to pay attention to detail. Despite the high turn over,I think they could do a better job of keeping this place clean.

Management should take note, something is wrong here with the cleaning process. Either this property does not have adequate cleaning staff for the volume of customers, or the cleaning staff is poorly trained and not held accountable for slack work OR some combination of both exists. We arrived at the hotel at 10am- well ahead of our check in time and our room was not ready. This is to be expected because we arrived five hours before check in. But when we returned at 4:30pm- our room still was not ready. In fact, there were scores of people hanging out in the lobby who were also waiting for their rooms. Some of the customers were becoming upset because they had been waiting for a long time to check in. Oksana felt so badly about our long wait, that once our room was finally ready, she upgraded us to a city view room for no additional charge. Great customer service, but it tells us that they are aware that a problem exists. The hotel was completely booked during our stay, but this is no excuse for poor cleaning standards. It was apparant that the place had not been cleaned well in a very, very long time. This was not just an isolated incident. That level of dust and filth does not accumulate from one bad cleaning.

A couple of other things to note, the beds were adequate. The breakfast was awesome and plentiful. Only two elevators but they were adequate. The location allows for a quick ten-fifteen minute walk to the best of Times Square-yet it was quiet and peaceful at the same time.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the top floors with a city view. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTrippr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs and for taking the time to share your honest and candid review of your stay. We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your stay. We are disappointed in ourselves for allowing such an unsatisfactory stay. It is us who are heartbroken for blemishing your perception of Holiday Inn Express. Your comments were vital as we have forwarded them to the management team to address. We can only hope to be able to right the wrong some day and restore your relationship with our hotel, Holiday Inn Express and IHG. Although we greatly appreciate your kind feedback, our focus is on correcting any issues that could negatively impact any future guests. Thank you again for your candor and understanding. We would cherish the opportunity to have you as our guest again so you can see how we are constantly working to improve our services and facilities. Until then, we wish you only the best!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2nights (24 & 25 sept). It was a great hotel, in an ideal location. Clean and fairly large rooms. Very welcoming front of house staff, who were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, as normal in an Express, was buffet and very good. Serving staff were also very friendly. Have stayed in quite a few Holiday Inn Expresses and this is one of the best,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompeygirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello Pompeygirl94!

Thanks so much for the kind review of our hotel! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location to be “ideal” for your activities. We are honored that you repeatedly choose the Holiday Inn Express brand and that our location was able to exceed your expectations. We enjoyed having you stay with us and sincerely hope to have you back again soon. Thanks again and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was rather disappointed with this hotel having stayed at two other Holiday Inns just a few days before. The hotel room I was given was really small, I did not get to see other rooms but I gather they are small from the other reviews I have now read. I would only recommend this hotel for a one or two night stay. There is no room for your luggage if you are a couple each with a bag or to hang your clothes the wardrobe is ridiculously small. The room was a bit tatty obviously subject to the great wear and tear that New York hotels must suffer. It was not cleaned properly and we purposely left a bunch of hair in the bathroom floor for the five days we stayed there and it was never removed. Dustbins did not have liners and on one day ours was not cleaned out. The surrounding street towards 8th Avenue is dirty and drab and the area near the Flea Market on 9th Avenue is a place I would recommend to take a walk at night.
On the positive side it is quite near to Times Square, only three blocks away, but so are many other hotels. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends not use it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate you sharing your honest feedback about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We are committed to offering comfortable accommodation and friendly service and anything less is simply unacceptable on our part. We hope to one day have the opportunity to make things right and win you back as your hotel of choice. Until then, we appreciate your understanding and wish you only the best.

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The main attraction is that you are within a few blocks of Times Square and all its attractions, without paying a prohibitively high price. The rooms are small and undistinguished but modern and clean, and the staff is competent. This block of 39th St. is ugly but seems reasonably safe, in part because there are usually cops at the 8th Avenue end to keep tabs on a nightclub there. I didn't sample their free breakfast, so can't evaluate that. As to price, monitor the Holiday Inn site regulalrly as they practice "dynamic pricing" (varying with demand conditions). When I found a lower online price post check-in, they were able to adjust it downward for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rip2632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate you choosing our location for your accommodation needs. It’s great to see you found our location and value to be satisfactory and that we were able to adjust your rate upon request. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to NYC. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The rooms are small, but I expected that in New York City. We were traveling with our 1-year old and all her stuff, so that made the room feel even smaller. But as anyone with a young child knows, cleanliness is so important when traveling. I never felt grossed out with her walking around on the floor in the room or giving her a bath in the tub. The hotel appears to be kept up nicely.

There are only 6 rooms on each floor, but the hotel is 36 floors high, so as others have stated, the two elevators can get a bit backed up. We never waited more than a few minutes for a ride though. Breakfast was busy, but we found a table each morning without any issue. They really do aim to please at this hotel. They provided us with to-go bags for our breakfast when we were eating on the run. We also had a dirty comforter and it was replaced within minutes of asking for a clean one.

The location of this hotel is perfect. We walked everywhere. It's about 10 minutes to the heart of Times Square. About 15 minutes to Rockerfeller Center. And about 20 minutes to the West Village.

Despite the small room, we would most likely stay here again. We got a great deal on the room, making the small room not seem so bad!

Room Tip: Try to get a high-floor room. We stayed on the 15th floor and it was still really noisy from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanalcauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that other travelers will benefit from your comments. We are committed to offering comfortable accommodations and exceptional service and hope that you found this to be true during your stay. We would absolutely be honored to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return. Thanks again and happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#187 of 468 in New York City
561 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#181 of 468 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#215 of 468 in New York City
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,355 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#273 of 468 in New York City
1,985 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#133 of 468 in New York City
5,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing