We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience for a Holiday Inn Express” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #261 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience for a Holiday Inn Express”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was a grave disappointment. Arrived with reservation for 2 rooms on Labor Day weekend believing we had snagged "best we could get" in Times Square area for a busy holiday period. I was shocked at the number of people crowded in the lobby (only 2 people on duty handling mass groups coming in off buses) and the manager had to take a key to override the stops for the Elevator to have people checking in, get to their rooms. Elevators too slow, take too long to go up and down stopping along the way. I walked the stairs several times after waiting over 10-15 mins for an elevator. Breakfast was crowded, very noisy, people waiting for chairs and tables - but food so-so. For cost of rooms, this place was dumpy and dirty. Dirty carpets, sink was not clean when we arrived (we found remnants (of something?) in it...rooms small and dank. People walking around barefoot...really? I was NOT impressed by the ridiculous cost of this room for the service/quality of product they provided. I would not recommend this hotel. We checked out after one night, cancelled remaining reservations and moved to a 4 star around the corner for almost half the price and infinitely better quality and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. After reading your review we are shocked that we allowed any guest to have such a negative experience. We are truly disappointed in ourselves and sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Although we do not hide the fact that our elevators and breakfast room are busy, we have no excuse for any deficiencies with the cleanliness of our rooms. We would cherish the opportunity to make things right, so we have sent you a private message in hopes of receiving your response. We respect your decision to seek other accommodations but would love to have you as our guest again someday so we can prove that we are always looking to go above and beyond for our guests especially when overcoming challenges. Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you only the best.

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    887
    331
    77
    54
See reviews for
669
565
96
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September 2012.

We were visiting the city for the first time. Were on vacation and had a lot of things to explore. Had a wonderful time.....what a great city!

I think this room was a good value if there is such a thing in NYC. We paid $350 a night. I saw a lot of hotels for more money and was tempted to pay more for what I thought may be a better room. When you are internet surfing its hard to choose a place from a list of so many and it can get confusing, reading, sorting thru all the reviews. I just wanted a room that was clean, safe and convenient. I think this hotel meet those needs! Would stay again.

The room was quiet, did not notice noise from other rooms. Room was small but reviews from other hotels stated the same. Did not care because we did not spend a lot of time in the room. We got off to an early start and arrived back late that evening.

This hotel provided free breakfast which was good. (Included eggs, bacon, toast, cereal, etc.) It was nice to have a breakfast at the hotel and get on with our day.

We had dinner at the Italian restaurant just a few hundred feet down the street. It was called "Mercato". Small cozy place, nothing fancy but made us feel like we were locals. Food was great, prices are reasonable. I had the ravioli and it was excellent!

The subway station is only a couple blocks away.
Please use the subway, you will love it! It really is safe and convenient, very easy to navigate. If you get lost or confused just ask, people were happy to help! Only 20 minute ride to Battery Park where we took the ferry to the statue of liberty. We walked and used the subway all 3 days, it was great!
Taxi and bus travel is subject to heavy traffic and delays. We were thinking of using the greyline tour. Sounded good because they say you can hop on, hop off at all of there stops. Some reviews said this was a problem because when you want to get back on, the bus could be full. You may get passed by a few times until you find one less crowded. I think the tour bus may work best if you stay on for the duration of the tour, that way you wont lose a seat.

Also, this is a great walking city. Keep a good map and plan your walks. When you go to an attraction, see all others in the area. For example, after seeing the statue of liberty/ellis island we walked to Wall Street, took the subway to city park where we walked half way across the Brooklyn bridge. Continued walking and subway travel to the north exploring Little Italy, SOHO and the Flat Iron district.

Getting to the hotel from the airport:
We flew in to JFK and took a taxi to the hotel. About 30-40 minute ride.
It cost $45 flat fee plus toll to cross the bridge ($7) and my tip ($10). A total of $62. I can now say that I have experienced a NYC taxi. (he wasted no time getting us to our destination!)
I was debating on using one of the shuttle vans. Cost was a little less, around $40 for two, plus tip. Plus they would have made multiple stops taking a little longer to get to our hotel.

If you visit the empire state building it will cost around $25 per person. Buy your ticket in advance, (online) you will save a lot of time by not standing in line to purchase a ticket when you get there. You can bypass the ticket booth and head for the elevators.

Same for the trip to statue of liberty/ellis island. Buy your tickets in advance. Cost is $17 per person. Includes ferry ride to the statue where you can get off and walk around, then hop on the next ferry and continue to ellis island. Then back on the ferry to return to Battery Park.

If you visit the World Trade center memorial, the tickets are free. Print them out and take them with you to the visitors center. Tickets are free but are time dated so you must arrive during your time slot.

One more thing. The last day of our trip we went to Central Park. After visiting other parts of the city I did not expect too much from the park. I was wrong. I think it ranks high on my list of things to see! It was beautiful! I loved the contrast of seeing the tall city buildings while walking through the park. Also the street musicians, people watching, fountains, horse drawn carriages etc... it was great!

Have Fun!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank marshg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We really enjoyed reading your feedback and it looks like you had a great time here during your first trip to NYC! We sincerely hope other travelers will benefit from your comments as you were very thorough in your descriptions. We certainly hope we’ve earned the privilege of being your hotel of choice for future accommodation needs. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, west yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 1 night here at the end of our holiday. We had 3 nights at the Waldorf Astoria then a cruise followed by our final night here. Check in was not until after 2pm so off we went sightseeing. The hotel is not exactly Times Square as it suggests but about a 10-15 minute walk so still a good location with great views of New York and The Trade Centre. The hotel staff telephoned up to our room to ask if we needed anything which was really nice and told us to telephone if we needed anything at all. There was a notice in the bathroom to say that if we needed any toiletries which we may have forgotten then to let them know and they would provide them complimentary. We had room that slept 4 with 2 double beds which were really comfortable. There were tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and board in the room. Ice machines were on the landings and buckets in rooms for the ice. Breakfast was included which consisted of cereals, toast, jam, juices, tea, coffee, pastries, yoghurts, bacon, eggs, omelettes, sausage, etc. We really couldn't fault this hotel and although the waldorf was beautiful the staff, facilities and the service in this hotel was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jw97_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We really enjoyed reading your comments and appreciate you choosing our location for your last night in NYC! It is our mission to ensure our guests receive the best service during their time with us and we are happy to see you found this to be true. We truly enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your return. Thank you again for staying with us and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was a very busy hotel and a good value in NYC. This would get a very respectable 4 star rating if they had a concierge that had any clue. The concierge didn't even know how to get from the hotel to LGA. The hotel was comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich30306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi Rich30306!

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs and are glad to see you enjoyed the value and amenities. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations with our concierge services. Unfortunately, they are not directly employed by the hotel and are a contracted service. We will be sure to bring this matter to their attention as it reflects poorly on our hotel as you stated. You are also welcome to contact them at holidayinnexpress@continentalguestservices.com. We hope that we get the opportunity to serve you again in the future so we can really “wow” you and earn an even better review. Until then, we wish you the best in your travels.

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights , the only time i encountered a pleasant staff member was on check in (and im bummed i cant remember his name ) the staff are not typical of other Holiday Inn hotels i have stayed at .... In saying that one thing you cant complain about is the location it in itself is AMAZING and for the cost of this hotel im not sure you would get much better .....
Rooms are super small ( i have been to New York many times and know they are but this was beyond small ) if you have a twin room you will be hard pressed to find a spot to put your luggage.

if they upgraded or trained most of there staff in BASIC customer service then this is a perfect hotel for the price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We sincerely appreciate you choosing our location for your recent accommodation needs. Although we are happy to see that our location was convenient for your activities, we are disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations regarding the rest of your stay. Guest service is our primary focus and failure to exhibit that to ALL of our guests is simply inexcusable. As you can see from our Trip Advisor reviews, we always have great comments about our staff which is why we are so surprised by your comments. We would like to do whatever we can to make things right so we have sent you a private message in hopes of a response. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity of making up for this past experience.

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here again after visiting New York two years ago, Hotel is still in great shape and is excellent value for money, excellent location very central located. Rooms are small but very clean and neat. Complimentary breakfast is a bonus. Will stay no were else when I am in New York

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jashwinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hello Jashwinm!

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel again! We really enjoyed reading your review and are thrilled that you had yet another great stay with us! We are truly honored that you continue to choose our hotel for your accommodation needs. We intend to continue our efforts to exceed your expectations in order to maintain our status as your hotel of choice. From the entire staff, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. It's also quiet which I wasn't expecting as its new York. The rooms are clean and a reasonable size, we only stayed here one night but we had the brekfast in the morning which was good, there was scones bagels eggs, ect.. It's only a few muintes walk from times square . Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sophie D,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel! We enjoyed reading your comments and are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and time here in NYC. Thank you for your compliments regarding our rooms and amenities as we sincerely hope you enjoyed them. We would definitely be honored to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return. Once again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,389 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#331 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing