We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a sandwich shop - and amazing for veggies!”

Tiny's Giant Sandwich Shop
Ranked #1,963 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Much more than a sandwich shop - and amazing for veggies!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I sought this place out on a recent trip to NYC after reading the reviews online and my goodness, I was not disappointed. As a vegetarian, the 'Big Mack Daddy' was a huge draw for me - a sandwich that claims to be the closest thing to a McDonald's Big Mac that a veggie can get - and I can confirm this is true! Everything, from the veggie burger to the veggie bacon, gherkins and sauce, was spot on. I could almost have been convinced I was eating the real thing! There are tons of other veggie options on the menu too, from veggie meatballs to grilled cheese sandwiches - and they all come up huge. My husband (who is not a veggie) ordered the meat-filled Spicy Rizzak and had to take half of it away because the sandwich was so big! We went to Tiny's for an evening meal so please be aware that it's SO much more than your average sandwich shop that's just open at lunchtime... I'd definitely recommend stopping by at night, too, because it's surrounded by cool bars. Loved it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brogmalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best coffe”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed very close to this cosy little cafe, and every morning we had our coffee there.
Prices are very reasonable, and the staff very friendly.
After a few visit you kind of felt at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank handske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fresh, filling, fun and very nice people too.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This corner store is on the tiny side but they do have tables. The food is big on taste, light on the wallet, and yummy. Tiny's is my favorite place for lunch on the lower east side of Manhattan. Great sandwiches as well as healthy options and salads, prompt service. There are two sizes for many items. For me, the regular sized chicken parm sandwich on a brioche bun kept me going the rest of the day. They have all kinds of beverages, including seltzer. Convenient to The New Museum and galleries, shopping. It fills up quickly but people seem to eat and get on with the rest of their day. They have take out, too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO, US
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value- great coffee”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

very basic space but very good coffee and bagel. Friendly service and very nice price (cappuccino + bagel with lox = $10)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dregnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“miss you”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

on our recent holiday in New York we were staying very close to this wonderful little café and just loved dropping in on our way home every afternoon for one of their great cappuccinos.
We also had lunch here on a couple of occasions and everything was delicious.
the wait staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is just great.
Tiny's Giant...we miss you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiny's Giant Sandwich Shop also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tiny's Giant Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing