We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food of NY Tour ”

Foods of New York Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted BEST CITY TOUR by CitySearch & praised by TIme Out New York Magazine with the phrase: "There is delicious justification for their popularity." We offer food tours 7 days a week and we tour in 5 different NYC neighborhoods. Check out our page with over 19,000 reviews. We are NEW YORK'S FIRST & BEST. Since 1999 we've been giving Food Tasting & Cultural Walking Tours through New York City's most delicious and historic neighborhoods. We provide a "Non-Touristy" experience so you feel like a Native New Yorker! And even if you are a native NYer, we'll show you some secret gems in downtown NYC that you may have missed. Each tour includes food tastings from specialty food shops, ethnic eateries, and local restaurants, as well as an "off the beaten path" glimpse of life in New York City -the history, culture, architecture, and entertainment offerings. We're New York's best Food Tasting & Cultural Walking tour! We can't wait to show you our favorite spots - and feed you all along the way.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

What a concept, to walk around a neighborhood learning about the neighborhood and trying food! What a great time we had! Trying the basil olive oil was fabulous! We toured Greenwich Village with Ted and it was very good, you really need to go for a tour!

Thank Jodi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodsofnewyorktours, Manager at Foods of New York Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thanks for the great review Jodi C! Glad you enjoyed that Basil EVOO and Ted! Come back and eat with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"greenwich village tour"
in 666 reviews
"food tour"
in 1,040 reviews
"chelsea market"
in 650 reviews
"joe's pizza"
in 97 reviews
"meatballs"
in 133 reviews
"food tasting"
in 103 reviews
"nolita noho tour"
in 74 reviews
"village food"
in 73 reviews
"milk and cookies"
in 59 reviews
"murray's cheese shop"
in 53 reviews
"peking duck"
in 53 reviews
"new york"
in 1,149 reviews
"rice balls"
in 78 reviews
"great tour"
in 372 reviews
"ny tour"
in 102 reviews
"cannoli"
in 142 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 185 reviews
Filter

3,831 - 3,835 of 5,552 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

We took the Chinatown food tour with Raheem. He was enthusiastic, knowledgable, engaging and fun. He knows so much about food I was sure he had been to culinary school (he hasn't). He knew everyone everywhere we went. In addition to three great restaurants we visited a dried food store and also a place that makes and sells beef jerky, we spent money at both! He added history and color without being boring. No matter how well you know NYC we highly recommend this!

Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodsofnewyorktours, Manager at Foods of New York Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thanks for the great review Jim C! Raheem really does find those small gems with great food! Come back and eat with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

My friend and I always like to do walking food tours. We have never been to Chelsea Market and it was awesome! So many great shops and they are all very different. Our tour guide Darrell was amazing. He was great. There were 15 people in our group and within the first 5 minutes he remembered all of our names. The food tastings were great. Chelsea Market is a wonderful place and I am so glad we got to explore. We also got to explore the Highline which was very beautiful. I could hang out there all day and just look at the views. I loved how knowledgeable Darrell was with all the history of the meat packing district. We will definitely come back to Food Tours of New York and try a different tour...maybe Greenwich Village next time! Thanks Darrell...you rock!

1  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

My husband and I quite like to do food tours when we first arrive in a new city as they tend to give us a bit of history of a city as well as give great tips about where to get good food during your stay. This tour certainly delivered both. We went on the Greenwich tour and had a great time. We had Sephrah as our guide- she was hilariously funny, but it did take a little while to begin to appreciate her sense of humour. She was also incredibly knowledgeable, which definitely contributed to the appeal of the tour. Overall we made 8 food stops (tastings are included in the price which is one of the reasons why we chose this tour) and they were delicious! Even though we weren't staying near greenwich, we made our way back to the area several times during our visit- both to go to places that we had visited during the tour, but also to visit some of the others that were mentioned. As part of the tour we were given an information booklet which also included some discount vouchers, which was a really great idea and definitely encouraged us to revisit these places. By the end of the tour, we were nicely full (although we still managed to find room to fit in gelato after the tour had finished!). I'd definitely recommend this tour for people who are beginning their stay in NY (and it would be even better for those that are staying locally)

Thank Ajalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Took the Nolita/NoHo tour and had a wonderful 3 hours discovering an area I thought I knew but realized I only knew superficially. We were 2 people from out of town, joined by our daughter and her boyfriend who both live in Manhattan. We all loved it and learned so much about the history, architecture and people who both historically and currently call this part of NYC home. Add to that all the terrific food we sampled and the exercise we got by walking and it was a terrific activity. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and went way beyond a rehearsed script to share anecdotes that personalized much of what we saw. Don't forget to wear comfortable walking shoes.

Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodsofnewyorktours, Manager at Foods of New York Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thanks for the great review Sharon K! We are thrilled we were able to teach you a few things that you didn't know about Nolita! Come back and eat with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foods of New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Foods of New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing