We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and History Combined”

Foods of New York Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted BEST CITY TOUR by CitySearch & praised by TIme Out New York Magazine with the phrase: "There is delicious justification for their popularity." We offer food tours 7 days a week and we tour in 5 different NYC neighborhoods. Check out our page with over 19,000 reviews. We are NEW YORK'S FIRST & BEST. Since 1999 we've been giving Food Tasting & Cultural Walking Tours through New York City's most delicious and historic neighborhoods. We provide a "Non-Touristy" experience so you feel like a Native New Yorker! And even if you are a native NYer, we'll show you some secret gems in downtown NYC that you may have missed. Each tour includes food tastings from specialty food shops, ethnic eateries, and local restaurants, as well as an "off the beaten path" glimpse of life in New York City -the history, culture, architecture, and entertainment offerings. We're New York's best Food Tasting & Cultural Walking tour! We can't wait to show you our favorite spots - and feed you all along the way. Come see us soon.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Food and History Combined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wen I am on vacation, I like to do a food tour to see where the locals eat. I did the tour of Greenwich Village which combined food and history. It is a three hour tour and you will not be disappointed in the amount of food your get. It started with NY Pizza at Joes, and we got to meet him, which was fun. Some of the tastings are inside, so even though it was a cold day we never got too cold. There was not one food that wasn't delicious. We also got to go to a new restaurant and meet the chef who sold us some of his homemade sauce. They are a very professional company and gave us recipes and coupons to they places we visited. I will be taking another of their tours the next time I come to New York.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,542
    191
    34
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Chelsea Market/Meatpacking District Tour!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Diana was an amazing guide who made the history fun and interesting. Perfect combination of history and food tastings. I definitely will be recommending this tour to friends. We will be back to try the other tours soon! Thanks for a great day!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catharine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We took the 3 hr Greenwich Village food tour last week with Diana and absolutely loved every minute! Greenwich Village is a fascinating, cultured and beautiful area if the city, packed with delicious restaurants and delis. We'd thoroughly recommend to all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sianevans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“walking food tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I were invited to a Greenwich Village walking food tour. Our guide, Heather, was so knowledgable of the restaurants and the village. There were about 12 people in the tour and she kept us interested for 3 hours! The food we sampled was great. The places the tour company takes you to are fun and interesting. Not only a fun way to eat your way through 3 hours but a great learning experience as well! This tour company has 5 tours to pick from and I plan on doing them all. I would highly recommend this as a "must do" when visiting New York City.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our guide, Sephra, was just fantastic. Energetic in the freezing cold wind (even bringing hand warmers) and knowing not only the facts, but some very interesting and crazy things about the Greenwich area. My favourites were the homely mac and cheese, pizza from Jo's and gorgeous cheeses at the end! We were spoilt rotten with food, but not overstuffed which was good. Walking around we found ourselves near the friend's apartment building and other interesting places!! The olive oil was incredible as well. Great fun, good group and the most delicious foods picked out from the most unlikely places. Well worth the time and money. WE went back to commerce to have dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foods of New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Foods of New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing