We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad but really overpriced”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #403 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I would never pay so much for such standards outside of Manhattan. As expected, the room is really small, but it was relatively clean when we arrived. They have not done much cleaning during our stay, which we found very annoying. The aircon in our room was really as loud as a truck. It is the city that never sleeps, I guess.

The area is nice, close to Central Park. When I come back to NYC next time, I will probably choose to stay in Brooklyn, as there are actually many nice areas and rooms are much more reasonably priced. After all, what the Marrakech offers is probably just standard for this price range in Manhattan. Maybe there are worse places, but it is certainly not above those standards.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MXiaoXiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a great stay, friendly, very helpful staff, nice rooms, very clean, and good location, right near central park and easy to get to on the 1 train right across the street. I loved the Moroccan decor and the staff were so helpful. The rooms very a good size for New York standards, with free good wifi in them. The hotel is a little old, but immaculately clean, and New York is an old town, lots of buildings are like this, but it is very well taken care of and comfy beds!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Really friendly staff, very welcoming and keen to help when we needed information. Rooms are small but well cleaned and well equipped. Location is great - a little out of the way of most touristy areas but only 1 minute walk to the subway, which gives access to all of New York. Decent restaurants and bars in the local area, but with a weeks subway pass (very good value for sightseeing), tended to eat further afield. 24hr supermarket very close which was handy. Wifi was fairly unreliable but could easily pick up Starbucks' free Wifi from next door. Overall, really enjoyed this place. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattyb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A cozy Moroccan style hotel conveniently located just next to the subway on 103rd and Broadway. The staff is super helpful and friendly. They can offer different things; we booked the airport shuttle service through them which worked beautifully.There is a little bar on the reception level which is nice. Wifi is free but worked a little bit off and on (more on!). There is also a computer that customers can use. Stairs are narrow and the hotel is quite basic, but it's great value for money on Manhattan. Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maz066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A great little budget hotel, situated in Upper West Manhattan (on Broadway & 103rd). Our room was small, with basic facilities (hair-dryer and tv, but no room safe) a really comfortable bed and functional bathroom. Daily house-keeping was to a high standard and staff were always on hand. Nothing was too much trouble - from carrying our luggage on arrival to arranging our transport to the airport. With the exception of anyone with mobility issues (who might find the stairs from street to reception a challenge) I'd recommend the Marrakech to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced base, in a safe and clean neighbourhood. With a subway station and bus stop across the street, it's perfectly located for exploring this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here with my twin sister in January for 4 nights; all together with flights from Birmingham we paid £410pp and for the price it was perfect!
Yes its very basic and the rooms are very very small (literally a bed in the room) but for resting your head it was ideal. We were out every day and most of the night and used the hotel to sleep and get dressed. As you come out the door there is a subway station directly in front of you and we hopped on and off, up and down Manhattan personally there is no other way to see New York!
If you want a cheap stay in this awesome city do not hesitate.

Room Tip: don't pay a lot at the right price this place is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaLeigh447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ok, if you're looking for the Hilton, you're not going to find it here and you're going to find it somewhere else and spend a ton of extra cash. But, if you're planning on spending any more time in your hotel other than sleeping and showering, then you're doing yourself a dis-service to the city. Anyway, the staff were all amazing and really helpful, as I did have a few problems with my shower being either scalding hot or ice cold which was fixed. Bottom line-the staff was great, the room was clean, bed was comfy, and that's all you need.

As other people have said, the location is amazing, as you're literally right next to the 1 train. Also, it's maybe 4-5 blocks from Central Park which is great as well.

I loved it here and the next time I'm out in Manhattan, I'll be sure to look them up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 473 in New York City
660 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 473 in New York City
1,604 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#445 of 473 in New York City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#401 of 473 in New York City
1,555 reviews
Chinatown
The Hotel 91
The Hotel 91
#332 of 473 in New York City
811 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#438 of 473 in New York City
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $90 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing