We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #393 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This Hotel was great for the money, right near a Subway on Broadway.so it did not take as long to get to any place .My Son and I were there for three nights. New York was excellent lots of walking by the end of the day I was ready for bed.If you like breakfast go to grand central station just out side.. they cook 600 breakfasts every morning,We manage to see 9/11 was very moving, the Empire State Building went to the top lovely views... Statue of Liberty was on our list saw that,.got up to the middle of it then,on your last day, there was lot of stairs,but the view was great.On our last day went on the Intrepid aircraft carrier,at pier 86 there have Concord, Space shuttle Enterprise, and sub. Overall had a great time..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truckstoptoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    554
    446
    192
    205
See reviews for
291
638
116
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money and great location right next to a Subway. Near a supermarket and Starbucks! Room comfortable and very friendly staff.

Picky points would be no stairs, shower is difficult to control, heating in room difficult to control, blinds didn't work properly and small room. These things did not ruin our stay but to be completely correct for a review thought it was worth a mention.

Enjoyed our stay here but maybe next time would pay a few quid extra.

Perfect for budget travellers wanting a good location to go uptown/downtown given Subway is on the 1 line.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nickej82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a small, funky hotel but what a great location and staff is so helpful! It is a little ragged on the edges but we got such a great price for 3 nights-about 160.00 a night! That is excellent for this city! Our room was a little dark but beds were comfy and decent-maid service could have done better-the lounge in lobby was a nice hang out-front desk staff were some of the friendliest I have ever met in NYC! There are numerous good places to eat near by-starbucks-McDonald's downstairs-pharmacies and markets and the subway at the door! Perfect area to get around the city! Morningside is a nice area-I would stay again! it is a walk up but that was not an issue for us!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 331aee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had a pleasant experience at this hotel, clean and friendly staff. The room was small but good for it's price. The subway is 10 yards away and there are plenty of bars about. Check out the 'The Dive Bar', very nice.

Note: Please don't use 'HOLIDAY TAXIS' for transfers.... TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
No ANSWER on their EMERGENCY NUMBER when trying to get back to the airport.

Overall the hotel was GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited New York at thanksgiving. Gosh, what a terrible mistake choosing The Marrakech. The staff is extremely pleasant, that is the only positive thing we could mention. Looking at the website, it looked so clean and modern, damn, it was nothing like that. The hotel is old, not a problem, but so dirty, the carpet is extremely dusty and horrible. The corridors, the rooms are smelly though the hotel is in a confine environment.
But what a great location!

Room Tip: Sorry, but none are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crenouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in December 2013 and arrived mud afternoon, checking in was am easy and pleasant experience and just dropped the bags in the room and out we went.

When booking please remember this is a budget price hotel so don't expect the hilton or Marriott but the plus is that the subway is 10 yards away and there are plenty of bars and eateries about.

Yes it is at the top if Broadway, between 103rd and 104th streets but we walked down to 60th street so it's easy to do and also safe.

The staff are exceptional and will go out of their way to help you so don't be afraid to ask.

The rooms are basic and could do with updating but as you are only sleeping and washing there what else do you need.

Tip is to ask any American a question and you will get the answer that you need to get on and to where you want to be, don't be afraid as they don't bite.

My final word is, if you want flash go nearer Times Square and pay the difference of possibly $400 or experience a different side of New York and be in a not too quiet area if Broadway and see things you won't see in Times Square.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David_Dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in December 2013. All staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The room was always cleaned. The hotel is very simple which is exactly what you need in NYC as you'll never be there. The subway is literally right outside and really easy to navigate round. Staying a bit out of the way made no difference to our trip, it just meant we were able to do it without it costing a fortunate to stay central. There are loads of places to eat near the hotel. I cant fault it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c5678h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 467 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 467 in New York City
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#298 of 467 in New York City
1,303 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing