We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be trusted.”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #389 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to be trusted.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited New York at thanksgiving. Gosh, what a terrible mistake choosing The Marrakech. The staff is extremely pleasant, that is the only positive thing we could mention. Looking at the website, it looked so clean and modern, damn, it was nothing like that. The hotel is old, not a problem, but so dirty, the carpet is extremely dusty and horrible. The corridors, the rooms are smelly though the hotel is in a confine environment.
But what a great location!

Room Tip: Sorry, but none are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crenouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    547
    433
    187
    200
See reviews for
280
629
112
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in December 2013 and arrived mud afternoon, checking in was am easy and pleasant experience and just dropped the bags in the room and out we went.

When booking please remember this is a budget price hotel so don't expect the hilton or Marriott but the plus is that the subway is 10 yards away and there are plenty of bars and eateries about.

Yes it is at the top if Broadway, between 103rd and 104th streets but we walked down to 60th street so it's easy to do and also safe.

The staff are exceptional and will go out of their way to help you so don't be afraid to ask.

The rooms are basic and could do with updating but as you are only sleeping and washing there what else do you need.

Tip is to ask any American a question and you will get the answer that you need to get on and to where you want to be, don't be afraid as they don't bite.

My final word is, if you want flash go nearer Times Square and pay the difference of possibly $400 or experience a different side of New York and be in a not too quiet area if Broadway and see things you won't see in Times Square.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David_Dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in December 2013. All staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The room was always cleaned. The hotel is very simple which is exactly what you need in NYC as you'll never be there. The subway is literally right outside and really easy to navigate round. Staying a bit out of the way made no difference to our trip, it just meant we were able to do it without it costing a fortunate to stay central. There are loads of places to eat near the hotel. I cant fault it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5678chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

You come to New York to see the town, and with how expensive things can get in NYC...Finding a relatively inexpensive hotel, that's "decent" can be hard to find. The Marrakech fits the bill to be able to stay somewhere "decent" in a good area. The room was small for 2 adults and a child (10yrs) and was very dim. They need more lights. The bed was uncomfortable, and our shower was never a constant temp so be careful and shower quick. There are no safes in the room, only under lock and key at the front desk. But its not all bad.

The staff are great, and helpful and the hotel has a good theme. It's not all bad, I'd stay again, provide some changes are made. The bar lounge area is great for a nice relaxing drink (all be it expensive). It's a neat little hotel.

You're next to the "1" train, which will take you anywhere to transfer around the city. Watch out during rush hour, heading south! There is a Walgreens (Duane Reed) across the street so if you forgot something you dont have to go far, and you are a few blocks west of Central Park and a few south from Columbia U. It's a younger aged crowd around that area of town.

Please..DO NOT let the staff book a car service to take you to the airport! We were swindled and the cab driver missed the exit, made us pay cash (when it was set for a credit card) and drove crazy....(crazier than most). PLEASE, just go down stairs, flag down a taxi and pay the $58 flat fee to get to the airport from a normal cab service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Broadway are loud. Ask them to get more lights in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just returned from New York stayed at the Hotel Marrakech on Broadway. Was a bit worried after reading the reviews on here but didn't need to worry. The staff are great always on hand to help out and are always friendly. The rooms are basic but who wants to go to New York and sit in a room all day, they are clean with everything you will need. The Hotel is right by 103rd street station. Don't be put off using the subway, we got round using the subway so everyone will find it easy. The hotel was nice because it is just enough out the way to be away from the crazyness of New York but is still in walkable distance to central park, Broadway and other attractions. Some great restaurants near by as well like City Dinner. We had not problems walking around the area and felt safe. We got a great deal on this hotel and i would have no hesitation booking it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed for ten nights at Marrakech Hotel in two separate rooms (one 2x Double Bed Deluxe and one 1 x Queen bed superior) on third floor with my wife and two girls (17 and 19 y.o). Booked hotel on recent reviews and was not disappointed. Both rooms were clean and bathrooms spotless. Beds were extremely comfortable. We frequented the bar near the lobby which was a mix of international and national tourists of all ages. Had a very nice atmosphere and people chatted together freely. Rooms were serviced every day and we had no complaints. We expected the stairs (no lifts) and you just get used to not having them. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They will order take-out delivered to the hotel for you, book airport transfers and generally provide very helpful advice. The Line 1 subway at the door was so convenient. The local area felt safe, had plenty of food offerings, 24 hour supermarket, drug stores etc for all your needs. WiFi worked fine in our room (3rd floor). We booked through Travelocity and got 10% discount on top of hotel discount which lead to cost per night of US$187(Queen room) and US$200 per room (2x doubles).We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Thought the 2 double bedrooms were more spacious than 1 x Queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilyfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Having read quite a number of reviews about the Marrakech I can understand why people both like and dislike this hotel. Yes it's not luxurious and does leave a little to be desired in certain aspects but as a base in a real NY neighbourhood it is ideal.

Our room was just around the corner from reception (226) and whilst a little dark and subject to noise early morning (6.30-7.00ish) neither really bothered us. Bed was comfy, room was by NY standards a reasonable size and bathroom was fine. You get what you pay for and compared to the price of other hotels more central we couldn't complain. It was a base for seeing NY and it did the job just fine.

As others have said you step out of the hotel and down into the subway for the 1 train through to Times Square. Couldn't be easier or more convenient. Plenty of choice for breakfast, Metro Diner on the corner of 100th was a great experience of a diner and the food was great and reasonably priced.

Guess the Marrakech could be compared to Marmite, you'll either love it or hate it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#310 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#396 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing