We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An O.K. hotel for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Ranked #376 of 477 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An O.K. hotel for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A reasonable hotel in Manhattan. It's quite far from midtown, but the hotel is very close to the metro station on 103rd. Lots of restaurants and cafes in the area. There is a handy laundromat on 104th and Broadway across the road from the post office. There are no lifts so you will have to walk at least one flight of stairs. However, the bell staff are very good and will gladly help you with your bags. What let this place down for us is that the room was very dark as our room has very little natural light. Unfortunately, our trip was marred by the loss of a sentimental valuable item which went missing during our stay. We stayed here for 7 nights in October 2013. A good hotel if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    529
    404
    178
    188
See reviews for
265
594
109
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

An amazing day here with 27 students on a school trip! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to NYC. It's in a quiet location on the upper west side with a subway stop directly outside of the hotel, which is convenient and quick to get around.

The rooms are clean and nicely decorated simply! But when your in the city that doesn't sleep your bust all day so only need a place to rest your grad. Hot showers great air con and very helpful staff.

Breakfast places very close to hotel ste metro diner and broadway bagels of of excellent quality

A great find and will definitely use again if traveling solo or with my school group,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Finding a convenient yet affordable place in NYC wasn't easy but we were delighted to stay at this one. Although rooms aren't large, ours was large enough for two with a private bath, hot-hot water shower, and comfy beds. On the 4th floor, we didn't hear much road noise through the night and slept well. Would have appreciated a small coffee maker in the room. Helpful staff. Comfortable lounge with Wi-Fi. Clean and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was very pleased with this value hotel. It is small, but it is perfect for crashing at night. I stayed with my husband and child and had a room with two double beds. It was not as small as I expected, yet the employee said he gave me 'the bigger room' so I must have had more space than some. I showered at night and there was always hot water then. There was shampoo/soap provided. The room was comfy/clean. Nice beds/modeern artwork/paint. It did not feel like a dive to me at all. Housekeeping was awesome - always came while we were out. The employees were very courteous answering my emails before arrival, accommodating requests and always saying hello/good night when we entered the building each day. The way other guests complained about the stairs, I thought it would be a nightmare, but not at all. There are just two flights to get into the building. Any healthy individual should be able to go up two flights of steps for sure. If your room is higher, you will have more steps but no biggie after you pause in the lobby if needed. They do not have any coffee in the rooms so I ducked into Starbucks downstairs. We went to the subway station right outside numerous times (to Times Square/Battery Park/etc) and walked to Central Park down the street(about 1/2 mile if I had to guess). We took a cab to this hotel from LGA (LaGuardia Airport) and it was about $40 one way. I would definitely recommend the hotel. It would not be a good place if you were just planning to 'stay in' all week but who does that in NYC? Thank you Hotel Marrakech!

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, ask for a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PondHopper23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel and have no complaints. No it wasn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in but it's also not the worst. The room was small but cosy and adequate for the amount of time I spent in it. The location was good with the subway situated right outside the hotel it was really easy to get around. I had fresh towels every day, staff were very friendly and helpful - what more could you want. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johg2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Marakech was a lovely wee Hotel. Situated on the upper west side of Central Park on Broadway. It's not close to the hub bub of downtown Manhattan BUT we knew that before we went. Cost wise it was brilliant & was bought as a package flying with American Airlines who were also brilliant. The Marakech was clean & tidy if a little tired. Our room was ample for the stay, a twin bedded room with queen beds & ensuite bathroom. The room was cleaned every day & clean towels left. Plenty of good sized bath towels. The Staff (all staff) were amazing, they made the Hotel what it is. Very helpful, polite, nothing was too much trouble, they were interested in our days out, what we had done or had planned. My friend is learning Spanish & a couple of the staff spoke in Spanish to her at her request so that she could practice. The Hotel has a lot of Stairs with no lifts but our luggage was carried to & from our rooms, pleasantly & quickly. Highly recommend this little Hotel if you don't mind staying just outside the vacinity of downtown Manhattan. The train station is very close by, we bought Metro tickets for the week & buzzed about on the underground & busses with no trouble at all. An ideal way to get about, the underground is really easy to understand too. Central Park is just a couple of blocks away from the Hotel & took us about an hour at a slow pace to walk to St Columbus Cirle 59th Street. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable & memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22toogood63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lailo1 @ Utopia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here June 2013. Service was great, the staff were helpful as long as you don't ask them to call you a cab to the airport, get the airport shuttle. Staff was friendly and always happy to help, rooms and bathroom were well cleaned daily, free bathroom bath soaps, lofty towels.
Stairs were ok, as the staff assited in getting your bags up and down the stairs. Wi-Fi in reception area by the bar only. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lailo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#417 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#298 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#432 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#387 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Property: Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing