We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean budget hotel”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #392 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value, clean budget hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went in September 2013, mainly because this hotel was considerably cheaper than all others in Manhattan. It did exactly what it said on the tin. It is a budget hotel in New York and so you have to be realistic with expectations. So yes the rooms a little small and there is no lift. However, the rooms were extremely clean, beds comfy and the service was excellent. The staff are so friendly and really easy to approach. The main downside is it isn't the best location but it is right next to a subway station so this made it much easier to get around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBarbie_Carine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hey DrBarbie_Carine!

Thank you for your review about your recent visit with us. We strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable and at home. I agree that we are a bit out of the way from downtown Manhattan but thankfully the subway is just steps away with easy access to all of NYC's prime locations! Hope to have you stay with us again in the future and enjoy the upcoming holidays.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    552
    442
    188
    204
See reviews for
287
635
115
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was at Marrakesh Hotel with some friends last weekend.

The rooms are ok and location a bit far if we consider what we've got for the price paid.
The biggest issue we had was to get a cab to JFK. The hotel staff said it would cost USD70 and we agreed with it. Then, by the time we needed to leave the cab was late and staff wasn't willing to help to get in touch with taxi driver to speed up a little bit. When getting into cab, already short on time, we found out that actually the price would be USD90, not USD70. As we were quite late, we did not have time to spend arguing or looking for another option. The driver did not know how to get to JFK, we spent hours lost on Brooklyn, did not loose our flight only because it was delayed and guess what.... the driver even charged USD10 extra on our card when we finally got to the airport! USD100 for a cab that is late, doesn't know the route and almost made we loose our flight is unacceptable!

Terrible experience. I believe if a hotel has a partneship with any company for transfers it is also responsible for the experience its guests will have with it.

Do not recommend this hotel. Holliday Inn at Madison Square Garden, for example, has way cheaper rates and way better service and facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErikaFiuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello ErikaFiuza,

I apologize for the experience you had on your way to the airport. We have a contract with a local taxi company where there is a flat rate to the near airports. I would love to discuss this further with you so that I may track down where things went wrong and I could bring this up to the taxi company. If you have a chance you can email me directly at a.perez@marrakechhotelnyc.com. Again I apologize for the inconvenience and hope that this didn't entirely take away from your time visiting our amazing city.

Best wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, which was not the norm in many outlets in NYC. Close to subway. Amenities basic but good value for money. Shower not always very hot. Some cheap restaurants close by with tasty food. Five minute walk from Central Park. Steep steps with no lift so not suitable for those with mobility issues. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miles65uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hey there Miles65uk,

I'm very glad you enjoyed your time with us. All of our staff members strive to make our guests feel like they are a part of our company, and we will always treat you with friendliness and respect. One of the best aspects of our location is the short walk to central park and the small and intimate restaurants in the area! Im glad you got to enjoy those things during your visit. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future if you ever need any help with reservations please feel free to contact me at a.perez@marrakechhotelnyc.com and I will gladly assist you.

Thanks again for your review!

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms are very small, but this is NYC! Really enjoyed the lounging area and overall ambience. There is no lift, but who doesn't need a bit of excercise! We thought the price quite reasonable for NY, and there is a subway stop right out the door. Everything you need is nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trinity03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Trinity03,

Thank you for your response! I agree that Kazbar is a nice way to unwind in the evenings after a long day touring the city. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Enjoy the upcoming holidays and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

First, the bad things: as other reviews have pointed out there is no lift/elevator so it's a potential 5 floor walk to your room. Rooms are on the small side with maybe very little view and it can get noisy as walls are not very thick.

However!

NYC accommodation is generally v. expensive. Marrakech is pretty good value in this context. Location is very good - nice neighbourhood, very close to No 1. subway 103rd st station, not far from Central Park. Staff are polite and friendly. We did have WiFi reception in our room which was on the 3rd floor.

Bottom line: a great "budget" option for those looking for a hotel in a good area. Would definitely stay again. Those looking for a 4 star experience may be disappointed but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank internal_error
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hey internal_error,

Thank you for your response. Unfortunately due to our property being located in a historic building (Our building dates back to 1912!) we were not able to include elevators. We do offer 24/hr bellmen service and they will see to it that you do not have to carry even a shopping bag up the stairs! We hope you enjoyed your time in residence with us nonetheless.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one week from 19-26th August 2013. After reading reviews on here, i was a little apprehensive turning up to the hotel. For the price you pay, i really don't know what some people expect.
Staff were extremely friendly,rooms were clean, no noise throughout the night, spacious rooms and hot running water in the bathroom...what more do you need! Our rooms were made up everyday!
Yes corridors are a little bit dark and the air-con is slightly noisy, but it definitely wouldn't put me off staying their again.
Although their are no lifts, all stairs have handrails and their are people to help you before you even ask.
Overall, a fantastic hotel and would definitely stay their again.

Make sure you buy a subway pass, only $31 for a week. 1 subway away from times square!

Brilliant hotel location. Lovely neighbourhood with plenty to do.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sami_wolkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hey Sami_wolkowski!

We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us. What makes our location so special to me is that you are away from the tourist areas while still being able to access the subway so easily and reach most NYC sites in just minutes! Im very happy you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating we strive to make all of our guests feel like they are part of our family. We hope to see you again and that you enjoy the upcoming holidays.

Best wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Here are the facts:
No Elevator
Steep Climb up to the lobby... and no one to help with the bags... ladys stay away.
Air Conditioned by window units - The AC in my room was not cooling.
Advertised as a boutique hotel. The lobby looks like a boutique hotel BUT the room was a lower grade than a Motel 8. Motel 8 would be a step up.
I could hear everything in the next room... I mean everything.
The floors are squeaky.
I could hear everyone walking by at 3 AM... people getting back to the hotel...in the morning I could hear the cleaning people complaining about the room they were cleaning and running back and forth. If you are looking to relax and maybe sleep in... this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: No elevators Sqeuaky floors... no chance of sleeping in. Rude women at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nwtx1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello nwtx1503,

Thank you for posting your review. I apologize if our staff was not accommodating to you, we offer bellman service 24/hrs a day and strive to be as friendly and helpful as possible to our guests. I will bring this up to them so that they can make sure to be 100% helpful to everyone at all times! We hope you enjoy the upcoming holidays.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#314 of 467 in New York City
1,528 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 467 in New York City
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
838 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
1,291 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing