We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but small rooms”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #392 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice location but small rooms”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from 4 nights in this hotel, right next to the subway on 103 street. Hotel has lots of stairs and we stayed on the 5th floor. We arrived early and were able to check in at 9.3o which was great. Room very small, we were upgraded to a queen sized room but bed seemed a double. No wifi in room but has everything else you need. Fine hotel but think you could get better for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ju85_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Front Office Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Ju85_13,

Thank you for response. We are glad that we were able to offer you an early check in upon your arrival. We hope you enjoyed your stay in NYC and hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    554
    446
    192
    205
See reviews for
291
638
116
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there at the end of may for 4 days booked a twin room. My 3rd time in NYC and was a bit worried as normally stay in timesquare and this place is on the upper west side. A saving of £300 though was well worth the gamble. Hotel was clean rooms were spacious (rare for ny) had a double bed each, bathroom was clean and super power shower! AC in room too. They give free wifi in lobby lucky our room was adjacent to lobby so we could pick it up in our room.
Starbucks below for breakie. Grocery store too so sorted for snacks and tea. Subway stops on the corner so we got a $30 weekly pass and we were sorted no need for cabs as subway is 24hr. Location and price perfect.
Now the staff: without offending anyone I've had some pretty shocking experiences previously in New York with service but these guys couldn't do more for you. Very welcoming always smiling very attentive. One guy stands out Robinson (I think) so helpful and friendly really did his best to look after us and give us advise during our stay. Great guy
Definitely would return to stay there without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Front Office Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Laura,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are even happier you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. We look forward to your return to our hotel and NYC.

Best wishes,

Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Last visit to New York last May, was very good, visiting the places I enjoy in the city.
In spring N.Y. is a joy with so many flowers, the tulips were magnificent.
As I decide to stay a couple of days more, made a reservation through Hotwire, and I was offered the Marrakech Hotel. .Very bad hotel,you are not told there is no elevator, besides to enter the building are some 30 steps to climb. Dark, the reception area, and very dark the rooms.
Nothng to say in favor of this place, it is a real shame that companies that offer hotels, hostels, places to stay in any part of the world, are cheating on people. I want to add it was not cheap at all. Expensive!!! Well I know it is New York city, but be careful making reservations..........

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria Eiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Front Office Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am sorry you did not fully enjoy your time here. Since the time you stayed here we have made quite a few changes to our property including adding new lighting in the hallways and rooms. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the elevators since this is a historical building and it is not allowed, but our bellman staff is on duty 24/hours a day to ensure that all of our guests do not have to lift any luggage or bags up the stairs. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Angely Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 8 nights at the beginning if the month with my fiancé. Was a but apprehensive after reading some if the reviews and initially on arrival as there is a dark flight of stairs to to the main entrance that could do with recarpeting but pleasently surprised on getting to the reception. It's important to remember its a 2* hotel and that was reflected in the price for us so you can't complain that it isn't on par with higher star hotels.
We paid extra (about £60) for a deluxe room, it was on the third floor (303), it was a good size with three windows on to the main road. The room was clean, linen fresh and crisp and there was an en suite with a half bath with shower over. The windows are single glazed but the noise didn't keep us awake at night. There is an air con unit in the room, I found it to be noisy so after the first night kept it on the coolest setting all day and turned it off before bed. The shower could be a bit hit and miss if you got hot or warm water but to be honest we didn't mind if if was cold as it was hot while we was there, would have been a problem if we was there in the colder months.
The reception and bar staff friendly and happy to help with recommendations (even printing directions). There is free wifi in the bar area and the bar has a happy hour between 5 and 7 I think.
The hotel is located on broadway right next to the 103rd metro stop. On the recommendation of the hotel staff we purchased a 7 day metro ticket for unlimited travel on any line which was a great buy and we used several times a day.
The hotel is located in the upper west side so have to get the
Metro to Times Square (approx 12 minutes). We did get a couple of taxis from Times Square/macys at a cost of about 15 dollars plus tip. Being out of the way of the tourist places was great as you felt you was in real New York. There are lots of shops and nice restaurants near the hotel, we tried the Italian across the road called regionale which was nice and reasonably priced.
Overall an excellent stay and would return, thank you x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Front Office Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hey Maria,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad the staff was able to assist you with what you needed. We are also especially happy that you enjoyed and traveled the big apple by subway because it definitely gives you a sense of being a New Yorker. I agree that staying in this area also gives you the same feeling. We hope you stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Angely Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days between 10th & 12th June. 5 th floor dingy rooms with no lifts, no coffee maker or fridge or wifi in rooms. Difficult stair cases. No attached restaurant.
Just adjacent to a road full of traffic & located just above metro rail ...made the place very very noisy.
Wanted to shift to a lower as promised to e but when I asked them around 1.30 pm, was told , I shud ask arnd.8 am & it was not available then !! Very sad.

Only the reception people were courteous. Wild. Not like to come back to this dark Lodge with narrow stairways again especially at such a high tariff.
There r better hotels in midtown at cheaper tariff.
Sorry. Not for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venkat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to New York in March 2013 and had an amazing time. The hotel staff were really friendly, nothing was a problem and most helpful with local knowledge and the best places to go.
Great location, subway literally outside the door, free wifi and cosy reception and bar area.
The metro dinner a couple of blocks down was recommended and the best breakfast we have ever had, great choice, fabulous service and very reasonably priced! The all american experience you wont find down town.
It was snowing, but the hotel was lovely and warm, our room was clean and toiletries provided.
I could not recommend this hotel more for a great trip to the big apple!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joneil_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. The hotel was in the middle a relatively quiet neighbourhood very close to the action. If we wanted to stay close, there were plenty of restaurants to choose from and it was right on the subway line so we were minutes from the core. I enjoyed the decor, especially the exposed brick in the room! For those of you who can't live without Starbucks, there is one right underneath the hotel (its a walk up). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherdestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
634 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#391 of 467 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#318 of 467 in New York City
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
842 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
1,303 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 467 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing