We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and attentive staff”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #391 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and attentive staff”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend for 3 nights. Yes, there is no elevator but, literally, one of the workers ran down the steps to grab my suitcase! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They always greeted us, teased my teenagers and had good recommendations for places to eat.
The room was a typical NYC hotel, small, small closet space, small bathroom BUT THIS IS NYC! The room was warm when we got in but we opened the window and it was fine. Beds were comfortable and clean. Bathroom had PLENTY of hot water (although the handle was backwards so you had to figure that out first) Bathroom had a tub and and a nice shower head that you could change around. Plenty of towels and we asked for a few more and they were quick to give them to us.
I would stay at this place again anytime! I think travelers that have not stayed in NYC are expecting a country resort and give this hotel a poor rating.

I didn't take any photos because the ones on TA are what our room looked like!

We will be back! Oh they let us check in early and check out late too!

Room Tip: We stayed on an inside room over looking a small park. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    554
    443
    189
    204
See reviews for
288
635
115
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is located next to the line1 (red line) subway stop 103rd Street. Take the north-west exit to Broadway and you will see the hotel next to Starbucks. There are dozens of restaurants on Broadway just outside the hotel and also a couple of bars. Furthermore, there is a bank at the corner and right next to it a 24-hours supermarket. Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History are within a short walking distance. Riverside Park is even closer to the hotel.

The rooms are not very specious and the walls are thin. The bed was comfortable but kind of soft. I would recommend Room 202 which we had. It is a lot bigger than the other rooms, has excess to the extraordinary slow WIFI of the hotel which is even too slow to check your emails (if you are a customer of the Starbucks downstairs you can also excess their WIFI which is definitely better). Also the bathroom seems new and has a shower door instead of those ugly shower curtains.

The worst aspect of the hotel is their staff. They should definitely lose the attitude and try to be more friendly. The overall service quality in NYC is devastating but this hotel has an even lower level of service.

The Big Apple is expensive and Marrakech might be the smaller evil which is why I might come back as soon as they have given their team some kind of customer care training.

Room Tip: Room 202 is bigger than the other rooms we have seen but is facing Broadway (very noisy) and is upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were on our Honeymoon and this hotel was totally ok.
When we opened the door to the hotel we just saw a huge stairs. With a couple of heavy cases this was not fun at all! After we got our key we had to climb some stairs again...
The room was tiny but we didn't stayed much at the room so, no problem...
Just a few blocks from Central Park. Lots of different restaurants just outside the door. Perfect for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here January 2013 for 4 days. We stayed in room 309 which was the 2nd floor.
When we got there we were greeted with a huge stairs to carry our heavy cases up - as there was no elevator. Staff were average at the beginning, and they upgraded us to a queen size room. Then we went to our room to find it was up another lot of stairs which we had to carry our cases up.
The whole of the hotel was very old fashioned, the pictures on their website are very misleading.
When we got to the room, I was expecting a lot more than what I got.
The room was absolutely tiny, it could barely fit a single bed let alone a queen size. All that was in there was a bed, a little silver bar on the wall with hangers on it for our clothing, a TV and another tiny room with the bathroom in.
Even though this trip was just to get our heads down as we were out all day, I would have still liked to have stayed in a nice hotel as it is New York.
As soon as I put the TV on, the picture was terrible. It was very blury and had minimum channels. The guy from reception came to see what was wrong but said 'I dont know'.
Throughout the week the noise levels were ridiculous, the people staying in other rooms were very loud - which I know is not the hotels fault but I could hear them through the walls which were very thin.
So thin that when next door would have a shower, it literally sounded like the shower was in the same room as us.
Throughout the nights, when they would turn the heating on, the radiators would make an awful clicking noise non stop for about 20 minutes. This would happen about 4 times a night.
When I went down to the reception to ask about this they just said 'Oh yeah thats the heating coming on, it happens in every room'
Surely they have had this complaint before if that is the case?
One good thing is that they had free wifi. Well only if it reached our room that is - you would have to go all the way down to the lobby just to use the wifi, they did not tell us this.
Staff service was very poor and I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days with my mum on our dream trip to ny. This was never meant to be our original hotel but when we tried to book into our hotel just off Times Square there had been a flood and we were sent to the Marrakech! Thank god for small mercys! We had a double room and each had a double bed to ourselves. There was a flat screen television on the wall and it was spotless clean! Granted this is not the type of place you can stay if you have any disabilities as it was up flights of steep stairs. It was only a couple of blocks from Central Park and local amenities are literally right on your door step. Also the subway is right outside the hotel and can take you pretty much anywhere! Really enjoyed our stay the staff were lovely and very helpful and I was love to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostelbopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The pictures are very fotogenic. Very misleading. Hotel is very old. Had bedbugs bites, carpets old and look dirty. No lifts, no room service. Supposed to be a boutique hotel style but far from it. Very small rooms. Dirty and bad housekeeping. Bad heating. very noisy with light walls, you can hear everything going on around you. bad internet connection. hot water turns cold or very hot whilst taking your shower. bad experience. The good: friendly staff and porter boys. They were very friendly and helpful. Near 103rd subway.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near the staircase or with windows on the major road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

First I have to say the service is amazing. All these young people trying to run a dumpy hotel where every room is either freezing cold or ridiculously hot. Crappy old carpet, terrible beds and the tackiest decor. Their website makes it look like it is beautiful but that is just a partial picture of the smallest hotel room I've ever seen- and the coldest.
If you are a student and just need a crash pad I guess this is ok at $60 a night. Don't pay more

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sellnhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 466 in New York City
631 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#313 of 466 in New York City
1,528 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 466 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 466 in New York City
838 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#298 of 466 in New York City
1,293 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 466 in New York City
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing