We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #192 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Greeting at the front door couldn't have been warmer. Unexpected, delicious and bountiful free breakfast at Soul de Cuba restaurant was offered next door. The room decor was smart, black, silver, red and white and the smallness of the room was made up for by the use of a very large library/lounge, accessed with my room key, where I could comfortable sit, relax and/or entertain business friends. The smart but petite bathroom made me feel like I was in a boutique hotel in France! The fact that the ceiling in the entrance could be programed with my own computerized design added to the delight of this small and elegant miracle on Madison Ave. I will return often!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artbrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Diamonds, rubies, emeralds - I love them all, and I appreciate you calling Morgans 'a gem'!

Thank you so much for your kind review and for mentioning the ceiling! This was a creation of French Lighting Designers, Traffik.

I am also delighted that you mentioned the hotel reminded you of a French Boutique Hotel, after all, this was designed by the world renown Andree Putman.

Hopefully you will return to visit your own personalized pattern in the ceiling of Morgans Lobby!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    675
    185
    53
    30
See reviews for
302
959
151
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were lucky enough to win a trip to NY and we got the great surprise of staying at the Morgans Hotel.
The location's almost perfect in the middle of Midtown near the Empire state Building and Grand Central Station.
The service is great everyone at the hotel is friendly and everyone always says hello to you.
The staff is always ready to help you with anything.
Brian did our checking in and was super friendly and efficient much like the young lady who did our airport shuttle reservations.
The room's clean.The bed is clean bedbugs free (pfew!)
The room was cleaned everyday with the hypoallergenic beddings and pillows requested before our arrival.
The room's small but enough to fit two people and great for new york standards the views are from the street and the library but quiet enough to shield from the streets and nearby constructions noises.
The continental breakfast was fresh and copious with a lot of choices in pastries and drinks in a quiet and modern atmosphere that is the Asia de Cuba restaurant.
The living room on the fourth floor is a great place to take a coffee or tea that are available all day and just relax from a full sightseeing day.
Overall a great hotel with a great service in a great location.
I really recommend this hotel for a first time visit in New York City.
When we go back to New York the Morgans Hotel will be our choice.
Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwofrenchiesinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
And what a great review! Thank you so very much. Your review was extremely thorough and mentioned so many details that I have very little to add.

I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with other travelers. This is a great forum and I too use it to select hotels whenever I am traveling.

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Morgans on Maddison Avenue was a wonderful surprise. Well appointed and very clean. All the staff were very friendly and efficient and any problem solved as soon as it was possible for staff to do so. Our rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and tea/coffee always available in the Living Room . It was a joy to come back to our room after a hard day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretAlcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
I am so happy that we were able to surprise you!

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed coming back to your room after a full day of sight seeing in the city. Morgans is quite cosy and has that 'home away from home' feel.

Walking around the city can certainly put a bit of mileage on your feet and it is important to be able to get some rest at the end of the day.

Thank you for writing and hope to meet you next time.

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We arrived at 10am on our first day obviously too early for our room to be ready but the staff were great looked after our luggage,and even invited us to take breakfast (no charge).This has never happened before at any hotel I've stayed at,some of which were far more expensive and nowhere near as good. The rooms were nice and although not massive were big enough for two.On our last day they again looked after our luggage and arranged a cab to take us tothe airport.I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or leisure travel the location and staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabsrfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review.

Although we try very hard to get our guests into their rooms before 3:00 p.m., sometimes it is not possible to do so due to occupancy levels. I am delighted however that everything worked out well for you.

We truly appreciate you recommending Morgans!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My ultimate favourite hotel in NY - and as great this time as always before! Some problems with the WLAN but the staff was most helpful. Such design! Such an experience! Also, do try the restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitePiony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The friendly staff really outdid themselves when we got held up by Madison Ave. being closed for a parade as we were leaving to catch our bus back to Boston. The bell service loaded up our luggage and escorted us 2 blocks away where he hailed a cab to get us around the parade route. Our entire stay was comfortable, convenient, well hosted by the excellent staff. The room is a good size for New York and well maintained except for the small simple bathroon. We loved it and would return again for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
I love your title!

New York hosts parades year round on different Avenues and we have to work around this sometimes.

I am delighted that we were able to get you off on time for your bus.

Boston is also a lovely city and I hope you get to visit our hotel, AMES some day. The Woodward restauant in AMES is amongst the finest and the ambiance is something to experience!

Kind regards,

Debbie Riga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Loved the location of Morgan's for business travel with a Staples copy center and Fed Ex within two blocks. Central to Grand Central and No6 Subway. A short subway ride to Lincoln Center via the "S" Shuttle subway at Grand Central. Love the classic and recently renovated decor a la Andree Putman, the elegant and understated classic tones of grey provide a nice calm retreat from the hectic pace of NYC. Loved the generous delicious buffet continental breakfast, complete with delicious fresh fruit (perfectly ripe) and a complimentary issue of WWD and the NYT each morning in the urbane chic atmosphere of the Asia de Cuba dining room. Added bonus is the very helpful and friendly staff, made my stay that much more enjoyable. I will be staying at the Morgans Hotel during all future business trips to NYC. Note Virgin America patrons that you can gain frequent flier miles when staying any Hudson Hotel Group hotel, including Morgans thru 12/31/10

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank StyleMavenMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Fashion Week is so exciting here in New York! Thank you for your review and for pointing out the Staples and Fed Ex on the corner! I never realized how useful it is to have them right here. There is also a UPS store right across the street.

You are obviously familiar with design, and with Andree Putman. She is quite an amazing person and a great example to all of us. She keeps working in spite of being in her 80's and is as timeless as ever! Elegant to a fault and what a sense of humor!

I am delighted that you will be staying with us on future trips and hope to meet you some day.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing