We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique New York hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique New York hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for five days in May and we has an excellent experience. The staff were courteous and helpful, the rooms clean and well equipped and the entire hotel was furnished to a very high standard. Enjoying breakfast in the penthouse each day was fantastic and we even had a view of the Empire State Building from our window! If I had to criticise one thing it would be that our room had quite dirty windows but that is me being picky! 9/10 a very comfortable stay

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! You mention a great deal in your review but I think you must have stayed a long time ago as breakfast in the Penthouse was temporary. We now serve this in Reserve, which is our Lounge.

Hope you return to try Reserve which is opening for drinks soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    677
    186
    53
    31
See reviews for
305
961
151
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

So having booked an absolutely terrible hotel in New York we had to move very quickly, and Morgans provided the haven that we needed.

We rang on a Saturday morning, and checked in an hour later. We were made to feel incredibly welcome and could have had a room immediately, although we were offered a choice that if we actually left our bags while doing some sightseeing and returned to the hotel after 3 PM we would get a much nicer room on the 11th floor.

The room was indeed very nice and had a great view of the Empire State building poking up above the rooftops opposite. A nice big window seat, and a lovely bed with great pillows. A well appointed desk, with power points for charging phones and computers etc, a nice minibar. A good size wardrobe and a beautifully appointed room. The bathroom was on the small side, with a big walk-in shower (no bath tub), but the toilet is a little inconveniently located right behind the door, and as a six-foot man, I wouldn't like to have brought the proverbial cat to swing in here.

There's a beautiful area called "the living room" just off reception where there is complimentary tea and coffee all day, great sofas to relax on, and this is also the area where a complimentary continental breakfast is served in the mornings. With so many hotels in New York not including breakfast, this can represent a real saving.

The staff were absolutely excellent and the Wi-Fi is brilliant with a really strong signal. It may be a bit of a walk from Madison over to Times Square if you're here for a short break and thinking of doing theatre and cinema etc, but the upside is that Madison is a little quieter in the evenings, and it's easier to get cabs etc. It's a short walk to Grand Central Station, and a great area to be in.

I don't think you could find a classier hotel than Morgans for the price and we'd certainly think about staying there again on another visit to New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Well it is another cold Monday morning in NY and your review has warmed things up for me! Thank you so much. You have gone into a lot of detail about Morgans which I think will be helpful for future travelers. We have upgraded our WIFI which has paid off in a strong signal for all! Glad you enjoyed breakfast and we are getting closer to opening our Lounge for evening drinks!

Hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

A fabulous weekend stay at Morgans. The loft suite was spacious and extremely well appointed. A crazy bathroom with the black and white checkerboard tiles reminiscent of the Indy 500 - but a wonderful shower and tub. Very helpful service from the front desk and an adequate Continental buffet for breakfast. The location is excellent for walking around and close enough to the theater district to walk comfortably. A great boutique hotel and an exceptional value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sljayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind response. As spring approaches, it is becoming so much nicer to walk around the city! I love your description of our tiles! Actually, they are a throwback to the old black and white checker cabs! Those were the days...

Hope to see you again!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic 5 days in NYC. This hotel was very good, with decent enough rooms (we had 2) an excellent location and brilliant service. Brian, in reception, was very welcoming and helpful, as were all the other staff we met. 100% we would stay there again.
Mr West

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drewster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
And 100% we would love to have you return! Thank you so much for your kind review. I am proud of Brian who looks after our guests with such TLC.

Hope to see you soon!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here with my husband during November last year. It was a very nice little hotel. We really like the style of the hotel and the whole atmosphere on the hotel. It was very clean and we found the staff to be friendly. The breakfeast in the morning was nice - and a nice lounge mood. The hotel is within walking distance for a lot of the sights in New York. The only negative was that it was a bit noise from the street during the night (not sound proof windows).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Greetings and thank you so much for your review!

The good news is that we have completed our window installation and all of our windows are completely sound proofed now.

Hope to see you again soon!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great value for money and ideally located.

Rooms: Clean, modern and recently renovated. Mattress & linen was comfortable. Recommend a room on the higher floors to avoid hearing any street noise. iPod dock available and umbrella.

Service: Staff was very professional, helpful and courteous. While there are no restaurants other than continental breakfast, in-room dining is available.

Location & Amenities: Ideally located boutique hotel (i.e., limited amenities) in midtown (37th & Madison). Includes complimentary continental breakfast. Small gym available. No restaurants. Complimentary wi-fi available (works well). Within walking distance of the Metro and main attractions in midtown / uptown. Free coffee & tea in the lounge served all day long.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at a high floor not facing Madison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
What a great way to write a review - bullet points! Well done! Thank you for mentioning all the elements that bring it together at Morgans.

We hope to have our Lounge open for drinks very soon!

Kindest regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellshill
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at Morgans for 4 days over the valentines weekend and it was smashing, all staff very friendly and receptive and helped us with our stay including helping us find some of the touristy things and were in my room in minutes when I got locked out of the room safe :p

Room was clean and the view was better than could have hoped in a metropolis, the Empire State Building was perfectly in view, hotel is located in between 36th/37th street and a couple of blocks up and over you were in Times Square on down you were in Madison square gardens so the location was terrific especially for 5th avenue shopping

Breakfast was continental and the choice was massive which set you up for the day

Only downside was the minibar prices, for example a bottle of water was $5 and this seems silly considering the hotel is very close to a few mini markets and papa johns/subway - it's also obvious that people had been taking some of the blankets from the rooms as souvenirs since the price of a missing blanket was $250

But room was fantastic, bed was very comfortable, shower room is incredible (best shower I've had), staff were very friendly and helpful and that's what matters, I just avoided the mini bar

Room Tip: Try and get a room on one of the upper floors above the entrance as the view is the Empire State Bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterbroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review! I am so happy that you found our location, breakfast and service smashing (I love that word!).

Actually, the black and white blankets are extremely expensive - our guests are very respectful and do not take anything but the blankets are custom made and that is why they are so expensive.

One more thing that most guests may not be aware of - hotels generally lose money on Minibar. It sounds ridiculous but it is true! If anyone out there is interested as to why this happens, I would be happy to chat with you. I know it sounds odd but lowering prices does not mean more sales and Minibar is a very labor intensive offering.

I love sharing information with our guests and future guests! This is a very interesting industry!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing