We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #200 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Absolutely fantastic! Very organised and always very clean too. Incredibly polite and helpful members of staff from the front desk at reception to the porters, the cleaning staff and the guys in the Breakfast Room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Narh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you! It is my 20th Anniversary today and I am focusing on reading the reviews. Yours made me proud to have been here all these years. You have made my day!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    684
    187
    55
    31
See reviews for
309
967
151
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was totally disappointed by my stay at this hotel so much that I switched hotels. For 500 dollars a night, there are much nicer places in better neighborhoods. It was truly grim and depressing, in a state of former glory. Avoid it, really. The room felt old, not really clean. The light fixtures were crooked, little details, but that made the place feel, well, very mediocre. Only saving grace was a a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StinoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Your review made me very sad, especially the phrase 'soul-less'. That hurts! I do apologize that we did not provide you with a great stay but I would never describe this place as soul-less.

Sorry about that! There is a hotel for everyone - unfortunately Morgans did not work out for you.

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Would actually rate this 3 1/2 stars if advisor let you do halves. I will stay here again when in town for business and do not have to spend a whole lot of time in the hotel. Location is pretty decent. Although it is a bit difficult grabbing a cab. I had to walk over to 5th or Park typically during peak hours, Lots of places to eat and delis down Madison.

The room was nice size and the bed was very comfortable. Best yet there was not that typical slamming door and hall noise in most hotels. I had a room towards the back of the hall and it was nice and quiet. Staff was very friendly and doormen more pleasant than most places in New York.

You can tell at one point this may have been a modern hip hotel and it still has that clean and streamlined look, but there are so many other hotels that do a better job of it. Fixtures a bit worn out. The bathroom is really small. The shower is nice and pressure is great. Mirrors should be double the size.

Overall a pleasant stay, just nothing really overly special. But decent is not a bad thing. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasJD6189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, there are so many eating options in this city. I do think that grabbing a cab is very random. Madison Ave is just like every other Avenue in the city - during the changeover time (when some cabs leave the city and others come in), it can get difficult pretty much anywhere to get a cab.

We do have a full length mirror inside the closet near the window but if you do not get a room orientation (we always ask guests if they want to be escorted by a Bellman to their room), it gets overlooked.

I am happy that you found a quiet place to relax following your business meetings and I am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed one night for business. Fair price compared to similar rated hotels. Room very small, but efficiently furnished and kind of cute. Bed very comfortable. Room on 18th floor was remarkably quiet for NYC. Wish I had more time to enjoy breakfast - the breakfast room is fantastic and food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Glad to hear you had a quiet stay - that is so important, particularly if you are traveling on business. Perhaps next time you will have more time to enjoy our breakfast!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our first time staying in this hotel, but definitely won't be our last. The hotel is superb, great location in midtown Manhattan, everything you could want is in easy reach. The staff are so helpful and courteous, very friendly and go out of their way to assist you. Our room had a huge shower/wetroom and a very comfortable bed. The lounge where breakfast is served is stylish and comfortable and breakfast was very good. All in all a fabulous place to stay!

Room Tip: Madison Ave is very busy (like every other street in NY!) so a room on a higher floor is likely to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted that your first stay with us was a good one and I hope you will return!

In terms of Madison Avenue and noise, earlier this year we invested a great deal of money installing new windows that have made a great deal of difference. I am a light sleeper and tested three rooms on different floors and am happy to report that I slept through the night without a problem!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have season tickets for the Metropolitan Opera. When I go to NY, I spend a minimum of 2 days to discover new areas of NY. The Morgan is a boutique hotel that gives me exactly what I need : central location, quiet, WIFI, very comfortable rooms and a new classy breakfast area (Reserve). Some members of the personnel recognize me when I return and they always have a good word for me. I recommend this hotel to all my friends when they go to NY.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much. I too love The Met! New York is amazing with so many cultural attractions and events!

I am happy that you feel at home here. That is truly what we aim for and hopefully the next time you stay, you will be able to have a drink in our new Lounge before going off to the Opera!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent 3r time here. Always a friendly face to welcome you. Central to Manhatten and yet quiet. All rooms we have stayed in have been very comfortable and peaceful. Fantastic service from all staff. We will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Oh yea! Shopping is the way to go! Thank you for your kind review. The fact that you would return for a fourth stay says it all! I can't ask for anything more and you have made my Friday even better!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,195 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#115 of 468 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 468 in New York City
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing