We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in October of 2013 for 3 nights, stayed on top floor towards rear of hotel, access to roof top patio at night was great, with lovely view of Empire State building. Outstanding service experience started with our arrival in early morning where staff offered breakfast and to secure our luggage quickly and efficiently, also offering advice on things to do with complete directions. Great tips on what to see and where to go for theatre tickets too. Staff where always courteous and helpful throughout our stay. our room was on the verge of needing some fresh paint in a few places and maybe carpet in the near future( as i understand it though, they are renovating rooms, a few at a time) the internet could be spotty at times too. Again these were minor issues and the fact that the location is close to major transit, attractions and great restaurants, along with amazing staff far outweighs any of these minor complaints. The ultimate service was staff who noticed a leather case containing our passports and secured them until i could return to retrieve them! they certainly saved my wife and I a huge headache later. A huge thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! Yes we did go into rooms all summer and made improvements. I think you may have stayed a while back because we have moved breakfast down to our new Lounge.

I am so happy that you found your travel documents - that would have been a disaster!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    669
    182
    53
    29
See reviews for
299
956
150
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel met all our wants, central location, near Metro stops, quiet and friendly. And our room was excellent, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious. Service was excellent from front desk and lounge. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarryandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so happy that we were able to hit all the items on your checklist for a good stay!

Hope to see you again!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great Location;
Fair Rooms but not quiet; don't stay at the back rooms, you'll get a terrific view of a New Yorks authentic concrete wall.
Regular and artificial service at front desk . Very good breakfast with wonderful view .
Expensive.

Room Tip: Don´t accept a room on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I think you must have stayed during the time when we served breakfast in Morgans Penthouse. We have since renovated RESERVE, our Lounge and breakfast is served there in the mornings. I am also happy to report that since your stay we have also upgraded our windows and it is amazing how quiet rooms are now! Hope you will return to see for yourself some day.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here for five nights for a work trip. I love the fact this hotel isn't that easy to see from the street - albeit it is literally on Madison Avenue - because it doesn't scream HOTEL. It's so much more classy than that.

The front desk staff were astonishingly helpful, as were the concierge, who gave me tips on where to go shopping, where to eat etc.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and, honestly, an amazing size for NY. There is a huge bed, plenty of space, and a really fresh beautiful bathroom. Great power shower along with a handheld shower if you don't want to get your hair wet (it's those little things that really make hotel stays for me).

The breakfast each day is impeccable, fresh fruit, croissants, and never ending free tea/coffee is available throughout the day and night.

I am now on the second leg of my US work trip and only wish I could have stayed at Morgans for longer. I would 100% recommend to anyone and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JK_018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Your review started my Monday morning off on such great footing! I hope the rest of the week brings lots of wonderful comments.

Thank you for pointing out all the positive features / services at Morgans. We try to make it pleasant for everyone. This does not always happen but I think we manage to make more guests happy than not!

Look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I had a recent stay at the Morgan and absolutely loved this hotel. Our room was perfect and so was the staff. The decor is very contemporary. The only problem for me was the bathroom was small. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pp144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
New York, New York - so good they named it twice!

Thank you for your kind review which says it all in a few sentences.

We hope you will return to try out our new Lounge!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Morgans for 3 nights with our 2 young teenage grandchildren. The staff was so very friendly & helpful. Rooms were great, décor very fun. The beds were quite comfortable. Loved the shower. The continental breakfast was excellent. And the room for the breakfast was stunning. My husband and I enjoyed some wine in the same room one evening. I would stay here whenever I return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramaof10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you were here with your family. How nice to travel with Grandchildren! I know they will always remember this trip.

Thank you for your very kind review. Wait until the Lounge officially opens! I think you will love it!

Kind regards and hope to see you again for a return trip!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Morgans is a very pleasant little hotel, tucked away in midtown. It feels more like a nice apartment building then a hotel, and in fact I walked by it ... twice.

Pros: Well located for just about anything you want to do. Unusually warm and genuinely friendly staff (all of them; kudos to management). Decor is newer and fresh and light. Great beds and bedding. Rooms are generous for NYC. All in all, very good value.

Cons: Teeny eeny bathrooms. One person at a time, or less if you are very large! Common areas are small and a little drab; no grand lobby here. Our suite had a large living room and a sofa; but the sofa was not a pullout! (odd, no?). On a nondescript block.

NOTE: As with many buildings not originally built as hotels, one's impression of this hotel will probably vary with the room you have as the rooms themselves can vary quite a bit. Some of the rooms have wonderful views and even outdoor space. Some of them have low light and virtually no view. We had a wonderful suite with lots of space, and a great terrace. The view was amazing. I think, with a lesser room, our rating would have only been a "4".

Room Tip: I'll never tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! It is true that we do not have a 'grand' Lobby but one that is sophisticated and discreet; designed and updated several times by the late Andree Putman. Our Lobby however, does lead into Reserve (our Lounge) which I would describe as rather 'grand' in a contemporary way.

The idea was always one of discretion and privacy which we still maintain.

I noticed that you frequently review hotels and that is wonderful! Keep going!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing