We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The perfect NY HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #154 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The perfect NY HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. From the start the whole experience was one to savour, from the wonderful breakfast to the amazing stylish rooms not to mention the INCREDIBLE view from the penthouse at breakfast time. Take my advice and say here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room... Simply Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank History4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Your title made my New Year's Eve extra special! I so look forward to opening our fabulous new Lounge in 2013! It was quite a year with Hurricane Sandy and all. It is reviews like yours that makes it all worthwile. Happy New Year everyone!!!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    619
    155
    45
    23
See reviews for
266
888
143
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very good located hotel in a simple style. Breakfast room on top of the hotel is fantastique with view to the Empire State Building. Breakfast is too simple, choice could be better. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Superior Room is ok and the room size is compared with other New York Hotels comfortable. Standard R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. To all our wonderful Europeans out there - American Continental Breakfast is different to a European Continental. We do not serve cheese and cold cuts. We do however have great New York bagels, pastry, cereal, Greek yogurt etc. Breakfast in New York can set you back about $25 so it is pretty good to get something complimentary. I do appreciate everyone's input regarding this but as they say 'when in Rome...'

Kindest regards and Happy New Year!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

From the moment I entered into correspondence with Maryna before we arrived to the time we left after a 5 night stay we received nothing but great service at Morgans Hotel NYC. From the doormen Brian and Tom to Maryna and Kristen on Reception (to name just a few) we were superbly looked after and the location of the hotel was just great. The help yourself continental breakfast set us up each day and despite the restaurant and bar being unavailable undergoing refurb, we found plenty of great bars and restaurants nearby to fill the gap. The best part of our stay was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff (especially the above named) and we would definitely stay at Morgans again - highly recommended

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank APR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I love your review! Thank you so very much. I also think that friendly service is more important than anything else. Thank you for acknowledging our staff; it is wonderful that you remembered their names. What a way to end the year; you make me proud and thankful!

Kindest regards and Happy New Year!!!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here one night as a gift to my boyfriend the day he returned from a trip abroad. Thought the whole feel of the hotel was really New York. It's a small hotel by Ian Schrager. I remember black and white checkers being a motif in the hotel, but really updated and clean. It's very intimate and romantic, if you want a little hideaway in such a fast city. I don't recommend it to large people, as it is a tight squeeze. Or to people who are used to expansive interiors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nogareaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
What a nice way for you to treat your boyfriend from his overseas trip! I am delighted that you found Morgans to be a 'little hideaway' in this fast paced city! Indeed, Morgans was founded by Ian Schrager and Steve Rubell nearly 30 years ago. We are now a public traded company but we are still going strong! We continue to adhere to those standards that our Founders put in place - and we strive to be New York's 'quintessential Boutique Hotel'.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstwith
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was a 50th birthday gift from my daughter given to me in May. We have been looking forward to it for months and we were not disappointed.On arrival we were asked if we wanted to change to twin beds as when Becky had booked there was only a Queen available. The room was lovely and clean and the beds were so comfortable. I splept better there than I do at home! The breakfasts were also fresh and you could get a hot drink up to 10.30 at night. The hotel is not obvious as you walk up to it so you can easily miss it.However it is in an ideal situation for all of the Manhattan sites and the staff are all warm and friendly. The shower was also wonderful! We hope to visit again soon and we would definitely recommend MORGANS.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBirstwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much!!! What a great gift for your landmark birthday! I turned 50 a few years back and it actually felt great. It makes me happy that you spent such a special occasion at Morgans. You must visit us again. Our Lounge is nearly open and I think you will love it!

I wish you and all the Trip Advisor Readers and Reviewers a Happy and Healthy 2013!!!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Galilee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at numerous NYC hotels, I chose this one based on my research and attempts to secure the very best for my week-long birthday celebration vacation in the Big Apple. This hotel is simply outstanding. From the moment I arrived (two days ago, five more to go), I have paid attention to almost every detail and have concluded that this is, by far, the best establishment I have visited in this city. The service is awesome. Everyone really cares and go out of their way to help - any request, any time. The penthouse "living room" where we are enjoying a quality continental breakfast in a laid-back environment is an impressive feature of this hotel. The rooms are better than anywhere I have stayed and guess what, no drab and predictable brown/beige decor! Two-toned grey and cream in a spacious room, a very comfortable bed and fully loaded with every comfort for our stay. It's bright, clean and very comfortable in design and furnishings. I cannot over-praise this establishment and I'm looking forward to the rest of my stay and - most probably - will not be looking for another NY hotel for future visits. This is perfect and...OUTSTANDING.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Galila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review!

I am so happy that you spent your birthday in New York. Such fun!

We like to provide great service but not too 'formal' ; we prefer to be friendly. As I have often stated, there is a hotel out there for everyone based on their preferences. We are delighted that you prefer ours!

We wish you a Happy and Healthy 2013!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a good little hotel in a very convenient location on Madison Avenue. The staff are pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable and keen to help. The room we had was compact, though it was warm, comfortable and cosy and the shower was fantastic and the air conditioning unit was a little loud. The continental breakfast in the penthouse was very good for starting the day off and there were great views over the Manhattan skyline.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review! This is a special time of year; the city is lit up with Holiday lights and there is a very positive energy in the air! Mind you, the shops are full and it is a little difficult to get around but the holidays in New York are magnificent! Hope you return in the future to experience it again!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#216 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel
The Renwick Hotel
#83 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#127 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,605 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#75 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing