We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #153 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Arrived at this hotel a few days before superstorm sandy hit New York.We were due to stay here for five nights but our stay was curtailed by the storm as the hotel lost power and we we transferred to the Hudson for the remaining two nights of our trip.Firstly,the staff did a great job n organising the transfer in what were exceptional circumstances.In my opinion the Hudson was a far inferior hotel but that is the subject of another review!What I liked about Morgans was the intimate feel of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. However, what I think impressed me most of all was our room.It was street facing and was much bigger than I expected it to be. The bed was comfortable and the window seat was a nice touch.The bathroom was compact but adequate.There was plenty of of storage space as well and overall the room had a very relaxing ambience about it.I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n6travellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am so sorry that you were here during that terrible storm! For the first time in our history, we had to evacuate the property. After all, why be somewhere without power or heat? You were far better off at Hudson.

Well, it was quite an experience and I am grateful to the staff for being so organized in getting everyone out in a timely manner.

I do so appreciate that you mention why you would return to Morgans and I hope you do so soon!

Next time, no Sandy I promise!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    619
    154
    45
    23
See reviews for
265
888
143
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Despite using Trip Advisor frequently I have never written a single review until now. Morgans, however, deserves to be raved about. Having decided to extend our stay in Manhattan by one night I took a very quick look online and booked the first hotel that was reasonably priced and offered free wifi; what a fortuitous choice!

The most significant element to this hotel is that one feels truly welcomed. From the moment of arrival the two gentlemen at the door leapt into action to greet us and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for these guys. Whilst my partner arranged parking and luggage, I went to the PH check-in where two smiling faces awaited me, within 3 minutes I was back in the elevator with my room key, wifi code, a smile forming on my face and my migraine of the morning rapidly disappearing. We stayed in 702, which was roomy, quiet and had a pleasant view of Madison Avenue below.

The room design here is outstanding. Plenty of storage, both hanging and drawers. Iron and ironing board in the closet along with a safe, hairdryer, umbrella, electrical adaptor and luggage stand. There is a small fridge in the room and the built in sofa not only looked good but was comfortable. The heating/cooling unit worked perfectly, effective privacy and black out blinds at the window, the bedside clock a very thoughtful touch and most importantly a bed which ensured a blissful sleep.

Ok, so if I had to be really really picky, the bathroom was on the small side (but the shower was roomy with excellent water pressure and temperature) and the elevators and corridors were on the dark side (although I personally thought that created a cosy ambience). Don't let these small matters mentioned by other reviewers put you off!

Being European, I'm perfectly happy with a Continental breakfast, this one was very good. The croissants and muffins were divine, not to mention the fresh juice, bagels, toast, a selection of teas, coffee, cereal and yoghurt on offer.

Although I spent less than 24 hours in this hotel, I left feeling relaxed and cosseted. For $300 I had an excellent sleep, an excellent shower, an excellent breakfast and free wifi - what more does one need from a hotel? Well, I got more, not only did I leave feeling that I received value for money but I also received something that money cannot buy - truly outstanding warm and genuine customer service.

The staff at Morgans were super friendly and helpful throughout our stay but there were a couple of things at the end of our stay which indicated to me how much they care about their guest's experience. Firstly, having called for a Bellman to collect our bags from the room, we sat waiting for a good few minutes past our past our check out time when the telephone rang, I answered it to be told that the Bell man had been waiting outside our room but did not knock because the 'Privacy' sign was hanging on the door handle. Class.

Secondly, because I was so impressed, on my return home I did something I have never done, I called the hotel to personally extend my thoughts to management. When the telephone was answered I asked for the General Manager and the receptionist put me straight through, there was no fielding of my call at all. I left a voicemail message with my name alone and within a couple of hours I received a personal email from the General Manager thanking me. Impressive.

I have stayed in 100+ luxury hotels on every continent and have much food for comparison. Service of this standard alone would cause me to return but Morgans offers much more than exemplary service, it offers an exemplary experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paunile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Good day!

I absolutely love your title! Your review is so well detailed and contains a lot of information! I could not have done a better job myself.

Thank you for taking the time to write. I hope you can spend more time with us next time around!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va
Level Contributor
422 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

For the price this is probably one of the best boutique hotels in NYC. Location is pretty good and a short walk away from the Disney land of time square. The lobby is undergoing some renovations so you have to check in at the penthouse. The room was relatively spacious and had a modern feel. I was extremely pleased with the amenities (bath room and bath products, robe, in room safe, free internet, breakfast, penthouse access). More importantly - I had some of the best sleep ever here - the bed and pillows were so comfortable. The hotel was quiet and service was professional. This place is very very clean. Housekeeping and management do great work. I will almost certainly come back and stay at Morgans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nads82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much indeed! The good news is that the Front Desk is back in the Lobby! We have completed the work that needed to be done.

I am so happy you got a restful sleep here at Morgans. I do too when I stay here sometimes! I think the beds / Duvets and pillows are very comfortable. We often have guests who ask us where they can purchase the same items for home.

Please come back soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Täby, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We realy liked Morgans. Small hotell without fuss or heavyy administration. Very dedicated personal, always helpful. We're very satisfied with the room, which was quite, very clean with comfortable beds. We're two persons staying three nights. The location is maybe not the most central in Manhattan, on the other hand close to shopping on Madison Avenue and the area is little more quite the n the arreas round Times Square.

Room Tip: Quite rooms, no bugs, clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I love Times Square - it is so exciting and full of life and activity, but it can be a bit overwhelming to stay in that area. This is the 'city that never sleeps' but sleep is something we cannot do without!

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

NYC can meet, exceed or fail miserably in your hotel expectations. Morgans is at the upper end for business travel. NYC rooms are usually small, this is no exception... but its not uncomfortably cozy. Plenty of space, no waste. Creative compartments and usual amenities exist. For the price, almost went main stream (brand name hotels) but wanted to try something closer to my meetings. And avoid Grand Central, glad I did.

It is not easily found from the street, not immediately recognizable as a hotel. Lobby is quaint, under construction... everyone shuttled up to penthouse for checkin. Staff are very friendly, doorman, frontdesk, maids and breakfast attendants. Bfast is standard continental fair in the penthouse... with a great view! Go up 1 floor to the balconies, Empire state building views. Casual dining in vicinity, easy walk to bryant park, even Times Square and Theatre District (15 - 20 min walk I think).

Typical NYC layout, many floors, only 8 rooms per floor. Darker hallways.. didn't hear my neighbors or elevators. Room AC / ventilation worked great. Showers were strong and hot. Odd decor... the black & white checkerboard patterns an interesting touch. Clean bedding and towels, clean room. Furniture a bit fatigued. WiFi worked great first day, second day was out (Hurricane Sandy Telco outage). Safe neighborhood for evening walks. 5 blocks to Grand Central and trains/subways.

I usually stay at mainstream hotels (Hyatt, Westin), this was a nice change of pace... would stay here again..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Z68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I agree, sometimes it is nice to try something new. The chain hotels have their benefits as do the smaller boutiques. The good news is that there is something for everyone.

More good news - we are moving the Front Desk back to the Lobby this week, and we are getting closer to opening our new Lounge, Guest Living Room and Fitness Center! I certainly hope you return to try our new venues.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived very late at night in the middle of storm Athena a week after Sandy. It was a last moment change so for that price there weren't many options. It was nice that unlike other hotels in the area they didn't raise the price after the storms. We loved the modern design. It's not a traditional kind of hotel, yet it has everything and more. some examples, light over mirror in the closet, magnifying mirror that pops up of the desk, Great shower head... The size of the room was really decent comparing to hotels in NY. The price included breakfast, which was really nice and the view from the breakfast room was the stunning NY skyline with the Empire State Building in the middle, The internet was pretty fast (again a big advantage comparing to other hotels), and most of all - I love Murray Hill neighborhood. Location is really great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCat990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much!

Something I absolutely cannot tolerate is price gouging after a crisis. I think it is unethical and immoral. Strong words, but I have strong feelings about this. It is simply not right to take advantage of guests because they are desperate for a room.

I too love Murray Hill. It reminds me of 'old New York' and is so central to everything.

Please come back soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked a night here after Hurricane Sandy because our power was out in lower Manhattan and it was a mixed bag. Firstly, the hotel is under renovation which I was not aware of before booking. The restaurant (Asia de Cuba) which used to be a draw, was entirely closed. The check-in was moved to the "penthouse" on the top floor, a tiny space in a small hotel with 2 persons sitting at a desk in a little room. Nothing elegant here let me tell ya. OK, the room was fairly comfortable, the bed was good and the toiletries nice but again there was nothing special here, it all seemed very 1980s and dated somehow. Seriously, aren't we all over Philippe Starck "starkness"? There's no room service either, adding to the feeling of neglect. Breakfast, continental only, was included but if you wanted eggs you'd better go to the diner. Bottom line: until it's fully renovated, better options clearly exist elsewhere unless you get a STEAL on the price (and I'm talking not a penny more than $200). ps - the room was a bit noisy at night as well, not sure if it was coming for outside or not but there was an undertone of "techno" that I didn't really need at 3am.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is not actually the hotel which is under renovation, but the restaurant which is located on the side of the building.

I am sorry about the check in process but the good news is that we are moving the Front Desk back to the Lobby this very week!

Actually, the hotel was not designed by Philippe Starck but by the ever elegant Andree Putman. Anyone who has studied design understands and appreciates her work; although it is not liked by everyone. After all, we all have our personal tastes to which we are entitled!

We do offer Room Service, although it is a modified menu.

Thankfully, we will be opening our Lounge, Living Room and Fitness Center in early 2013!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#215 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel
The Renwick Hotel
#83 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#126 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,604 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#70 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing