We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
NC
1 review
“Wonderful weekend in NYC”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I always read reviews before making a decision on hotels so I appreciate detail and accuracy - I want this to be helpful to others! The Morgan Hotel is by far the best hotel we have stayed at in NYC. Our Loft room and bathroom was impressivly large and tastefully decorated. Beds comfortable and above all, everything was super clean. Although this is an older building, the facility has been updated. After a day out exploring the city & visiting with family, coming back to the hotel felt like coming home to one's own apartment on Madison Avenue. The breakfast was a welcome surprise as was the lovely breakfast room itself. I can't say enough about the staff - they were always helpful, friendly & treated us as welcomed guests. Valet parking was convenient & well priced. The location is also great. We have family in NYC and we will definately be back to the Morgan. Loved it!

Room Tip: Loft rooms are spacious and well decortaed - bathroom had a tub as well as a seperate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OuterbanksNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Wow!!! You are absolutely right - we want this forum to be accurate. The last thing I want at Morgans is for someone to stay and not be happy here. There is a hotel out there for everyone and it pays to do one's homework.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your thoughts and experience at Morgans.

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    675
    185
    53
    31
See reviews for
303
960
151
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Brilliant, stylish hotel with a residence feeling. Great design and rooms, Super friendly staff - my preferred hotel in the city from now on

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Short but sweet! Thank you so much for your wonderful description of our beloved Morgans! Sorry to sound corny but your message really made me feel like we are creating a great experience for our guests and that is what this is all about!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

went to stay for one night with my hubby, shower was beautiful..one of those waterfall ones. but if you're looking for a hotel name while driving up madison avenue, which is stressful enough as it is, dont bother as there is no hotel name out front..just the street number. its on purpose, so it feels more like home. as a visitor, i prefer to have the name on front so when i stumble out of a bicycle rickshaw at 3 am drunk i know where i am.

the bed was super comfy, i wanted to take it home with me. we had a 2 room suite, it was ok..lots of comfy pillows.

the free breakfast was nice as it ended at noon, not at 10 am like other hotels.....we never make it to those as who wants to get out of bed that early for a bagel?? it was the basics, creeal, fruit, pastrys...they were pretty bland though.

but seriously, when you cant figure out how to work the lights in the bathroom when youre sober, its too difficult. too confusing...just give me a switch!!


all in all it was a ok place, the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singbluesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a good stay. You are right - we do not have a sign in front of the hotel. People do find us however!

We get our pastries from Balthazar - one of the finest places in the city so I am surprised you found them bland.

Really, you do not need a PhD to work the lights - something that I always do when arriving at a new hotel is to ask for a Bellman whether I have lots of luggage or not. I find it is so helpful to get a 'room orientation'. I often fumble with lights and thermostats myself so it is always good to get a little tour!

Hope you have a great summer!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in November (yes this review is long overdue!) with my sister to celebrate her 40th birthday. It is a lovely hotel with wonderfully attentive staff. Our room was lovely and spacious by NY standards and the beds so comfy it was hard to get up in the morning! The continental breakfast was a real bonus as was the lounge on the first floor which meant we could have a nice cup of tea whilst setting up and using our newly purchased iPads. My only slight criticism would be the lack of lighting in the room - we were on the 12th floor overlooking the street but the room was still a little dark. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up, also if it's a special occasion tell the hotel beforehand - we did and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGirl159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
I love that you set up your I-pads in the Living Room - what fun!!! I am pretty addicted to mine!

Thank you for your kind review. If we were able to provide you with some great memories for your sister's birthday, it makes me happy.

Hope to see you again some time!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and our room was lovely - the bed was comfortable. Also the complimentary breakfast each morning was very pleasant. One of the best things about the hotel is its excellent location on Madison Avenue and 38th Street. The Empire State Building is very close as is Grand Central Station and many other attractions shops and places to eat. I used the fitness room one morning. We recommend the hotel as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which is slightly noisy as it is a busy road but to be honest we hardly n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
I am so happy that you found our location worked well. I do love walking around cities, it is the best way to see everything and to get a feel for the city. We are very lucky to be in a great location for both business and leisure travel.

Please do come back soon to see us again!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

You would pass right by Morgans unless you knew it was there. The small lobby is followed by a small reception area and small rooms, but what the hotel lacks in size, it makes up for with good quality finishing and friendliness.

Our room on the 15th floor had a view of downtown Manhattan, and we could kneel on the inset sofa and spend time looking out at leisure. The bed was comfortable, though the room was rather hot and we didn't sleep so well because of it. A dodgy thermostat that turned 'cool' into 'hot' while we were sleeping was just terrible, and even though the staff didn't fix it during our three-night stay, they tried their best to figure it out and even offered us another room.

The walk-in shower was lovely (drench-style) and we had nice toiletries to choose from. The room had a fridge for guest use, as well as the standard expensive fridge full of goodies, and there was a safe for our valuables. The TV was HD and offered pay-per-view content, as well as a bunch of regular channels. We had free wifi access, which was stable and relatively fast.

Breakfast was a nice treat. You're in a large room with a central 'island' that houses the food, such as cereals, coffee, juice, pastries, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt etc. The music is gentle and awakening, and the mood is like an old night club, complete with booths as well as generic tables. Everything is clean and well presented, though the breakfast staff are quiet and not as friendly as the rest of the staff in the hotel.

Our doorman was a great guy: always friendly and conversational, and the guy who tried to fix our thermostat was genuine and professional. The reception staff were also spot-on.

Location is brilliant, being a couple of blocks away from Grand Central Terminal – a gateway to the rest of Manhattan. We would stay at Morgans again.

Room Tip: Grab a south-facing room on the top floor, which offers nice views of downtown Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your fair review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed many of the features of the hotel, but dissapointed that we were not able to fix the thermostat in that room. I did see that we took a room out of order upon your departure for thermostat replacement so I am sure that was the one in question.

Glad to hear that otherwise you had a good stay and hope you will return!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Morgan's and it was even better than we'd remembered! Our room was well-appointed and comfortable, with plenty of closet and drawer space. The staff was friendly, thoughtful, and made us feel welcome and special, greeting us by name every time we arrived or left the hotel. We plan to make Morgan's our "go-to" hotel every time we visit NYC!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
I was not feeling very well today until I read your review! It made my sore throat go away! Thank you so very much. It is a testament to a hotel when a guest returns, especially with so many options in New York!

We look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing