We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no other place in manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“There is no other place in manhattan”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed in a double room (bunk bed) for $104 per night.
The hotel is not good.
However if you're looking for a cheap place in the heart of Manhattan I dont think you have another option. Everything is too much expensive in that city.

The place is very simple, but clean. The room is very small, nearly 5m2. In this space they could make a magic: they were able to put the bed, one chair, one frigo, one tv and one litlle wardrobe.
There is no space left for being confortable.

The bathroom was shared among all the guests on the floor, there were at least 30 rooms.
I didnt´t have any problem to use the bathroom as i did that at times with no "rush". I am used to take bath late at night and get up very early, so people were not willing to use the bathroom the same time as I was. However, sometimes you will find a line for the shower.
In spite of that the bathroom was clean. There was liquid soap for free (bad, hawever)

The location is good. It is in central Manhattan, The nearest metro station is 51st with Lexington. You can go to any place you want from there. The neighborhood is safe and there is some places to eat on the 2nd Avenue. There was a good market on the 45th St between 2nd and 3rd.

The staff is rude. Some of them was kind, but most were stupid.

The wifi doesn´t work in the room, you ought to go down to the lobby if you want surf the net.

Good points: there is a laundry (of course, you have to pay for using it). They allow you to leave the lugagge (you pay $2 for each bag). They give you water for free in a water machine located in the corridor and they have air conditioner in the room.

Bad points: a youth hotel and too much noise. There were no cortains in the windows and so there were too much light in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveling303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    493
    397
    144
    116
See reviews for
82
234
446
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you are looking for just a place to take a shower and lay your head this is the place to be. We stayed for two nights on a budget and found this to be very satisfactory. The people working the front desk were very pleasant as were the security people at the entrance. All of their employees are well dressed and professional. The security is great and I felt very comfortable staying in a room by myself. You have full access to all of the facilities that the YMCA offers so if you want to get a work out in while you are there you have it made. The location is great! There is a Starbucks right around the corner and wireless is available for you at the YMCA.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valentineblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hostel is in great location, just a few blocks from times square, with local shops and restaurants just round the corner. also within easy walking distance of empire state and even central park.
Checking in we found the staff friendly and helpful but other than that had not much interaction with staff members.
Showers are located down the hall, there are 2 in one room and 1 in the toilet/sink room. Showers are good but curtains could be improved, also nowhere to hang towel which is a bit annoying.
Rooms are very small, but you get what you pay for and are fine just for sleeping in! Beds comfortable and a tv, desk and full length mirror are provided, as well as a sufficient air con which we were grateful for in the middle of summer!
Wifi is not available in the rooms but is fine in the downstairs lobby, which is sometimes busy with children on summer camp during the summer.
Overall, good location, not luxury accommodation but absolutely fine for a week or so spent exploring the city. Would definitely recommend to those travelling on a budget!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was very impressed with the YMCA. I took a school party of 28 and stayed on the 7th floor.
The rooms were small but clean and did a job, plus they had good ac which was essential in July.
We new the showers and toilets were communial, they were clean and never seemed busy.
The lobby was nice, had a swimming pool and gym was good.
Having stayed at the YMCA westside before I think this is a lot nicer. Although I like how central park is next to westside and in the westside you had a small cupboard.
Staff were ok, always felt safe.
I will be returning again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantom1982sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had booked a 2 day tour of NY, NJ, DC and PA and was looking for accommodation at Manhattan. YMCA offers the cheapest option and is centrally located. NY taxi is easily available at next avenue for you. Its is equipped with a well maintained GYM for guests. Rooms are small and no room service is offered.

Room Tip: higher floors offer good view and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PravinGothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

When I booked this hostel I had no idea what to expect. The reviews here at tripadvisor range from terrible to excelent. I will hereby try to explain what you can expect from the Y.

I picked this place for two reasons: the price; it was the cheapest option, and the location just in the middle of everything. In these aspects this hotel was great. We could walk to many great attractions, the neighbourhood is safe in the middle of the night. We payed about 570 usd for a week for two persons.

If you want to stay in a great location for this budget, you have to give in on other things. The rooms (2 persons, privates; no dorms) are very small and have bunkbeds. They feel old and worn out, but ofcourse they would not collapse, as other reviewers were afraid of. Some rooms are however more worn out than others, some have hard floors, some have carpet (dirty!!). We had a clean room, the shared bathroom was also somewhat wornout, but it was cleaned regularly.

You will not find any luxery or nice designed rooms. Just a bed and a warm shared shower, thats it. However, if you are traveling to New York, you wont spend much time in your hotel. We were out all day and night, and by choosing this budget option, we could spend more money on museums, fancy bars and good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Well, to start with, quality of rooms and facilities are poor when compared to the price ($89 per person in a single room). The entrance may be ok, as well as the gym which you can see from outside but once you get upstairs it is not better than a dorm, maybe worse (not seen good quality dorm rooms in my native country). The room is extremely small with ancient window panes and there is a huge desk and drawer which leaves no space for your luggage. There is a lot of noise from outside (I guess from fans or a/c) and the WC is miles away. I had to walk all the way from one end of the hallway to the other end to pee. On top of that there are only 2 WC stalls in ladies on a floor of what, 60+ rooms? Let's imagine all of the rooms are booked. Not possible to use the WC easily. There are 3 shower stalls in ladies showers... well not enough for the whole floor I am afraid. There is a fridge in the room but no shared kitchen or anything so I had to cut my pomegrenade in the WC and the place looked like a horror scene afterwards. There is also no proper lounge where people can sit and mingle and connect to internet, only a few chairs in the extremely cold lobby (yes too much A/C, American style). There is no internet connection in the rooms so you are being tortured by having to sit stiffly in the lobby in the cold to check your emails or do your stuff on the internet. Both security and check in staff are unfriendly, even rude at times. I complained about the poor internet service and they kept ignoring me. If you don't want to stay in the room and are on a tight budget, try renting a room or apartment through craigslist. Before staying at the YMCA I stayed at someone's room for cheaper/day ($60) and it was much much better than this...

Room Tip: take slippers and clothes to walk around in the hallway, in case you need to pee in the middle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UplangeDesir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 466 in New York City
4,840 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#400 of 466 in New York City
527 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 466 in New York City
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#197 of 466 in New York City
3,288 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 466 in New York City
837 reviews
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#27 of 163 in New York City
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Property: The Vanderbilt YMCA
Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing