We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved the Casablanca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved the Casablanca”
Reviewed September 13, 2007

"Home away from home" wonderful stay at the Casablanca. Great staff - very friendly, had free breakfast and wine and cheese everyday as well as free internet access. Room was clean and cosy and couldn't get a better location.
Would recommend to any friends and family as we loved it soo much. We were on our honeymoon so wanted resonable luxury without going over the budget and the casablanca gave us this. Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!

  • Liked — free hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Abercarnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,684
    662
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,163
2,919
197
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
408 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

This was a first time in NYC. We dithered about hotels - in or out of Manhattan, big or small, gym or no gym, etc. - but plumped for the Casablanca on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews. First off, we were really impressed by reception staff (Nick in particular) - both from e-mails prior to arriving and whilst there - the big chains could learn a lot from this attention to detail. We'd expected the room to be smallish, and it was, although we had been upgraded to a 'deluxe king'. But given the proximity to Times Square, there's always going to be a trade-off between size, quietness, view, and so on. Our room was facing the inside of the hotel, so the view was down to the small patio of Rick's Cafe. This meant that there was no view to speak of and it was rather dark. If one was staying there for just a few days that'd be fine, but after six days, it did start getting a bit claustrophobic. That said, the room was scrupulously clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was served in Rick's Cafe on the 1st floor. This was a European-style continental breakfast, with a reasonable variety but unvarying from day to day and a lot of competition for a limited number of tables. Rick's Cafe also offers complimentary wine and cheese from 5 - 8 pm every evening. This was a real bonus and just what was needed before venturing out into the noise and chaos of Times Square for an evening meal. The Casablanca also offers a free gym pass to the New York Sports Club, which is on 42nd street and proved to be just what we needed to work off the calories of the Casablanca freebies.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Market
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Having just returned from a four night stay at the Casablanca we felt, we had to give an excellant review on this hotel it was all and more of what has been written before. In our view a real gem, it is not often you can say that about a hotel, so if you are planning a visit to New York and want a good hotel, look no further this is the best. Dont just take our word for it, book it and you wont be dissapointed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paulinebotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

This was our second stay at the Casablanca Hotel. It's located just steps from Times Square.

Pluses:
1. Location - one half block off Broadway, but very quiet.
2. Size of Hotel - It's an intimate hotel rather than one of the mega chains. No crowds, no waiting in line to check in, ask a question or check out.
3. Friendly helpful staff - Whether you need directions, a restaurant recomendation or just to chat. You can tell they like working there.
4. Rick's Cafe - It's not really a cafe, more of an extremely large living room/dining area. A light breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon are included. Coffee, iced tea and cookies all day long.
5. Free WIFI and free internet on their computer at Rick's.

Minus:
1. Small bathrooms in this older building. A small compromise for a great place to stay.

We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom size
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank MLinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend in New York. We stayed at the Casablanca and were really impressed. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and made us feel really welcome. Room was a good size for a city hotel and was very clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The lounge with the buffet breakfast and cheese and wine was a great addition. Location was fab, just a few steps from Times Square, what more can i say! Overall would definitely recommend and certainly hope to go back.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Twogirls_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Wonderful little hotel 1/2 block off of TIme Square in the middle of everything. The hotel is truly an oasis from the chaos of Times Square. The room size was considerably larger than most NY rooms. Extremely clean and also had a very large bathroom (two people could fit comfortably at the same time). The breakfast which was included in the rate was a variety of continental items. They also always had ice tea, cookies and the capuccino machine to use. In the PM, they had wine and cheese. We have stayed in NY many times and this hotel was the best yet. Saw that it was rated #1 by users on this site and took a chance. Extremely pleased!

  • Liked — Very quiet but right in the middle of all of Times Square action
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yogibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I had read many reviews on Tripadvisor before selecting the Casablanca for our New York visit. How could one not at least try the number one rated hotel in NYC at least once? We stayed six nights and were delighted that so many of the good things said about this property were really true. The staff is excellent, the location ideal (though we don't love Times Square), the rooms clean and tastefully decorated, though of course on the small size, the bathrooms gigantic by NY standards, and the breakfasts delightful. The bathrooms also have great shelf space for all the toiletries etc. that we always travel with. We also appreciated being able to come back at any time of day or evening and go to the second floor lounge for cold or hot drinks, cookies and fruit. We only got to the wine and cheese on Friday evening and thoroughly enjoyed it. The piano music was a very special treat. We really appreciated the internet connection in our room as we travel with a portable computer. We did suggest to the hotel that they replace their outdated tv's with flat screened ones. We also asked that they NOT increase their room rates...doubt if we will have that request honored! We have put the Casablance at the top of our list of places to stay when visiting NY.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank grannykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing